Steritech "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Steritech Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Steritech President Doug Sutton (no image)
Doug Sutton
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company vehicle, decent salary, great benefits, lots of travel (I enjoy travel though, so it’s a pro for me)(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great pay and bonus system, control over schedule, company vehicle and gas card, they train you to do the job(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great job, flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Steritech full-time

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, great work life balance

    Cons

    Some late nights and weekends

    Steritech2018-01-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Management Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company car, decent benefits, PLENTY, decent per diem allowance

    Cons

    No work life balance, lack of EFFECTIVE communication, last minute travel to obscure towns in the middle of nowhere, a comically low hotel allowance for said travel, most people won't get any type of promotion or significant raise for 3-5 years, night audits in sketchy areas, a ridiculous value of night and weekend overtime, everything is very corporate

    Continue reading
    Steritech2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't be fooled by the fake reviews...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Management Specialist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car (Toyota Corolla or equivalent) Unlimited overtime

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Even worse now that people are flocking to work for our competitors and the people who stick around end up picking up the slack. Agressive micromanagement. No support for the job but expect to be nickeled and dimed for your time and productivity. Little to no room for advancement. Constantly out of town. Have to work some evenings and weekends. Very isolating work. Some clients can be difficult.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2019-09-11
  4. "Okay first job after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Standards 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Personal use of company car.

    Cons

    Pay, schedule, travel, management, work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Steritech2019-08-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Micromanage To Death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Management Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steritech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They provide a company car.

    Cons

    Management is well versed in micromanagement and treats employees poorly. Long hours, too much driving, & low compensation. Work/life balance is non existent. They only promote employees who really "suck up" to them. Very difficult to get a promotion & takes many years.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2019-08-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great leader, but overall resistant to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Administrator in Charlotte, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doug Sutton, President of Steritech is a great leader. He's very personable, easy to talk to, and always walks around the office and makes a point to know employees by name. He tries to foster a great team spirit. Although pay could definitely be improved for the workload, the benefits are pretty great. Company matched holiday savings, 401k match, and leadership has recently become more open to work from home so there is lots of flexibility. The office is also pretty nice. Decor has been upgraded lately and there are monthly events to keep everyone involved.

    Cons

    Pay - as aggressive as the company is about attaining new clients, thereby adding to the workload of administrators who manage the accounts, there is no increase in pay to account for the added work. This can easily become a strain on work/life balance and lead to feelings of being underappreciated. Aside from Doug, the leadership is questionable and not trusted by many of the employees. They rarely appear approachable and tend to treat people as just workers and less like humans. As a result, many people leave the department as soon as they can. A major observation is the self important attitudes within the culture. Steritech was purchased by a larger company, Rentokil, a few years ago and although we share an office and resources, the employees that were here before the acquisition seem to go out of their way to distance themselves from the other parts of the business as though they are somehow better than the others. I'm very big on inclusive culture, so even though I work on the Steritech clients, this attitude bothers me. Although we may represent different brands, ultimately the same company writes all of our paychecks. There needs to be better alignment within the different brands & a more inclusive atmosphere.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Meh.. Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steritech full-time

    Pros

    flexible scheduling at times is available

    Cons

    work/life balance is almost non-exsistant

    Steritech2017-07-03
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Down Hill Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Quality Management Specialist (Food Safety) in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steritech

    Pros

    Company Car and Gas Card, More autonomy than a standard desk job, decent pay

    Cons

    This company was sold last year and has been on a steady decline that has accelerated quickly in recent months. This job requires lots of nights and weekends and travel time that you will not be compensated for. Your quality of life will be poor particularly if you have a family. No work life balance to speak of. Vacation days have been cut (hope you like working on the Friday after Thanksgiving), long standing company events have been suspended. But you can count on getting patronizing weekly "motivational lecture" emails from the higher ups who aren't out there grinding away and are almost always home in time for dinner. There is talk about safety first in meetings but you quickly learn the true concern is whether or not your work was completed, not your well being. (You've been working 13 hour days for 2 weeks straight? Great, more revenue for us!) The independence and flexibility that attracted people to the job are long gone. They micromanage every aspect. The vision of conducting true quality assessments is lost when it becomes clear that the real goal is for everyone's numbers to be right down the middle.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2016-10-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Modern Day Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Steritech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers, Decent benefits, company vehicle

    Cons

    No work life balance...after working 8hr. shift overnight, they pretend to have you calling costumers and writing report log and making calendars that are worthless since you work day is never in order because of costumers calls pull you off your route. I was told by one district manager in Orlando, FL. "This is not a job where you call park your vehicle at the end of the day and just forget about it" They ask for the impossible...they want you to get rid of pest, but the products they use are worthless and inefficient. I could cover a roach in one of the product they use and it will still be alive for weeks. The workload is not bad, but the pay for what you do in the company is ridiculous. I was offer an amount to start then after I agreed and took the job and was on my third week of training the person who hired me called me, to tell me that he committed a 'brain fart'....and the reduce my salary by Two thousand dollars. 24 hr. once a month on call duty...Just horrible. Oh !!! by the way they don't mention the on call obligational work when you are interviewing. To top it all off...then they want you to sell also...so don't think about sleeping or spending time with your family...You belong to them. Don't you dare turn the company phone off. Bottom line the worst company I have worked for...they are slave runners.

    Continue reading
    Steritech2015-10-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Steritech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, independence, general working conditions

    Cons

    work/ life balance has taken a nose dive in the past 5 years

    Steritech2015-08-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews