Stifel Financial "stifel" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Stifel Financial Employee Reviews about "stifel"

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Stifel Financial CEO Ronald J. Kruszewski (no image)
Ronald J. Kruszewski
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great work life balance, interesting job(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great people, lax environment, good networking opportunities(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stifel was late to learn that if you treat employees well they will take care of the customers(in 13 reviews)

  • "It is making me have a 20 word minimum for this answer but there are no cons(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "stifel"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Loan Officer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stifel Financial for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of welcoming people and an environment that’s easy to work in.

    Cons

    No cons specific to Stifel

    Stifel Financial2019-08-19
  2. "Great research shop to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equity Research Associate 

    I have been working at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    The culture and research platform are excellent at Stifel. Small teams with a lot of responsibility lead to a robust and fast learning process -- while providing a favorable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Internal mobility and pay raises are limited.

    Stifel Financial2019-03-19
  3. "Stifel Financial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    Learn the broker dealer world from a regional firm.

    Cons

    Stifel was late to learn that if you treat employees well they will take care of the customers.

    Continue reading
    Stifel Financial2019-01-02
  4. "Investment Banking Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Banking Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and hours. Probably best in the industry.

    Cons

    Not much work to do. There are concerns for exit as well. Also depends on which sub-company you are allocated to - KBW, MB, or Stifel

    Stifel Financial2018-10-17
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Stifel. Great people and benefits.

    Cons

    More training to encourage growth.

    Stifel Financial2018-10-02
  6. "Summer Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Stifel Financial for less than a year

    Pros

    I have gained a lot of experienced from working at Stifel.

    Cons

    There wasn't a structured criteria for the interns.

    Stifel Financial2018-09-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Assoc. VP Investments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Associate Investments in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full compliment of services and products. Autonomy at branch level for the most part. Good reputation. Very supportive of Advisors.

    Cons

    Anyone can be hired as a branch manager, no skill required which could put advisors in the Stifel branch at risk of less than par business practices.

    Continue reading
    Stifel Financial2017-10-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stifel Financial part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stifel pays a fair wage

    Cons

    Upper Management could use improvement

    Stifel Financial2017-08-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Research Analyst, Good Experience At Stifel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. Good people culture, not nearly the back stabbing me me me culture in alot of wall street capital markets groups. 2. In research, guidance from the top but alot of opportunity to build your own franchise your way. Great opportunity for aggressive analysts. 3. Unlike some capital market firms, research seems to really be seen as an asset to drive other businesses and not just a cost center. This favors more experienced analysts vs replacing experienced (and more expensive) with young new analysts. 4. Historically management has made solid decisions and have been very good people.

    Cons

    1. Not a knock on Stifel, but the industry is going downhill. Technology has driven substantial cuts in fund and industry fees and made information much more easily obtainable. Webcasts of most company presentations, reg FD requirements further dilute the analyst value. Funds (payers for research) have much less to pay firms like Stifel than even 5 years ago, forcing cost reductions and pay cuts at firms like Stifel. There will always be a role for smart, value adding analysts in the industry, but the best days are over for sure. 2. Benefits are weak, 401k match is a joke.

    Continue reading
    Stifel Financial2017-08-08
  10. "A good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Stifel Financial full-time

    Pros

    Stifel is a small, but growing community. You have a lot of people that are willing to help you learn if you are willing to put in the effort.

    Cons

    The work is not super challenging in the home-office. If you are looking for interesting work - this may not be the place for you.

    Stifel Financial2017-06-25
Found 26 reviews