KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Stevens Transport

Is this your company?

Stevens Transport

Add a Review

Stevens Transport Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Jan 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 305 reviews

3.0
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Stevens Transport Chairman and CEO Steven L. Aaron (no image)
Steven L. Aaron
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "Safety regulations Good training program(in 18 reviews)

  • "They have a good training and school(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The pay scale and home time is not good(in 17 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay is the nature of the job, but safety is high priority(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Stevens Transport and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "home time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      I love my job

      Jul 14, 2016 - Truck Driver in Lapeer, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best equipment, best training program, regular home time, dedicated lanes avalable. Stevens has won awards for premier refrigerated carrier in the industry.

      Cons

      No cons, really. If there is a family emergency you can expect immediate transportation home from wherever you're located. The cons are industry-wide, and they do their best to make things right if they go wrong while you're on the road.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Human Resources

      8 years!!!!! THANK YOU! It's very helpful to see the various facets of how you think about work life with our company and we love that you love what you do. As always, it is reassuring to know what we are doing right. We strongly believe that putting people in the position to do the best work of their career is the best and most sustainable advantage we can have, and we really do try to provide that experience to everyone who walks through our doors. That said, we are absolutely open to constructive criticism and to hearing about what we can do differently and/or better, and encourage you to share any other thoughts that come to mind. Thank you again for believing in us. We look forward to you being part of our family for many more years to come!

    2. 2.0
      Current Contractor

      ...

      Jan 7, 2021 - Lease Operator in Mesquite, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most weeks you get pay check

      Cons

      The pay scale and home time is not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to discuss your individual situation with you personally if you would reach out to HRfeedback@stevenstransport.com.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      They’re okay

      Dec 10, 2020 - CDL Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a good training and school

      Cons

      Kinda mess you over with home time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you had a good experience with your training and CDL school. If you would like to provide more information regarding your situation with home time, please reach out to HRfeedback@stevenstransport.com.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's ok Excellent Training

      Sep 4, 2019 - Company Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best training program hands down. U might have to wait a little bit. To get a trainer. But they give u the tools to be successful if u decide to leave or stay!

      Cons

      They suck at giving u home time. Hands down!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you had an overall positive experience at Stevens Transport and felt our training program was the best in the industry. We do our best and make the effort to get our drivers home to their families, but as you know, that is one of the harder parts about a career driving OTR. We appreciate your time driving for Stevens Transport and wish you luck in your next career move.

    5. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Stevens can be the most amazing OTR company

      Aug 30, 2019 - Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Home time Steady freight Non pressured loads Plenty of opportunities for advancement and different fields

      Cons

      None personally. Great company through and through

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience driving OTR for Stevens Transport. We are so glad you have had such a positive experience here, and we appreciate your hard work and dedication to our company.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company - needs some tweaking to get back to where it was when it was one of the leaders in this industry.

      Dec 22, 2008 - Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to get your start in this industry. Possible advancement within the company. Long term has been a "good" company to work for because they will leave you alone for the most part.

      Cons

      The pay scale for drivers (don't even get me started on the pittance of a salary that the office personnel are making) doesn't keep pace with industry averages of other companies that are the same size. Company policies are never "set in stone" and can fluctuate from day to day (literally). Home time could be a little more frequent, it's very hard to withstand five weeks out if you are anything but a single driver.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Good Place To Start

      Mar 28, 2013 - Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training program is by far one of the BEST! Home Time is not a problem but for me it's because I live where freight goes to and the Prima Donas Drivers don't want to drive into(NYC). Actually getting anywhere is not a problem if you work it correctly. Best equipment by far. For the current drivers not happy-go somewhere else. You will find it's the same at another company just painted in a different color. Especially once the Honeymoon is over. Communicating with different departments for ME is not an issue but then again it's ALL on how you conduct yourself while on the phone. Give attitude expect some back!! If you are looking to start into the industry it's a great place to start however if you're looking to make BIG BUCKS instantly try somewhere else.

