Stericycle "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stericycle Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Stericycle President and CEO Cindy Miller
Cindy Miller
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Great insurance Good communication Stay at home work Promotions

    Cons

    Lack of socialization Customers Lack of communication with upper management Online training At home expectations

    Stericycle2019-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great idea but wasting talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager-In-Training 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High pay. Opportunities to work with all walks of life can be very fulfilling. This position affords itself to much exposure in different areas of the business, namely: Transportation, Plant/Warehouse, Sales, and Continuous Improvement. MT's have the opportunity to gain a wealth of knowledge in supply chain and logistics as well as service. If you have a strong leader, you can gain a lot of knowledge about the business, as well as make connections within healthcare.

    Show More

    Cons

    The basis of this program is to train young professionals into management role. Upper management is short changing the company by only allowing MT's to move into Supervisor roles - roles that do not require a college degree. The program is so sloppy and unorganized, with no clear path barring the MT attempting to stay aligned on their own, that most quit the program or just bounce around from project to project. If you are a fresh college graduate or have minimal experience, look elsewhere for a developmental program. There are multiple other companies that will develop you into a dynamic leader.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train MT's for Manager roles or HIGHER. Within 6 months of hiring, every MT could function as a high performing Supervisor. A 2 year program should take a Manager in Training into a Manager role, just like any other high level company. Otherwise make it 1/2 year program, and title it "Supervisor-in-training".

    Stericycle2019-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Was better, getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hours of operation are currently standard, but subject to change

    Cons

    Upper management are exactly that...People managers, not leaders. no interest in individuals, just bottom line. they are always working to "make it better", but better never comes.

    Advice to Management

    Put mores stock in your people, listen to low level management, convert strong temp earlier than later.

    Stericycle2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "I wish it was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great people. So many loyal employees who really are good at their job. Teams are super supportive of each other and are genuinely interested in each others lives. They become good friends. The culture is relaxed which is a positive and negative. On one hand their is flexibility in regards to your schedule but not so much if youre in sales or not in corporate. Negatives to this are listed in "Cons" I wish I could say more positives as I lived my coworkers so much. All I can say is that if youre just starting to get into the corporate world, this may be a good place to start. The work can be frustrating, but the relaxed and social environment helps to ease you in from College life. Not to mention, since there is little automation you'll learn about your job from the ground up. Having moved onto a new company I appreciate that I have a deeper understanding as to why the job I do does things the way they do, rather than just being taught a system and thinking "thats just how it is".

    Show More

    Cons

    Oh boy... Well the companies processes are really old. I mean that many things are still handled by paper and email only. Thats right, very little automation. Dont expect anything to move fast. It takes forever to get anything approved or get the ball rolling. Basically youre travelling back to the 90s/early 2k As mentioned prior, the environment is somewhat laid back. It allows for people to take adavantage and have wonky qork schedules that make it hard to collab sometimes. It also allows for A LOT of social loathing, but to be fair, I dont think anyone would be able to handle the amount of frustration they do without it. Unfortunately there are many loyal and hard working employees who have been there for years and havent seen an increase. So many of them want to leave and they are already passively looking for other companies. Youll be underpaid. That is a given working here. Dont expect a warm welcome here. There is no welcome package. If youre lucky your manager might take you out to lunch as a welcome because they seem to care more about bringing in an employee the right way than upper management does. Let me make this clear, this is not an HR problem. These issues have been brought up so many times, but there has never been any focus or approval to do anything to fix it. Even HR wants to leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please for the love of god stop treating your loyal employees like crap. I loved my coworkers and it sucked knowing they were unhappy and underpaid. Your sales employees are MISERABLE. Ridiculous that you havent enacted any programs to improve employee turnover there. I honestly feel bad for them.

    Stericycle2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are very well. Cant complain about the health/ dental benefits. You also get a change to buy stocks and 401k after six months.

    Cons

    Upper management is nasty and will throw anyone under the bus just so they do not look bad. Sexist company and not ashamed to tell the employee to their face.

    Advice to Management

    Hire new managers that's not hiding money in one account and transferring into another. (wonder why the books look balanced and when the books look low, all of a sudden money comes out of the blue bringing the figures back up again)

    Stericycle2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Atrocious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Other getting to meet and work alongside some good people there really is nothing positive to say about this company.

    Cons

    Base pay Commission pay Constantly changing Comp Plan (8 comp plan changes over 2 years) Horrible Upper Management Unethical Practices toward employees and customers Lacking any moral compass when it comes to their employees

    Advice to Management

    Start Hiring because you definitely don't value you seasoned and veteran reps that have weathered the storms that you brought in to yourselves. If you bothered take a second to look around at what your "culture" has created you would notice that it's only lead to more empty seats on the sales floor than I can ever remember and there will be many more of those holes to fill much sooner than you realize.

    Stericycle2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Once great, now failing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relations Specialist in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Co-worker Relationships in office.

    Cons

    Trainwreck of a company. Not sure how we sustain, a lot of hard workers who want to make a difference with upper management that does not want to do the right thing. They do not hold themselves accountable and make decisions based on quick decisions, not well thought out planning. No work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down on making changes and listen to your people on what works and what doesn’t. More people doesn’t mean positive changes. Stop hiring so many people and start changing. Also, start hiring management that knows the business.

    Stericycle2019-01-04
  8. "Pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Stericycle full-time

    Pros

    Decent work life balance and compensation.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency by upper management

    Stericycle2018-08-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "research this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Las Cruces, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you get $12.00 hr and you work full time

    Cons

    bad is the manger are ill equipped to to be mangers I passed out at at hospital that I was service I was taken to the ER to what was wrong with me the ER doctor gave 3 day but my manger did not give me the days off and my manger acquired my medical records and use them against me I contact EEOC and told them my situation and with a year my manger and upper management were fired and it took me a year and half to get back my mileage and the money I spent for supplies I brought for job I need to do co works are a pain

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    teach or train management

    Stericycle2018-03-10
  10. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stericycle full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people are great

    Cons

    Treatment of employees is poor; not honest with customers; upper management doesn't have a clue; no work/life balance; to many threats; employees leaving, not replacing

    Stericycle2018-01-17
Found 39 reviews