Stimson Lumber Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Stimson Lumber Company Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Andrew W. Miller
13 Ratings
  1. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has a lot of really good people who work well as a team. The company puts a lot of effort into supporting your development.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover at the entry level. Folks want instant gratification but need to learn the mill from the bottom up. There's lots of opportunity if they would be a little patient.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the path your on. Safety, preventive maintenance, job opportunities and training.

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-04-06
  2. "Stimson is reducing their staff due to competition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tally in Forest Grove, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, and people.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime is a downside and the pace causes people to work unsafe at times.

    Stimson Lumber Company2019-06-03
  3. "Safety environmental quality production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Boiler Operator in Gaston, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work, very safe as far as awareness training and knowledge training. Good opportunity for growth with patience. Good benefits (health care, hsa, eye, dental, 401k). Lots of overtime potential. Good crews.

    Cons

    The sales pitch of being a family business doesn’t feel genuine. It’s production based. Mandatory overtime to meet production numbers. Overly sensitive, lots of red tape and lots of politics. High turn overrate. Raises come slowly 3% yearly, advice : keep applying for new positions within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees. Don’t make press conference style announcements. Have group meetings beyond safety meetings. Focus on moral and get people excited and proud to do our work.

    Stimson Lumber Company2019-05-17
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stimson Lumber Company full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good hours, over time is easy to come by

    Cons

    Not very much room to move up (have to wait for people to retire or leave, which not a lot of people do)

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-11-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stimson Lumber Company full-time

    Pros

    Benefits is about all that are good

    Cons

    CFO,COO micro manager, do not expect to move up unless you have a CPA degree. Lower group of people at Corp not treated with respect.

    Advice to Management

    Stop always looking after the board, company makes plenty of money, treat corp. employees with respect - that's ALL of them

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-11-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "they don't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stimson Lumber Company full-time

    Pros

    okay benefits. I like the money for doing healthy stuff.

    Cons

    They really don't pay enough and the annual raises are really tiny. a lot of people leave for better pay.

    Advice to Management

    pay your employees better

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-10-19
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Stimson Lumber Company full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay that's pretty much it

    Cons

    Poor Management all around in every store

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-08-16
  8. "boiler/kiln operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boiler/Kiln Operator in Priest River, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    when I started there in 2012 it was a tight knit experienced group of workers that I really enjoyed working with

    Cons

    they have a tendency to sell the good hog fuel and send the boiler the mud from the log yard

    Advice to Management

    you are ruining that new boiler I helped install

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-02-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Look else where"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright in Saint Maries, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some of the people I worked with

    Cons

    some of the people I worked with, Supervisors and managers

    Advice to Management

    Do not pretend to care about the safety of employees in your meetings and then turn around and threaten their jobs for not wanting to do something unsafe. Quit lying to your employees and treat them with a little respect!

    Stimson Lumber Company2018-02-27

    Stimson Lumber Company Response

    March 21, 2018Stimson Lumber Company

    Thank you for sharing your concerns with Stimson. The safety of our employees is the highest priority for our organization. As a rule, no employee is asked to do a job that would risk their safety and employees are encouraged to notify management immediately if they find themselves ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker II in Gaston, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stimson Lumber Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers(best i've had), extremely safety oriented, decent starting pay

    Cons

    Can get quite cold in the winter and hot in the summer. Work can be pretty physical.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Stimson Lumber Company2017-06-15
Found 27 reviews