Steven Madden Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Sales Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
32 Ratings
  1. "Perfect high school/ college job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Associate 

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission!! Friendly coworkers! Love the area manager!!

    Cons

    You get commission but only one percent so you really have to sell for a decent paycheck!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your employees want.

    Steven Madden2019-06-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun but overall company is trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, cute shoes, cool style, amazing coworkers

    Cons

    Upper management, company doesn’t care about you, horrible low pay, company expects too much for little pay, no raises, expect you to work for free, expect you to live and breathe the store even on your days off, can’t call in sick even when you are sick and have sick pay

    Steven Madden2019-07-07
  3. "Great for a limited time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount is pretty as well as the fun environment.

    Cons

    There is no work/life balance.

    Steven Madden2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "why i wont work at steve madden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work life balance involved

    Cons

    associates can steal sales when they want

    Steven Madden2019-06-05
  5. "An okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    discount, the people, the environment

    Cons

    no real growth within the company

    Steven Madden2019-05-10
  6. "Not bad not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Woodstock, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Easy side money.

    Cons

    Nothing to pay bills. All your manager cares about is making sales goals and day. You only get hours if their available or if you sell well. Say goodbye to all your weekends. Taking off holidays is a problem but finessable.

    Advice to Management

    Consider employees more.

    Steven Madden2019-05-03
  7. "Not my favorite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Riverhead, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free shoes, pretty good discounts, no uniform

    Cons

    Low pay, not every location offers commission, lack of growth

    Steven Madden2019-04-17
  8. "Nice break from working in clothing retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers and managers, Everyone was friendly and easy to get along with, Employee discount is 50% off (regular & sale), Management was very understanding and on your side

    Cons

    Pay wasn't always the best - minimum wage + 2% commission, had a manager steal sales from me and other associates (which means literal earned money taken from our pockets), rude customers almost everyday

    Advice to Management

    None

    Steven Madden2019-03-18
  9. "Great Company. Never had a complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    base pay + Commission

    Cons

    Small store = having to guard your clients from coworkers

    Steven Madden2019-03-15
  10. "Typical retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Steven Madden part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well, you get 50% off for yourself and 40% off for others (friends, family etc.) which is great incentive when working retail (and probably why most of us work it. Comparing it to a clothing store closing procedures are a lot easier when fixing the floor at night.

    Cons

    There is barely any commission incentive. You're basically working for minimum wage and the commission you do make off of sales is pretty much little to nothing- to be honest its more insulting they even consider it "commission." Putting back drags (all the shoes people DONT buy) is a DRAG! You're climbing up and down moving heavy racks on rollers, def breaking nails- and sometimes its A LOT of boxes of shoes to put back.

    Steven Madden2019-03-07
Found 110 reviews