Steven Madden Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Valencia, CA

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steve Madden is a great corporation to work for. There is a lot of room to grow and develop in your career or as a person. They are interested in their employee's well-being.

    Cons

    The one and only con for me is the scheduling. In retail you will have days you work nights past 5pm, and it is mandatory for a full-time employee to work on the weekends. On top of that, you wont have a set schedule as every week the schedules tend to fluctuate.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Steven Madden2017-12-07
  2. "4/5 Stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Simple job and good music which is always nice working in retail.

    Cons

    45 hour work weeks. No work/life balance

    Steven Madden2019-06-14
  3. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a great team and was able to grow associates into sales leads/assistant managers.

    Cons

    The company doesn't always feel like it has much in advance planning. sales role out over night and change halfway through the day. just seems a bit scattered.

    Advice to Management

    set clear goals and follow them.

    Steven Madden2019-06-03
  4. "Fun, demanding, and confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a fun environment for the most part that allowed you to express who you were through fashion and your outside appearances with good music. I loved my job though up until the last 3 weeks I guess. I was extremely loyal to the brand and my store.

    Cons

    But depending on who the upper management was the rules changed and they always changed to benefit the company, never the employees in the store doing the hard work every day. People who should have been let go are probably still there and people who were let go shouldn’t have been. They were always micro managing the store management teams so bad it didn’t allow them to be a management staff. The amount of hours you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to appreciate the people working in your stores more. If you have loyal store managers try keeping them around instead of making it hard for them to stay. Work life balance is important. Even for the people working in your stores, remember that. Also when you let someone go they shouldn’t have to fight for the money that’s owed to them. Thanks.

    Steven Madden2019-06-12
  5. "It was good while it lasted..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The relationships that you grow with your staff Benefits Discounts Makes you feel like a real business owner

    Cons

    Not following handbook procedures Lack of training Micro-management Immature Upper Management

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to follow company policy at least allow someone to see what they did wrong and make up for their mistakes. I was let go in a very unfair manner after just being told I was doing an excellent job by multiple people that were of senior in the company. Let me go over something that was even a rule in the handbook and had it been I wouldn't have done it. If you plan to work for this company I would recommend...

    Show More
    Steven Madden2019-05-29
  6. "Assistant Store Manager Steve Madden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Creatively free environment and ability to control product flow

    Cons

    associate pay is lower than usual which makes it harder to keep associates

    Advice to Management

    be a strong leader be quick on your feet and be able to multi-task

    Steven Madden2019-01-10
  7. "Asm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Discount great flexibility with schedule

    Cons

    Upper management the WORST !!!!!DISTRICT TERRIBLE !!!!NO GROWTH !! Stay away 300 percent turnover and the company does not care !!Corporate has no idea what is happening-in there stores! Commission is a joke ! Outlets store are worse with pay !

    Advice to Management

    Steve needs to go into all his stores not just NY and observe.. Undercover boss would be great everyone would be fired!!!!!

    Steven Madden2018-12-01
  8. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time

    Pros

    Room for growth, benefits for full-time employees, training and development, and flexible schedule

    Cons

    There aren't very many locations

    Steven Madden2018-03-27
  9. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager - in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for with a 50% discount! Also you get a free shoe every season. Many opportunities for advancement as well as working in another location.

    Cons

    Cheap customers and customer returns make it sometimes challenging to achieve sales goals. Some locations also need to be remodeled as a lot of the interiors are outdated compared to Aldo.

    Advice to Management

    None really.

    Steven Madden2018-03-16
  10. "Assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - discount was great - job was pretty simple for a manager

    Cons

    - upper management always wanted so much work done in so little time ! - the pay wasn’t the best

    Steven Madden2018-01-10
Found 29 reviews