Steritech Service Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Steritech Service Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
31%
Recommend to a Friend
Steritech President Doug Sutton (no image)
Doug Sutton
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (8)

    "The Wilmington branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are really just to many to list so here are a few. Great pay and bonus system, control over schedule, company vehicle and gas card, they train you to do the job.

    Cons

    After the merger with Rentokil they are still working on changes to pay and bonus as well as route schedules. So the freedom with my route may not stay the same.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2017-10-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "What was good turned into bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our goal was to ID the source and find resources to solve the problem WITH the clients’ cooperation.

    Cons

    Owners retired; sold off. Steritech doesn’t exist anymore. It’s just a marketing tool.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2018-09-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "This page is a lie! Company sold only for the name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None it is no longer Steritech

    Cons

    Company owened by Rentokil NA. Using Steritech's name because the have a horrible reputation for commercial business.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2018-09-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Lies and broken promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company vehicle company phone your own work schedule at times ongoing training working your own hours and company paid uniforms

    Cons

    Underpaid overworked no social life ever The company promise you the sun and the moon but never deliver on the promises management it's corrupt no room for advancement under paid been with the company 6 years nothing has changed putting people in place that don't belong there bad management to say is top^of the cons They cut back overtime cut out production bonuses so basically you're working a 40 hour week but it seems like you're putting in 80 hours to run you into the ground like a plow Horse stay away from this company at all cost is much better out there

    Continue reading
    Steritech2016-12-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sack up or get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pest Control Service Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech

    Pros

    A company that actually takes care of the entry level employee, to the point of losing clients to protect their assets. Vehicle, flexible hours, amazing benifits and management team that understands that they are still learning the industry. Great training program and an environment that promotes teamwork.

    Cons

    Every con that I have read on this site has been the same crying you hear at every company in this particular industry. Sack up or move on, there's no room for that type of technician in any pest company.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2016-09-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Steritech full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay and you set your own schedule, for the most part. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    I think that, overall, it could be a good company to work for. A huge determining factor is the management quality of the branch. I found mine to be poorly managed with woefully inadequate training, communication and planning which does a disservice to the employee and, most importantly, the customer. Expect longer work weeks than told with some family time spent on work related issues, almost daily. My days were much longer than expected due, in part, to the distance between some accounts, which negatively affects income. Overtime is deducted from the monthly bonus, and some travel time is unpaid. My average was over an hour per day. When I inquired about it I never received a straight answer. Even though I set my own schedule, it changed almost daily due to issues beyond my control. I was not told about being required to respond to a customer's call within two hours, 24/7, and that no pay would be received for that service, in most cases. Do yourself a favor and don't ignore the red flags, like I did from day one. If I had it to do over again I would definitely go with something else.

    Steritech2016-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Service Specialist in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, company truck with fuel card. You make your own schedule.Being able to make your own schedule makes it easy to fit in your PTO. Good paid training. I had no idea of pest prevention before I started but I was a professional in no time. Able to travel to help out other techs in different states if you want. This was an overall excellent experience. I quit because I moved out of state.

    Cons

    Always on call at my branch but you can usually put off your customer until at least the next morning. This is absolutely not a job for a single parent due to usually very early morning or late hours and being on call.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2016-02-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Worst job decision I have ever made."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Prevention Service Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company vehicle, gas card, uniforms and allowances for footwear, company paid training, route flexibilty, LOTS of overtime

    Cons

    Being on call 24/7, field level managers micromanage but are inexperienced at the job causing confusion and tons of frustration. Clients call all the time and expect a service that realistically cannot be provided, but forget about telling anyone high up that and having them listen. My experience was that "people first" really means nothing to managers, if there was any integrity to be had here I didn't find it. Be wary of their promises and fake smiles, don't just take my word for it I'm a random guy ranting on the internet. Read the other NUMEROUS posts about this company and watch your back lest you find a knife in it.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2016-01-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company That Could Be Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gas Card; Pay is better than average for Companies in the same Field. Bonuses are given if certain branch criteria is met.

    Cons

    Stress; Stress; and more Stress. Not Kidding. It never ends. Routes are jumbled up; where the logistics of the route and where the Specialists reside ABSOLUTELY makes NO sense what so ever. IF each individual route were run more efficiently; collectively each branch would have lower ESR's; higher net promoter scores; and the Specialists would have more home time.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2015-11-07
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Modern Day Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Steritech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers, Decent benefits, company vehicle

    Cons

    No work life balance...after working 8hr. shift overnight, they pretend to have you calling costumers and writing report log and making calendars that are worthless since you work day is never in order because of costumers calls pull you off your route. I was told by one district manager in Orlando, FL. "This is not a job where you call park your vehicle at the end of the day and just forget about it" They ask for the impossible...they want you to get rid of pest, but the products they use are worthless and inefficient. I could cover a roach in one of the product they use and it will still be alive for weeks. The workload is not bad, but the pay for what you do in the company is ridiculous. I was offer an amount to start then after I agreed and took the job and was on my third week of training the person who hired me called me, to tell me that he committed a 'brain fart'....and the reduce my salary by Two thousand dollars. 24 hr. once a month on call duty...Just horrible. Oh !!! by the way they don't mention the on call obligational work when you are interviewing. To top it all off...then they want you to sell also...so don't think about sleeping or spending time with your family...You belong to them. Don't you dare turn the company phone off. Bottom line the worst company I have worked for...they are slave runners.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2015-10-21
Found 42 reviews