Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated 11 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
110 Ratings
  1. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Steven Madden

    Pros

    great discount, great music, fun brand

    Cons

    work on weekends, holidays, work/life can be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    they team you to be a micromanager, not a leader

    Steven Madden2018-03-19
  2. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, pretty good discounts

    Cons

    the management wasn't that great

    Advice to Management

    make sure your store managers know what they are doing

    Steven Madden2018-03-19
  3. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager - in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for with a 50% discount! Also you get a free shoe every season. Many opportunities for advancement as well as working in another location.

    Cons

    Cheap customers and customer returns make it sometimes challenging to achieve sales goals. Some locations also need to be remodeled as a lot of the interiors are outdated compared to Aldo.

    Advice to Management

    None really.

    Steven Madden2018-03-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stressful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    casual work environment and dress code, great people, fun when working with product

    Cons

    hard work, not willing to pay the average industry salary, expect you to work through lunch, stressful, not professional

    Steven Madden2018-03-12
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot about how to sell. Great work environment and people! Made life long friends.

    Cons

    physically demanding (climbing involved). Can't be lazy!

    Advice to Management

    none

    Steven Madden2018-03-13
  6. "Good for a retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    50% discount, 40% for friends and family. Commission based so you get extra money for doing what you are suppose to do.

    Cons

    their computer system coworkers can get very competitive

    Advice to Management

    The management team is nice but sometimes upper management doesn't make sense. They change their sales every week which makes customers upset.

    Steven Madden2018-03-12
  7. "Look somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Steven Madden for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don't have anything good to say

    Cons

    No room to grow here

    Steven Madden2018-04-11
  8. "Good first job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    laid back environment, nice discount on shoes and accessories

    Cons

    high turnover rate for managers, always had to adjust to new management in the year ive been there shoes arent necessarily comfy to be in for long shift

    Advice to Management

    Try to teach the employees how the business works, let us see the importance of keeping sales high

    Steven Madden2018-03-06
  9. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, 50% discount, free shoe 2x/year

    Cons

    Stressful “sales” goal, very competitive to be top employee, sellers get priority with scheduling, hours aren’t steady

    Advice to Management

    Quit the cliques and give everyone a chance. Put stores in locations where there’s BUYERS, not TRY-ERS, and maybe you’ll have more happy employees that aren’t stressed over “items per transaction” “goals” or conversion. Set us up to succeed and we will.

    Steven Madden2018-03-15
  10. "Sales Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can dress however you want and really express yourself with your style.

    Cons

    Not too many opportunities for growth.

    Steven Madden2018-02-14
Found 392 reviews