Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 383 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
109 Ratings
  1. "Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is really good and sometimes they have contest for free shoes.

    Cons

    Extremely high sales goals even if you work for a show location, constant pressure from upper management, aggressive work environment, horrible schedule

    Steven Madden2019-04-25
  2. "Not my favorite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Riverhead, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free shoes, pretty good discounts, no uniform

    Cons

    Low pay, not every location offers commission, lack of growth

    Steven Madden2019-04-17
  3. "Low Pay a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Great discount. Fun people to work with at times

    Cons

    Expect you to pull results out of the sky with no resources. Don't appreciate their employees. Low Pay for a lot of work and stress

    Steven Madden2019-04-18
  4. "Steve Madden Review post"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and team work

    Cons

    Sometimes some miscommunication in group

    Steven Madden2019-03-27
  5. "Nice break from working in clothing retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers and managers, Everyone was friendly and easy to get along with, Employee discount is 50% off (regular & sale), Management was very understanding and on your side

    Cons

    Pay wasn't always the best - minimum wage + 2% commission, had a manager steal sales from me and other associates (which means literal earned money taken from our pockets), rude customers almost everyday

    Advice to Management

    None

    Steven Madden2019-03-18
  6. "Great Company. Never had a complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    base pay + Commission

    Cons

    Small store = having to guard your clients from coworkers

    Steven Madden2019-03-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience and people in NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice co-workers who are always willing to help, it isn't a competition.

    Cons

    Pay a lot of attention to small details everyday

    Steven Madden2019-02-25
  8. "Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leniency, No uniform, can listen to own music, in your own zone, employee discount

    Cons

    Pay, Benifits, Limited space

    Steven Madden2019-03-14
  9. "Typical retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well, you get 50% off for yourself and 40% off for others (friends, family etc.) which is great incentive when working retail (and probably why most of us work it. Comparing it to a clothing store closing procedures are a lot easier when fixing the floor at night.

    Cons

    There is barely any commission incentive. You're basically working for minimum wage and the commission you do make off of sales is pretty much little to nothing- to be honest its more insulting they even consider it "commission." Putting back drags (all the shoes people DONT buy) is a DRAG! You're climbing up and down moving heavy racks on rollers, def breaking nails- and sometimes its A LOT of boxes of shoes to put back.

    Steven Madden2019-03-07
  10. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large enough company you can move around to other brands and positions.

    Cons

    Very cut throat, you have to sharpen your elbows to work here.

    Steven Madden2019-02-26
Found 383 reviews