KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Stevens Transport

Is this your company?

Stevens Transport

Add a Review

Stevens Transport Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 292 reviews

2.9
52%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Stevens Transport Chairman and CEO Steven L. Aaron (no image)
Steven L. Aaron
156 Ratings
Pros
  • "Safety regulations Good training program(in 18 reviews)

  • "They have a good training and school(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The pay scale and home time is not good(in 17 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay is the nature of the job, but safety is high priority(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "low pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Safety priority

      Apr 7, 2017 - Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I liked the safety focus on this company

      Cons

      Long hours, low pay is the nature of the job, but safety is high priority

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      We are very proud of our high safety focus and we are glad to see that you are too! As dangerous as the transportation industry can be, we believe that safety should be everyone’s top priority! Long haul can certainly be difficult, but it can also be very rewarding! Thank you so much for the positive review, we are glad to have employees like you here at Stevens!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Discrimination is RAMPANT! Record all conversations with management

      Jan 8, 2020 - Corporate Position 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None at all, there is no reason to work here

      Cons

      Aside from the abusive environment, unprofessional management, low pay, long hours, and no growth there is a huge issue with discrimination and it is imperative that you RECORD ALL CONVERSATIONS WITH MANAGEMENT so you can do something if you are a victim. Texas is a one party consent state so you are allowed to do this and you are also stopping a disgusting practice at this company.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Nice place to visit but wouldn't want to stay!

      Jan 23, 2015 - Leasing Driver in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training is intense and covers a lot. Its good for very new drivers, IF IF! If you get lucky and get a good driving trainer. DONT go through their cdl school! Find your own. Its an OK place to get a year exp in before moving on.

      Cons

      Lack of pay! Low pay. Training drivers are NOT screened in any way to show they'd be a good trainer. I had a good trainer, my co driver not so lucky! He's had his life threatened, trainer refuses to let him sleep on the bottom bunk while team driving. Expects trainee to be a money farm and drive 11 hrs after 4 hrs fitful rest in the jump seat. Trainer has broken multiple laws with no reprisal after trainee reported him. They constantly pressure you to lease, but you only make a small amount more than fleet and that's due to no longer having medical insurance and only pays if you NEVER go home! Medical insurance is expensive and yet very few doctors accept it! Leasing only seems to pay if you become a trainer, which they push! Or like me, you go teams. I hope we do anyway. Very poor communication between days and nights/weekends. Between planners and DMS. The cdl school is a PUPPY MILL!! That you will have to pay off out of your already meager paycheck. Find your own cdl school!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Seems like all student driver companies are the same

      May 10, 2013 - Student Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding training; teaching students how to be safe on the road and protect the motoring public. Good training procedures with two 4 day classes and two times out on the road, once with a driver trainer and once with another student driver.

      Cons

      Poor management, lack of respect or courtesy for the drivers and students, low pay rate for students compared to other companies. The new drivers don't make as much money because the drivers with seniority or in the Alliance lease program will get the best loads.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Good Start

      Feb 26, 2015 - OTR Truck Driver (Lease Operator) in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential to make over 65k if you plan to become a trainer or an owner operator. These positions are not easy though, and usually require months of experience before you are ready to take the next step. Company has a good safety record. Equipment is usually in good shape. I got a DOT inspection about once every year.

      Cons

      Strict company, many people leave the company within a year, many people also get fired, safety department does not treat drivers well, constant fear of getting fired mainly by safety department, low pay compared to other companies.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast pace and new challenges everyday

      Nov 9, 2013 - Training Counselor in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working with dedicated people everyday. Very safety oriented and willing to do anything to keep the fleet productive and safe

      Cons

      high turnover due to lack of positive energy by the supervisors. Very poor communication and direction given by supervisors. Low pay scale

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      good company for new drivers

      May 15, 2017 - Truck Driver in Laredo, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it's a good company for new drivers, they have good training , they are good on safety, fuel bonus

      Cons

      low pay .30 a mile, low or no lay over pay, they don't pay all the miles i always was between 30-100 miles short, 10 c a mile empy,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      I am glad that we agree that the training and safety programs are great here at Stevens! Your analysis of pay, however is not correct. You do start out at .30cpm, however we are long haul and have the most miles per dispatch of any company in the nation. You cannot compare the cpm of a long-haul company to that of one doing LTL. You aren’t comparing apples to apples! You will have less stops and time loading and unloading, and more time making money and driving! It seems like you were a little confused on how your pay worked. We DO NOT cheat our drivers out of miles. We pay shortest distance from point A to point B, which is the same way we are paid by our customers. This is industry standard, and you do not get additional pay for taking longer distance routes. You DO NOT get paid 10cpm for empty miles. We pay empty miles at the same rate we pay loaded miles if we are sending you to pick up another load. We are sorry that Stevens was not a good fit for you, and wish you the best for your future!

