Stevens-Henager College Reviews | Glassdoor

Stevens-Henager College Reviews

Updated May 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Stevens-Henager College CEO Eric Juhlin
Eric Juhlin
13 Ratings
  1. "Positive environment woring with adult learners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teaching and sharing my experiences with adult learners who are motivated to learn a new skill and re-enter the workforce with a skill that is in demand in their industry.

    Cons

    High tuition costs for students entering the workforce at an entry level position. It will take them decades to pay off their debt at the rate they are being compensated for the education.

    Advice to Management

    Pre-screen applicants to careers that they are most appropriate to the industry. Have guidance counselors available to discuss varied opportunities in education.

    Stevens-Henager College2015-05-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College

    Pros

    Good amount of vacation time off.

    Cons

    I felt lied to after being hired, about my rage, increases, and opportunity for advancement. Company doesn't impose core values or worth of their employees.

    Stevens-Henager College2015-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Education for Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Instructor in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allows students who cannot get into other schools to enroll

    Cons

    Very expensive, questionable ethical standards with the online school, instructors and other employees work hard for little pay.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your image- starting with online leadership

    Stevens-Henager College2015-05-05
  4. "Engaging and rewarding work, with great perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Idaho Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Stevens-Henager College for over five years. This school values people. They value their employees, and their students. I've seen so many people come through our doors looking to change their lives, and through education and the support of others, they do it! What a rewarding place to work. The programs are cutting edge, and are designed for what people want out of it: a good job. The compensation...

    Show More

    Cons

    I would like more training opportunities. We do have trainings but most are offered though holding regular conference calls for a variety of topics (maybe with a PowerPoint tossed in ), but it's not the same as some hard-core training; especially with tough topics like VA education benefits, etc. These calls just feel more like meetings.

    Advice to Management

    I respect the leadership in the company. I love the opportunities for professional development. I think the benefits are great: paid holidays, vacation/sick time, and the health and 401K benefits are OK. I would invest more into hands-on technical training opportunities for all employees (not just admissions).

    Stevens-Henager College2015-02-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Grade F employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free school. That is it!

    Cons

    Where to begin? Its all about who you know.

    Stevens-Henager College2015-01-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Consultant in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time

    Pros

    My co-workers were the best ever. So much fun. Every day was hilarious. The pay was great. As long as you hit your goals you can do your job without being micromanaged. It was fun getting to meet new people every day outside your usual social circles. As long as you do your job and are well liked, you have great job security. It was genuinely my favorite job I've ever had.

    Cons

    Think about the show "The Office"- a lot of what you're asked to do is a total joke, and you do it anyway. But if you have a sense of humor, it can be fun along the way. They're gradually going downhill- their education is the worst and the lawsuits are going to eat them eventually. The top 3 people at this campus are laughable crazy. They have set up a 'good ol' boys club' for maximum job security, and are just totally...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace upper management at campus. Realistic goals and don't put up departments with opposing goals- more campus anonymity. Get rid of those who are a drag to the company instead of letting them stay on and pull moral down. Don't let a false sense of power inflate your head and you become a crazy person making ridiculous insignificant orders.

    Stevens-Henager College2014-11-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I worked at Stevens-Henager College full-time

    Pros

    Great Management, I was impressed by how they showed appreciation for their employees.

    Cons

    Pay was average, but not unreasonable.

    Stevens-Henager College2014-10-02
  8. "Rewarding and Fulfilling Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Idaho Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been with Stevens-Henager College for over 9 years. I feel like management truly cares about their employees' happiness and accomplishments. Hard work and positive results are always rewarded. I worked my way up from a very entry level position to a Director position. Even as an entry level employee, I always felt that my opinions were valued. It's been my experience that they nurture great employees to help them...

    Show More

    Cons

    There could be more effective communication between campuses to share ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Continue showing employees they are valued. Words of encouragement and well deserved praise go a long way.

    Stevens-Henager College2014-07-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It could have been better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Stevens-Henager College

    Pros

    Great place to learn. Great people to work with. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Benefits were horrible. Under paid by a lot when you averaged it out to the other companies in the field of work.

    Stevens-Henager College2014-07-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stevens-Henager College is a nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stevens-Henager College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many jobs can be done remotely from home. In my experience, they promote from within. My immediate supervisor is fantastic

    Cons

    Communication throughout all departments is lacking. The do not give regular compensation increases for employees who work hard. It is an open-enrollment school so, sometimes, students who should not be in college levels classes are recruited.

    Advice to Management

    You should consider compensating employees who work to keep students going as well as you compensate the recruiters who enroll the students.

    Stevens-Henager College2014-07-07
Found 92 reviews