Stifel Financial "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stifel Financial Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Stifel Financial CEO Ronald J. Kruszewski (no image)
Ronald J. Kruszewski
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great work life balance, interesting job(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great people, lax environment, good networking opportunities(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stifel was late to learn that if you treat employees well they will take care of the customers(in 13 reviews)

  • "It is making me have a 20 word minimum for this answer but there are no cons(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stifel Financial for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    No cons to working here

    Stifel Financial2019-10-25
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Stifel. Great people and benefits.

    Cons

    More training to encourage growth.

    Stifel Financial2018-10-02
  3. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stifel Financial

    Pros

    Great people, lax environment, good networking opportunities

    Cons

    location wise, St. Louis might not be the place to meet other professionals in Finance

    Stifel Financial2018-08-13
  4. "Equity Research Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial

    Pros

    Great culture, beautiful offices in Baltimore, great people

    Cons

    Can be too traditional at times

    Stifel Financial2017-11-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stifel Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, easy to get along with on a personal level with just about everyone in the department.

    Cons

    You have to be a "favorite" to move up in the structure. If you do get promoted, you have to get the approval of both the new supervisor and your current one, which I've felt leads to some of the better people being held back. Often promotions do not come with a title change or raise, which leads to people leaving as soon as they have a year or two in the position to get the experience and then leave for much better... paying positions at other firms.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people - they are your bread and butter and without them you'll soon be left with the short end of the stick. Pay people what they're worth so that you keep talent in the house.

    Stifel Financial2016-11-08
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial

    Pros

    Professional, personable, low key, easy to work for, good company and great people.

    Cons

    none, good company, nice place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Stifel Financial2016-09-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A few changes on the admin management side would do wonders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Stifel Financial

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people who work at this company. Personally I LOVED working for my bosses and really the entire office was great. You will be surrounded by very smart, hard-working people.

    Cons

    On the corporate/admin side they are really stuck in this ancient mode when it comes to their support staff. It might depend on the office, but in general an admin is looked at as just an admin and working your way up from that position is not likely (at least in the IB department). Also, there is not a flexibility when it comes to the admin/support staff schedule. Even for people at the management level on the HR... side any telecommuting options are frowned upon, and if you are just at a basic support staff level they might not allow you to work from home even during a major snow storm. If you have a strong work ethic and are the type of person that is more than willing to be on call for the people that you work with 24/7, this might not be a great place for you to work as an admin because you get reprimanded for that by "office managers" or other administrative management even if the bankers that you work for are appreciative of it/pleased with your work. Also, even if you are working as an executive assistant you won't always receive that job title or fair compensation for what you do unless you were specifically hired for that job and that salary from the very beginning. They treat their admin staff as a pool of people and even if you were hired for one job they will pull you to do other things if they know you are capable of it. Which would be great if they gave you the appropriate title and compensation for the work, but in my experience that wasn't happening. Also a more general comment - they are SO far behind as far as technology goes. It is painful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a more modern approach when dealing with your support staff. Allow them to be the best that they can be. Give them a bit more flexibility as long as they have proven themselves to be deserving of it. You don't want to lose good, strong people due to a black-and-white management style.

    Stifel Financial2016-07-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great people to learn from

    Cons

    Lesser known brand. Mid market pay

    Advice to Management

    None

    Stifel Financial2016-05-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great people - not so great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    Teams are comprised of great people, work is constant, never a dull moment

    Cons

    Benefits are lacking compared to other firms in the area. 401k match is dumped in at the end of the year. Vacation and Sick time are joined.

    Stifel Financial2016-04-20
  10. "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - The Vice President of Investments 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial

    Pros

    Great people to work with in the office, very friendly and felt like a part of the company within weeks. Internship was very flexible

    Cons

    For the most part there were no cons except for the fact the facility was downtown and a little bit of a walk from the parking garage. Otherwise no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to keep doing what you are doing, work hard to keep a close nit office and keep drama to a minimum

    Stifel Financial2016-03-24
Found 15 reviews