Stevens-Henager College Reviews | Glassdoor

Stevens-Henager College Reviews

Updated May 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Stevens-Henager College CEO Eric Juhlin
Eric Juhlin
13 Ratings
  1. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. There is a sense of belonging and family. Work only as a part time instructor of full time as conditions permit. There is no micromanaging and you are left to do your job.

    Cons

    As an instructor the number of enrolled students can affect your job status.

    Stevens-Henager College2018-04-12
  2. "I am a current Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Student in Boise, ID
      Recommends

      I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They want you to be successful and will help you get there

      Cons

      Too many online classes are all I can think about

      Stevens-Henager College2018-03-31
    • "Idaho Falls Campus Cares"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time

      Pros

      The SHC, Idaho Falls campus staff absolutely cares for their students. I still feel they fulfill a need in the Idaho Falls area. They truly care and are concerned for their students. The management is EXCELLENT and it is a learning environment for employees and students.

      Cons

      The reputation of the college as a "for-profit" and its high cost of tuition.

      Advice to Management

      Some of the larger campuses could learn a lot from the culture and professionalism at the IF campus.

      Stevens-Henager College2018-03-05
    • "Excellent work environment where you can help students succeed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The management is open, honest and respectful. Employees are focused on students and what is in their best interest. Good work life balance. Fulfilling work seeing students and graduates succeed.

      Cons

      Unfortunate negative bias toward career schools.

      Stevens-Henager College2017-12-07
    • "Great Oportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Stevens-Henager College part-time

        Pros

        Great environment to work while attending college, allowing me to work hard on my own course work while assisting others in theirs.

        Cons

        Sometimes I found myself caught up in other students drama.

        Stevens-Henager College2017-09-12
      • Helpful (3)

        "admissions consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time

        Pros

        high stress. goals that seem too hard to reach

        Cons

        too expensive. Very poor as fas as organization goes

        Advice to Management

        pay more and treat admissions better

        Stevens-Henager College2017-07-23
      • Helpful (4)

        "Never Again"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admissions Representative 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Decent Coffee, Good Co-Workers, Some Nice benefits

        Cons

        Strict policies in place towards employees regarding sick time and leave, Predatory work environment, Predatory For-Profit college, Lied about valuing education

        Advice to Management

        Start actually valuing your employees and education and tackle the issues. Stop lying about your non profit status as well and making yourself out to be the best of the best. Most importantly do not enforce the fake praise and joy that exists there. Everyone can see the lie for what it is. Just don't lie about what you are.

        Stevens-Henager College2017-08-14
      • Helpful (2)

        "Financial Aid Officer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time

        Pros

        Pay, Simple Job, Nice Office

        Cons

        Strict Policies, Negative Work Environment

        Advice to Management

        I've never worked with such unsympathetic and insensitive management in my life. The manager and supervisors want you to be a robot and genuinely do not care for the employees in any way.

        Stevens-Henager College2017-07-10
      • "Instructor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time

        Pros

        Teaching topics of interest. Students appreciate instructor's knowledge. Students interested in furthering education in order to advance their lifestyle.

        Cons

        Low salary, course content predetermined by individuals not in the area of expertise. Students poorly prepared for college work.

        Advice to Management

        Demonstrate appreciation for time and effort of instructors. Provide instructors with the appropriate tools and supplies to teach.

        Stevens-Henager College2017-06-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Financial Planner in Salt Lake City, UT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        I actually have worked for SHC/CEHE for over 5 years. I work for the online division - Independence University - and have loved every second of it. The company is great with recognition of employees doing well or employees who improve over time. Lower management is very uplifting and motivating when they see someone struggling. Team moral within the admissions department is amazing. Pay is fantastic, and ability to work...

        Show More

        Cons

        Upper management sometimes uses scare tactics to motivate employees, and more often than not it doesn't work. It just deflates those of us who are lower level employees, and I'd say 8/10 times, the employee ends up either quitting or being let go because the tactic doesn't work and they don't get motivated to improve.

        Advice to Management

        To Upper Management: Don't use scare tactics to motivate employees. It doesn't work, and leaves lower level employees feeling deflated and unappreciated. Keep motivating by recognizing those performing well and uplifting those who could use a boost. It has worked really well to motivate me for over 5 years!

        Stevens-Henager College2017-05-15
      Found 92 reviews