Stinson Morrison Hecker Reviews | Glassdoor

Stinson Morrison Hecker Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mark S. Foster
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker

    Pros

    Great environment to work in and friendly management.

    Cons

    There weren't any cons working here.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to the management

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2016-03-29
  2. "Not a staff friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you want just a job and are not looking for anything else you might be okay.

    Cons

    Management has no clue what is going on with their staff. Staff reports directly to HR which is a conflict of interest. So staff do not have any support in any way. HR people do not know the legal field so they keep making changes that create more work for the staff. HR does not understand that the staff have spent years learning their particular field of expertise just like an attorney.

    Advice to Management

    Replace all your HR staff with qualified, experienced personnel with a legal firm background. Staff should report to their direct managers (timekeepers) and HR should be where staff goes for help and support and mediation and, of course, to facilitate hiring.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2017-09-12
  3. "Document Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Great Benefits. Modern stylish offices. Dedication to technology. Most team members were friendly and easy to work with. Always willing to back each other up and provide support.

    Cons

    Not a con specifically, but be aware that it is a large law firm and as such you have to understand and be on board with large law firm culture. This can be an advantage or disadvantage depending on your personality and mindset.

    Advice to Management

    Consider offering education and growth opportunities for the staff that is outside of their day-to-day positions for those who wish to partake. This would help all staff understand the roles of other departments and how they play into the bigger picture of a large law firm's client services.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2016-09-07
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker

    Pros

    Good people and top-notch legal work

    Cons

    Work expectations were unreasonable Low pay compared to other firms

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2016-08-30
  5. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Help Tesr in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers very nice and pleasant. Management steps in and helps on tasks at times. Shows they're not too good to do jobs.

    Cons

    It is frustrating when attorneys mobile devices get locked out and they have trouble resetting their password.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2016-05-18
  6. "Hard Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant to Chief Financial Officer, CIO, CMO in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a well respected law firm.

    Cons

    The law firm culture caters to lawyers as gods. Secretaries are seen and not heard. Like the dark ages.

    Advice to Management

    Increase quality of jobs there if employees are treated like people. Give employees option to evaluate superiors.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2015-08-10
  7. "Good company with good core group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for, they treat their employees well. Salaries aren't great.

    Cons

    Too many individuals that don't have enough to do.

    Advice to Management

    Cut back on those positions that aren't needed to keep costs down.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2014-08-05
  8. "Its a great company if you don't want advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    small raises every year; free monthly Staff lunches

    Cons

    No work life balance or paid maternity leave unless you're an Attorney

    Advice to Management

    Let the HR Department do their jobs, they are there for a reason; and, stop letting the Partners make all the decisions...care more about your Staff

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2013-10-21
  9. "Excellent regional firm with national reach."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time

    Pros

    Work with skilled lawyers servicing sophisticated clients.

    Cons

    Multiple offices can make it difficult to have a steady flow of work within your practice area.

    Stinson Morrison Hecker2013-09-04
  10. "Too many issues being ignored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stinson Morrison Hecker full-time

    Pros

    1. The staff and attorneys in general are all very nice. I worked at Stinson for more than 10 years and built some great friendships. 2. Some departments, like Accounting, were good at encouraging staff development and training. 3. The IT department provides great in-house training for staff and attorneys. I learned a lot from them over the years. 4. Nice environment.The interior spaces are being renovated even...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. My former boss was very caring in wanted her staff to succeed, grow, etc. My latest boss was more concerned with making himself look good and lost sight of the need for professional growth among our team. He encouraged professional development, but he didn't give you time to do it. Plus, he actually asked a staff person why she was even bothering with getting her MBA because he wasn't going to promote her. Very rude...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The overall firm management is fine. I had no issues with them. My problem was with our hiring managers and some C-Suite execs. There were certain execs that only worked a few days a week while their small staff handled the majority of their work. Those staff eventually burned out and left. Even some of the new staff hires have recently left after figuring out what's going on. Firm Management needs to stop this from happening...

    Show More
    Stinson Morrison Hecker2013-08-28
Found 12 reviews