Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 392 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
110 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work for

    Cons

    management needs to work on listening to workers

    Steven Madden2018-02-08
  2. "High turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and amazing product

    Cons

    Lack of higher up communication

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everything is in written form .

    Steven Madden2018-02-21
  3. "Hard Workers Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Constant communication with District Managers and Corporate. You are able to run stores like they are your very own business, merchandise to your own market, and culture isn't stuffy. You can find great opportunities but there aren't many.

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance, pay is not competitive, high turn over rate, and poor employee relations. Bonus structure needs improvement. There is minimal training. You must have a strong work ethic to survive but again will lose work life balance in doing so.

    Advice to Management

    Treat and train employees well and you will gain loyalty.

    Steven Madden2018-02-01
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    50% Discount, Commission Based allows for more pay aside from hourly

    Cons

    Low pay, managers don't give enough credit when due

    Steven Madden2018-01-31
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    The people I work with, the discount, you make commission so in a way you are in control of part of your salary.

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons. It was a great retail experience and helped me grow as a person and in the "working" world.

    Advice to Management

    Keep motivating your employees

    Steven Madden2018-01-18
  6. "Assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - discount was great - job was pretty simple for a manager

    Cons

    - upper management always wanted so much work done in so little time ! - the pay wasn’t the best

    Steven Madden2018-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "fitting and correcting shoes for production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Seeing how the product is produce start to finish. Opportunity to gain knowledge about the industry. Many different divisions to work within the company.

    Cons

    Really disappointed in the amount of nepotism at a publicly traded company and being forced to "work" with these people.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring incompetent people who are just to connected to the higher ups in management. Employees should have some formal education for their positions.

    Steven Madden2018-01-04
  8. "LOVE Steve Madden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Ledyard, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on shoes flexible work schedule employees and managers are easy to work with and friendly

    Cons

    a lot of down time getting paid a little over minimum wage

    Steven Madden2018-01-04
  9. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    summer Friday's, good work environment, free coffee machine, clean work spaces, room to grow.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than other companies for the position. Working some weekends.

    Steven Madden2018-01-03
  10. "Cool people...working for peanuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    4 Hour Shifts. Cool people. Nice work environment.

    Cons

    Working for a 1% commission. Yes, one percent.

    Advice to Management

    Work to reward ratio. There are employees killing it in sales with well in the thousands sold daily for a 1% commission. Imagine how hard they would work if that was increased. Imagine the talent that would come in. Imagine the talent that would stay, and then imagine what that could do for the business in the next 5 years.

    Steven Madden2017-12-31
Found 392 reviews