Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 404 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
115 Ratings
  1. "In Between"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Discount Fashion Commission Based Sales as well

    Cons

    They will try to short your pay if you are unaware of what you should be paid.

    Steven Madden2018-08-23
  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Handbag Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free pizza on Friday’s that’s all and it’s prob from a cheap resto

    Cons

    They don’t respect death in family

    Steven Madden2018-09-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Design Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits. Good mentors if you are lucky enough to work for one of the very few good managers. Great place to be if you want to learn fast and move fast. Lot's of great coworkers. Great resources for teams.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE culture. Terrible management style. HR is a joke. Sexual harassment happens on every corner an screaming managers are everywhere. It's a very intimidating place to work if you do not have thick skin. Expectation for employees to work very late hours, awful work/family balance.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your culture, in your employees. Appreciate people and show them that you do. Hire all new HR. Don't have BBQ at the disgusting parking lot and make it "mandatory"

    Steven Madden2018-08-16
  4. "An unwelcoming environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get 50% off shoes! Room to move up towards being a manager in the store, but only due to huge turnover. Good for marketing, sales experience.

    Cons

    Nobody wants to take blame for mistakes made. All the people I worked with seem to be fake towards each other.

    Steven Madden2018-08-21
  5. "Sucky job great discounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    Pros were definitely the discounts and free shoes. Working there you had first dibs on whatever u wanted which was cool

    Cons

    Hard to grow with this company. The pay is horrible for the amount of hours and work they make you do. Cooperate doesn’t do anything to help. They only care about managers and managers usually give all their dirty work to associates

    Advice to Management

    Be more caring. Actually talk to your workers. Stop giving them the work you’re supposed to be doing.

    Steven Madden2018-08-21
  6. "Sales Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden for less than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, great employee discount

    Cons

    low pay, slow career development

    Steven Madden2018-08-17
  7. "Taught me what I wanted in a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden

    Pros

    Discount + exposure it gives working for a well known brand

    Cons

    The management was very petty and immature . Although the internship did not teach me as many skills as I wanted, it taught me that company culture is important and what i wanted in a full time place of employment.

    Steven Madden2018-08-06
  8. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time

    Pros

    Employee discounts are 50% off.

    Cons

    Hourly pay is minimum wage plus 1% commission

    Steven Madden2018-07-27
  9. "financial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    great family oriented company, work life balance

    Cons

    disorganized management, no proper training or executive leadership program

    Steven Madden2018-07-11
  10. "Support Services Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and perks were very nice.

    Cons

    Long hours, low salary, commuting to queens.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Steven Madden2018-07-09
Found 404 reviews