Steward Health Care System Reviews | Glassdoor

Steward Health Care System Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 357 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Ralph de la Torre
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in the Hospitals focused on providing the best care to patients(in 12 reviews)

  • "They have a good benefits that don't overwhelm you with employee contributions(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management: our floor has had a lot of issues with upper management after our primary nurse supervisor left(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work life balance was non-existent in my role(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Echo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steward Health Care System

    Pros

    Very nice place to work . Professional company with the same

    Cons

    Thank you so happy to have you

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-12
  2. "Great Coworkers; low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in New Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The group of coworkers that are in my department are great. We all work well as a team and have each other’s backs. Benefits are also a plus and management is able to accommodate if you need time off.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t based on work performance. I find that if you do more than what you’re asked, it won’t reflect in your paycheck. Management also doesn’t really pay attention to the work flow and doesn’t check up on their employees as often as they should.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye out on the employees who are going above and beyond for you. They are working hard and deserve more pay. Also, revise the tattoo policy. We’re in 2019. No one cares if you are expressing yourself with tasteful ink. It shows that people are diverse and interesting. And plus, our patients are coming in with tattoos anyway. They really don’t care as long as they’re getting the best care out there.

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-18
  3. "Enjoyed the opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Coordinator in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steward Health Care System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the tasks and the supervisor was a very nice person.

    Cons

    They were going through a lot of personnel changes.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay as Melbourne Florida is beautiful but is still expensive. No other suggestions: all companies go through a lot of changes every where and Steward is no exception. These folks were very nice to work for. If I hadn't moved away, I would have stayed.

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-15
  4. "Steward Review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Systems Analyst 

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Flexibility with schedule. Working from home options.

    Cons

    Poor communication between executive leadership.

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-13
  5. "Great hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Fall River, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, great management, teaching hospital, good work environment, very organized

    Cons

    location is not the safest

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-09
  6. "this is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    they treat you very well

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "You get paid more when you're not exactly doing God's work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Social Worker in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are very good, and affordable. The premium health insurance option is quite expensive given the sector, but it seems to be a good value. Fidelity for 401k, all sorts of health insurances, free short term disability insurance and AD&D, with optional supplements. And generally speaking, the work here is worth doing. People need help, and you can help them to some degree (and not go broke doing it)

    Cons

    A great deal of pressure from corporate to make faster discharges, sign notes, and overcome barriers among other things. There seems to be little substantive filtering of this information to people on the ground, and it's from a very nursing driven perspective. In general, it seems like people here do not like Steward, or even their direct supervisor. Little to no opportunity for growth into a higher position as a social...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees room to breathe. People here all want to do the right thing, but the corporate tone is on making money above all else. Take care of your patients and provide good care, and the rest will follow.

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-01
  8. "Great System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I worked at Steward Health Care System part-time

    Pros

    Amazing System to work for.

    Cons

    Long hours, very busy, hard work

    Steward Health Care System2019-07-26
  9. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scheduler 

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Healthcare experience, clinical, medical, people

    Cons

    No communication disorganized new system

    Steward Health Care System2019-08-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator 

    I have been working at Steward Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    There is no cons for this company

    Steward Health Care System2019-07-19
Found 357 reviews