Stericycle Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Stericycle President and CEO Cindy Miller
Cindy Miller
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management has no idea how to run a company & their is No communication at all in all departments(in 42 reviews)

  • "low pay, not motivated work here(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are extremely caring and willing to help you no matter what department they are in. They also want you to be successful.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say at this time. So far everything has been great.

    Continue reading
    Stericycle2020-01-07

    Stericycle Response

    March 12, 2020Sr Recruiter

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your time here at Stericycle. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to e mail us at talentacquisition-us@stericycle.com.

  2. "Best Company I’ve ever been a part off"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Concord, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, excellent benefits, great coworkers

    Cons

    Long hours, higher ups are not closely involved

    Continue reading
    Stericycle2020-04-01
  3. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth Opportunities are available if you want them

    Cons

    Occasional Layoffs in different departments every couple of years

    Stericycle2020-05-30
  4. "Shut Down"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RA Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with were nice and supportive

    Cons

    The big shots at home office decided to sell/close several divisions leaving hundreds of people unemployed.

    Continue reading
    Stericycle2020-05-31
  5. "Mediocere experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CDL Route Driver in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The starting pay is good at their Shred-It location in Kent, since their cost of living is connected to Seattle. The idea of working four shifts of ten hours is nice. They support taking paid 15 min breaks, but doesn't seem supported on busy days.

    Cons

    Too many supervisors can lead to mixed messages. Also a lack of experience or quality supervisors. I remember a morning where a supervisor lectured and was basically yelling at all the drivers during a morning meeting or them just talking crap in general, instead of knowing how to handle situations in a more professional matter. It seems like Shred-It used to have a smaller company feel before being bought out by Stericycle. Now things seem more corporate and a feeling of squeezing everything they can out of their drivers, working harder to make more money for the company. They've also installed cameras that watch the drivers, which can be a good thing for safety as well. Although the idea of working four shifts of ten hours is nice, they often fall behind schedule and work mandatory five days a week of ten hours. Sometimes the shifts are longer, I've worked 12-14 hour days. They put more and more pressure on doing more work, which can lead to tough days. Be careful with leave. I resigned early January, in December I had 30 hours of vacation but with the new year I didn't get paid any of that vacation time or get to use it before leaving. The vacation time reset with the new year.

    Stericycle2020-05-29
  6. "Was decent, no major complaints."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 

    I worked at Stericycle full-time

    Pros

    Made decent money, good benefits, some coworkers were amazing.

    Cons

    Dealing with the operations side could be extremely difficult. Managers definitely have favorites and it’s extremely competitive to a fault.

    Stericycle2020-04-27
  7. "Relaxed"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment and easy days

    Cons

    No structure to the management rotational program. Get treated as an intern sometimes.

    Stericycle2020-05-01
  8. "Good growth opportunity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LMS Administrator 

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits at this company

    Cons

    Standard processes are not established and enforced

    Stericycle2020-04-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Unorganized Mess"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home was one of the only pros but it was bitter sweet because the company was very disconnected and so were the employees and management.

    Cons

    Working from home Incompetent management Rude colleagues No one is on the same page or knows what they are doing Management is not held accountable or even knowledgeable about the business (more are clueless than not-rare to find someone knowledgeable). No training Lack of communication and even communication avoidance High turnover Grew to large to even manage and ensure acquired companies are on the same page Ineffective meetings and lack of accountability Too many meetings that waste time with no resolution

    Continue reading
    Stericycle2020-05-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very disorganized and unprofessional company that lacks strategy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company celebrates mediocrity in performance so if you’re not a strong achiever it’s a great company to work for and fly under the radar

    Cons

    Low pay poor benefits No car reimbursement package for sales people other than per mileage rate that’s less than federal rate Zero culture exists for employees - treated like you are a number not an asset or a team member

    Continue reading
    Stericycle2020-04-29
Found 1086 reviews