    8. 1.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Truck driver

      Jun 1, 2015 - Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get a CDL!! but it comes with a $4000 price tag but they'll let you make payments if you sign a contract with them

      Cons

      Very low pay if they talk to customers the way they talk to employees this place would be out of business. slowest trucks on the road (62) mph hit 63 too many times you get wrote up 65 mph is grounds for termination and you can't use your cruise control tell you been driving for 90 to 120 days solo this company makes money by ripping off the new guy that don't know any better

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Intern, more than 1 year

      Only pro is you get your cdl and training but other than that a horrible horrible place of employment.

      Nov 5, 2014 - Alliance Otr Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You learn to protect the motoring public and drive a heavy truck safely. But thats is pretty much it after that is all down hill.

      Cons

      Nothing i say here is an exaggeration. This company prefers familyless, homeless, non intelligence types, or people whoms parents made then get jobs. Very Low pay so Money should not be the reason you work for this company. They demand 4-5 weeks on the road minimum as a driver. Up to 3 months for people that do not complain. And only 3 to 4 days home after that. On the 4th day they will be calling you to get back in the truck. You will have to go thru all chains of command to get home when you request. Personell actually tell you " if you need to be home on the 15th tell you driver mgr you need to be home on the 5th. And you may get in by the 15th." Being that you get paid by the mile, if you moniter your milage you will notice they skim or remove miles that you should have been paid for. When attempting to get reimbursed for these miles noone will cooperate with you. It like trying to find a needle in a haystack thats in the middle of an active circus with the circus tent on fire during an earthquake. Everyone in the main office is over worked, over managed, under paid and bitter. One lady worked there for 10 yrs and barely made above minimum wage. Her fault ...yes but as a company with a ten year employee they should be ashamed. The staff does mean to take their anger and bitterness out on the students and drivers but the do. You cannot believe ANYTHING you are told by office staff. Incorrect information is given to to satisfy the person asking the question. And when that is proven wrong everyone says the says the same the...who told you that... they were wrong. Everything that happens to there truck is your fault. If you are legally parked and in a shower and your truck is damaged.... you should not have parked there..... you need to pay..... The truck breaks down you should have caught it in you daily inspection. If/When you leave, this company will sue you for the student loan payment before you can even setup a payment plan with them. Just not a good place to work. And no matter where you go.. any city any state there will always be an ex stevens driver that will come up to you and say the same thing. I know what your going through. I drove for stevens its one of the worst companys out here! Leave as soon as you can. Every thing I have said here is true... even the part about the circus fire.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Horrible company to work for..

      Dec 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trucks are newer and in good condition Trailers are also. Benefits are good

      Cons

      Low pay Hard to get consistent miles They don't care about drivers at all.... They charge for lots of stuff at orientation they say you NEED but can get cheaper at a truck stop.. The hardly ever got me home even close to the time I requested. I can go on and on......

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Stevens Transport Response

      Director of Talent & Development

      Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that Stevens was not a good fit for you. At Stevens Transport, we compensate our Drivers according to miles dispatched and Stevens has been recognized as an industry leader in miles per dispatch. Although mileage consistency is certainly a challenge depending on the season, refrigerated trucking has a much higher rate of consistency than many other industries year to year. We certainly try to express the importance of our drivers at the company’s greatest asset to all of our Driver Managers, but without feedback we cannot identify problems in communication. We are working hard to become more efficient and develop new policies and procedures to ensure our drivers make it home on time. We understand that time away from home can be one of the hardest parts of working longhaul.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stevens Transport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stevens Transport? Share Your Experiences

    Stevens Transport logo
    or