      Cons

      Too much emphasis on the Leasing Program. Seems like you get more recognition on the Alliance side. Really don't care to hear about all the completions,bonus,etc over the Qualcom. Otherwise not a bad place to work

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company With Good People

      May 22, 2017 - Company Driver in Syracuse, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best training out there for brand new drivers. I've met many corporate employees as well as other drivers and I have not had a bad experience with any of them. You hear horror stories about many, if not all carriers, but my experience with Stevens is if you're a respectful and reliable driver, you will get respect back. They've always gotten me home when requested as well. Medical/dental/vision insurance are top notch.

      Cons

      Pay is on the lower side but I understand that being a rookie. Home time is shorter than I'd like and not frequent enough. Lastly, trucks are governed at 62mph which causes a lot of problems on the road.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      We are so happy that you took the time to leave us a review! You are right, there are going to be bad reports on any company, but you know your company is doing something correct when people who are happy think to leave a review! We know that home time is very important, long haul can be tough! The good news is we have restructured Driver Manager training since the first of the year so that your office teammates are better equipped to give you the support out on the road that you need. That, as well as new computer systems, has rapidly improved our ability to get all of our drivers loads home on time! I have also passed on your request to review our home time policies. Thank you for expressing you concern, we cannot change if we do not know our problems! Good news! We listened our drivers, and the governors have been increased to a start speed of 64 mph. Once you have reached your two-year mark, it is increased to 66 mph. If you are still on the road with a 62 mph governor, next time you come into the office they should reset it. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review! We are proud to have you as part of our team, and hope you continue to be a part of the family here at Stevens!

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      The good and the bad.

      Jun 18, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do have their own school and they stress safety in all of their drivers, from the beginner up to the veterans.

      Cons

      Trying to get home is almost like pulling teeth. The night/weekend dispatchers are only concerned with getting the loads moving, and don't recognize the fact that a drivers' home time is coming up. In one year of driving, I have always been late for my scheduled time off, and usually a week to two weeks late.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The Load is King or so it seems.

      Nov 17, 2018 - Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Company so far, the instructors are great especially Sgt. Major great guy! and Lori genuinely caring person. Donna Stephens is stern but she means well and is always helpful. Great company structure. Pay is just ok. I like driving at night because I have trouble sleeping and plus is the night time employees are much nicer midnight safety talks are great, and the night trip planning lady Gina is a joy to deal with

      Cons

      A lot of employees are miserable in person and on the phone, getting home on time is very difficult, I was in N.Y. city with a few days until my home time in Florida I was told there weren't any loads going to Florida so I was sent to Pennsylvania to pick up a load going to Ohio, I did it then was told there aren't any loads from there to Florida either tools to take a load from there to Texas that it would be repowered before I got there so I could head home I had plans to celebrate an early thanksgiving this weekend as I wouldn't be home for the actual holiday then if that wasn't bad enough my dad fell off a ladder and messed up his spine and is currently in surgery and it's not looking good, so I called dispatch and asked if I could complete the load and have someone else bring it in since its early and again told there isn't any loads going east and given an address where I could drop the truck at a drop yard when I said I might have to take a flight home, I put in my home time 3 weeks ago for the 16th and found out yesterday that it was changed to the 18th without my knowledge, and here I sit trying to clear my head while waiting to be unloaded to then head to this drop yard and then airport to spend money I don't have to catch a flight, I just needed to vent that because it's frustrating dealing with people who don't seem to care about anything but the load, I actually don't have any complaints about the company itself my issue is with how the employees treat new drivers almost as if they don't care about them because new drivers might not last long anyway, I've spoken to many veteran drivers to a little wisdom to apply to my everyday tasks and many say they used to put up with it because it's steady work and as long as you stay from the yard you'll be fine, like I said the company is a good company it just has a few kinks that need to be worked out and by kinks I mean employees. Would I recommend the company, yes because I am hopeful and try to think positivity often.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on your experience driving for Stevens Transport. Our drivers are our first priority and we do our best to fulfill everyone's requests for hometime and still meet the needs of our customers. We sincerely apologize for your situation. Please contact us at feedback@stevenstransport.com so that we can speak with you personally in more detail and address the situation so that we can better understand your experience. We will pass your kind words along to our team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stevens Transport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stevens Transport? Share Your Experiences

    or