Stein Mart "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart CEO Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the intense push for credit cards(in 78 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Stein mart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Stein Mart

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great employee discount, patients with job training.

    Cons

    Boring, not much to do if not on the cash register

    Advice to Management

    Y’all were a pleasure to work with

    Stein Mart2019-05-06
  2. "Great for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sunrise, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned how to use the cash wrap and built relationships with regular customers. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    I was mainly used as a Cashier and my hours got cut when it slowed down due to not making enough credit card sales as my fellow colleagues. Clothes for women material tends to unthread.

    Advice to Management

    Employees can’t force customers to apply for credit cards if they don’t want it so, hours shouldn’t be based on you reaching individual goals. We’re supposed to be a team.

    Stein Mart2019-07-11
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the employee discount and weekly pay!!

    Cons

    They have short lunch breaks

    Stein Mart2019-07-03
  4. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    Great employee discount Friendly coworkers Cute clothes No uniform

    Cons

    Disorganized management Shortage of people

    Stein Mart2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingwood, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, online employee discount, kind coworkers,

    Cons

    Short lunch breaks on Sundays and on store savings events. Management does not care about you or what happens to you during natural disasters. They still expect you to show up to work when a major hurricane hits, flooding occurs, you can't even get into town because the airport is closed and you have experienced flooding in your home.

    Advice to Management

    Stop mistreating your employees and stop abusing them in front of customers. That's very unprofessional and rude. Be more compassionate.

    Stein Mart2018-12-09
  6. "Associate Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time

    Pros

    Employee Discount was fairly generous.

    Cons

    There was a Boys Club atmosphere.

    Stein Mart2018-10-13
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stein Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have quite a few regular customers, good pay, fun atmosphere, good employee discount, good store management, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    pushed hard for credit card sales

    Stein Mart2018-08-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good for students and retired people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good for high school and college students for tuition money and work experience Employee discount Employees are treated with respect and care Benefits that come after becoming a full-time employee Very easy to learn the job but depends on individual how they learn

    Cons

    Pay Credit cards, credit cards, credit cards! Even banks don't push this much. Retail software is behind and slow Not much room for growth within company Culture Job training needs improvement Job gets very redundant quickly and increase in pay is little to non-existent

    Advice to Management

    Bring back security guards, make setting for sale organized and less complicated, make coupons less of a headache! Try to see what will make the employees life easier. Please keep realistic expectations and hire more staff.

    Stein Mart2018-08-12
  9. "Stein Mart sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Lead in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, employee discount, hour breaks

    Cons

    Management, entitled customers, short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees be a better person

    Stein Mart2018-08-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    25% employee discount and all associates (other than management) get paid for credit applications.

    Cons

    If you want to move up in the company you have to relocate to another store and if your a men's manager you will never become an ASM until you become a ladies manager first. Or so my DM stated. I've never worked for a company who cares so little for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and treat your team right or you will lose them. A bad manager can take a good team and tear them apart.

    Stein Mart2018-03-26
Found 69 reviews