Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 383 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
109 Ratings
  1. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large enough company you can move around to other brands and positions.

    Cons

    Very cut throat, you have to sharpen your elbows to work here.

    Steven Madden2019-02-26
  2. "Great learning experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Ability to learn different sides of the business - Gained extensive knowledge of SM's retail and wholesale accounts

    Cons

    - Needs more room for growth

    Steven Madden2019-02-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shoe Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount and free shoes every season

    Cons

    Managers treat you like trash, they’re all very immature, short breaks, minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Grow up!

    Steven Madden2019-03-08
  4. "Overall, Pretty good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead in Wayne, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Discount is 50% off shoes. The shoes were cute and most were comfortable. I really enjoyed expressing my creativity, because of the unique shoes. Also, it was pretty easy to get promoted. Just do what you have to do, go to all your shifts, and sell. -Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Pay is very little for all the hard work, especially during holidays. I believe Sales Associates start at minimum wage and Sales Lead starts at $10-11. The commission is very low as well. 1-5% commission on women and men shoes. Also, management was quite unprofessional and very little to none of the training. -Will either overwork you or not give you any hours.

    Advice to Management

    Better training. Better pay/commission.

    Steven Madden2019-02-11
  5. "Assistant Store Manager Steve Madden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Creatively free environment and ability to control product flow

    Cons

    associate pay is lower than usual which makes it harder to keep associates

    Advice to Management

    be a strong leader be quick on your feet and be able to multi-task

    Steven Madden2019-01-10
  6. "Admin assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Steven Madden

      Pros

      Great company

      Cons

      The pay is a little low

      Steven Madden2019-01-08
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good corporate discount, decent 401K

      Cons

      horrible culture, extremely unprofessional, rude people

      Advice to Management

      get a proper HR department

      Steven Madden2019-01-10
    • "Ok Work Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Steven Madden part-time

      Pros

      I liked my co-workers that always tried to make work fun.

      Cons

      The management turnover is crazy. I was at the store for just under a year and had more than 6 managers on all levels. There was a constant change of how the store is run such that guidelines were not enforced. Outlet stores should still have stock associates. I felt like I was stacking boxes more than selling.

      Advice to Management

      If you are to create new rules, enforce them!

      Steven Madden2018-12-26
    • "Sales Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time

      Pros

      It's a laid back job compared to most. It's easy to get promoted if you have the drive to do so. It's a good job to gain experience from. It can be fun to work at times.

      Cons

      Its a lot of labor for the pay that they offer keeps you from driving to make money. You climb up and down 8 foot ladders in order to grab one shoe. You also squeeze around through an overcrowded unorganized stock room trying not to knock things over. They keep decreasing commission down to the point where they offer you nothing but hourly which is also pretty low. Most bonuses are only offered to management which is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Steve invest in a bigger stockroom and a break room. It's not fun to eat at the computer desk and have to move on my lunch every-time someone needs to use it.

      Steven Madden2018-12-17
    • "Sales Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Steven Madden full-time

      Pros

      Great flexibility, good environment to work in, good coworkers for the most part.

      Cons

      Working holidays, almost no chance to move up.

      Steven Madden2018-11-27
    Found 383 reviews