Stein Mart "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stein Mart Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Stein Mart CEO Hunt Hawkins (no image)
Hunt Hawkins
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the intense push for credit cards(in 78 reviews)

  • "Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Stein Mart

    Pros

    good coworkers who care about you

    Cons

    long hours, low pay rate

    Stein Mart2018-10-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Steinmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've met some great people and the nice discount

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement, low pay, lack of compassion and professionalism from managers

    Advice to Management

    -treat employees like teammates since it is a team effort, don't treat them all like they're replaceable, it ruins motivation to actually want to work and you lose some great people with that mentality. - let employees know if they are not performing up to standard instead of not talking to them and avoiding the issue, some are not self aware on how they're performing without being told on how they're doing.

    Stein Mart2019-07-29
  3. "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Falls Church, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, everything was bad truly

    Cons

    Low pay, bad management, bad conditions

    Stein Mart2019-05-28
  4. "Warm bodies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Folsom, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commeraderie with coworkers. Discount on merchandise.

    Cons

    Have to fight for legal breaks. Low pay. Dog and pony show gets put on for upper management once every few months. You basically have to lie to customers to sell them credit cards.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to customers about the benefits of holding a credit card as, in the end, it makes them frustrated and angry.

    Stein Mart2019-05-06
  5. "Merchandise Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Merchandise Manager 

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice discount, friendly customers and employees.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for Mgrs and as salaried employee you do not get overtime. Expect to work at least 50 hours up to 60 hours a week, sometimes more. Way too much merchandise is forced to the floor resulting in overstocked and messy racks customers can't look through.

    Stein Mart2019-02-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good job if you like fashion..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time

    Pros

    Discount, fun fashions, friendly co-workers, great benefits if you work FT

    Cons

    Low pay, cut payroll a lot to make budget, good part time job, hard to support yourself on it

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the staff

    Stein Mart2018-05-11
  7. "Not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Stein Mart

    Pros

    Easy, basic work, does not require any thinking

    Cons

    no growth opportunity, very low pay

    Stein Mart2018-05-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No room for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stein Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment Loved working with the customers

    Cons

    Low pay No room for advancement

    Stein Mart2018-05-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stein Mart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Benefits ok.

    Cons

    Low pay. Sales no one can understand that are impossible to set. Workload is impossible. Senior management extend store hours and then cut pay roll. Alot of merchandise is the same every single year.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your store managers and listen instead of issuing ridiculous demands. Whoever decides on the sales should work on the store floor for a month or so as should regional and district managers. There are not enough associates to offer any sort of customer service which would in fact increase sales. Floor moves way to often so customers get annoyed. Apparently even though there is no time to help there is a... huge amount of time to sell credit cards. Someone needs to realise that it may be difficult to sell credit cards if there are no customers.

    Show More
    Stein Mart2017-09-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Merchandising Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Lead in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stein Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice discount, great coworkers

    Cons

    Overworked, understaffed, hours cut, low pay, little to no training, not enough time in day to do all expected. Poor communication from corporate with employees.

    Advice to Management

    Have corporate do by themselves what they ask of us with no help, 3 hours out of day clean in dress clothes, open freight/put out & back stock, scan for sales, markdowns and reset entire department with small amount of hours left. Not to mention handle all customers and be called to run registers because not enough cashiers are scheduled! Family values don't seem to be important. Poor communication from... corporate! All boils down to corporate who needs to understand our workload and be on a personal level with employees during store visits and not just with managers. We need to be appreciated for the work we do and hear first hand what we are doing right and what's needed to do better for all and not pass the buck. We are a team who should work together which in the long run makes for happy employees and greater profit for the company! It's hard to work under duress, and stress only makes the work load harder. Most of us enjoy the job so help us which will help the company make more profit.

    Show More
    Stein Mart2017-05-02
Found 43 reviews