KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Stitch Fix

Engaged Employer

Stitch Fix

Add a Review

Stitch Fix Employee Reviews about "stylists"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 of over 1K reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Stitch Fix Founder & CEO Katrina Lake
Katrina Lake
729 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home or at a coffee shop(in 218 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, great pay, fun job(in 99 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company-wide closure for national holidays does not include part-time stylists(in 154 reviews)

  • "Minimal benefits for part-time employees(in 63 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Stitch Fix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "stylists"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful place to work!

      Jul 1, 2020 - Stylist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a fulfilling career with creative freedom and a great work life balance.

      Cons

      There are not currently opportunities for a full-time position for a stylist unless you want to become a lead.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Paid the bills - barely.

      Dec 13, 2020 - Stylist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, can be fun, met some nice people.

      Cons

      Communication between stylists and upper management was shut down after complaints about work hours saturated the feed. Styling software is constantly being altered, causing slow styling, confusion, and lots of glitches that impact stylists negatively while speed and quality metrics remain rigid. Inventory DOES NOT match the marketing Stitch Fix advertises with, which is frustrating to stylists and clients. Plus and Petite sizing is incredibly limited in color, pattern, shape, style, and price, which is a shame because we have tons of interested clients that don't stay long.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good direct management, poor upper leadership

      Jun 2, 2020 - Senior Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Caring direct management

      Cons

      No inventory; I've been here for 5 years and have seen the same inventory over and over. Occasionally there are 1-2 weeks in each season where we actually have some new and exciting pieces though they are often saved for influencers or people who are creating content for Stitch Fix so often you don't even see those as a stylist. HQ obviously is so far removed from the expectations that they place on their Stylists, though they claim to not be because they also style even though it's a very minimal amount of Fixes. It's why I believe they are letting go of all of their CA stylists. We have seen so much up and down and they can pay Stylists less in other states and start people at absurd expectations instead of having to be "transparent" and "meet the needs of the business" by running their stylists dry. Fluctuating hours; you really aren't guaranteed any hours and they update you the week before No career opportunities or advancement opportunities.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Stylist part time

      Dec 16, 2020 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work remotely and set your own hours (when the system works properly). Easy to fit in around another full time job

      Cons

      This company is a mess. They constantly have errors preventing stylists from pulling fixes. This week (the 3rd week in a row they’ve had these errors constantly) they said that if you are unable to pull fixes that you just have to log out after 1.5 hours of non styling time for the whole week. Meaning you aren’t getting paid for your 15 hours due to errors inside the company that are not stylists fault. You only get 2 weeks of UNPAID time off per year and there’s no benefits for part time.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wear Your Rose Colored Glasses

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, kind and accessible leadership, no experience required

      Cons

      Company-wide closure for national holidays does not include part-time stylists. Must work day of with limited resources and use UPTO, or add hours to a different day. Transparency is appreciated, but must be discussed in appropriate company “language”. Indirect pressure to exude positivity and perfectionism.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good, but a mess right now

      Jun 5, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun industry, interesting work, discount on clothing

      Cons

      Disarray, right now. No money to pay hurting employees during covid, laying off 25% of stylists this year, but loads of money to give to special causes that are not employee related. Mixed messages about culture - ask you to express opinions but they are severely limited to specific opinions - which is ok at work, but difficult when we are told to support causes that threaten our safety and well being.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Unethical and Cruel Upper Management

      Jun 7, 2020 - Senior Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fully remote Semi-flexible schedule Good discount Fabulous local leadership and mentoring

      Cons

      Almost 5 years as a stylist and was tossed out like yesterday’s garbage along with 1400 of my fellow CA stylists and styling leaders IN THE MIDDLE OF A PANDEMIC! This decision, we were told, IS NOT DUE TO COVID.... in fact, they’ve been working on it for a year. This company started in CA and the longest standing stylists in the company were all just laid off because “it’s too expensive”. The jobs aren’t being eliminated, just moved to cheaper regions. Very clear stylists are viewed as disposable. You are expected to meet certain performance and sales metrics, yet the inventory is rarely available to do so. Seriously, we’ve been asking for tunics (seriously, a basic in many wardrobes) for as long as I have been here. The local level has wonderful leaders and works really hard to build a community, even in a remote job. Don’t fool yourself, management runs their mouths about how much they care and are an inclusive company....mean girls club who will stab you in the back.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pretty solid place to work

      Jan 1, 2021 - Part Time Stylist in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Stylist Role offers great flexibility and autonomy. It pays relatively well and is truly fun work!

      Cons

      The company is growing quickly and the growing pains are palpable. Poor communication can sometimes impact your week in an unforeseen way.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Flexibility W/out Much Else

      Jan 15, 2021 - Senior Stylist in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Job Flexibility -40% Clothing Discount -Wonderful Leads and Fellow Stylists

      Cons

      -Extremely limited upward mobility -Zero raises after the first year -The CEO never commented or spoke to the 1,000+ California stylists laid off during Covid -Management talks the talk w/ great core values and the importance of stylist "feedback" but I never saw these values or changes implemented -Difficult to work with inconsistent inventory especially if you cannot work during prime inventory hours (mornings on weekdays)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Do not work here; do not shop here.

      Jan 11, 2021 - Stylist in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work, when available Flexible hours when inventory permits When I joined Stitch Fix in September of 2019, the above two items were true along with other enjoyable pluses. I'm a contract worker, so a flexible part-time schedule at a 15 hr/wk minimum was great for filling between dry spells of work. However, the company has pulled a complete 180 in the last year. We rarely have work (see Cons), and when we do, inventory is only acceptable for a few hours a day. Flexibility is no longer an option if I want to meet my very stringent metric.

      Cons

      Systems constantly shut down Limited hours Hours are cut without warning or explanation Unclear communication from management No incentive to excel Tenured & high-performing stylists do not receive extra rewards for work No transparency or ability to communicate with upper management Put simply, this is a bad place to work. The work itself is already fast-paced and tough, and without the proper resources, it is draining. We are expected to style a client in 12 minutes regardless of inventory conditions or technical issues. If the styling platform is down, employees are not compensated for their time but are rather asked to move their hours to the company's convenience. Hours can be cut below the 15 hr/wk minimum with no explanation, and because our HR does not handle scheduling, there is nobody we can reach out to. Management on all levels is unresponsive and unhelpful. It is unclear if these cuts to hours qualify us for PUA, which seems like an intentional move from corporate to avoid paying unemployment. Communication from management, when it does come, is infantilizing and dismissive. Stylists are told to "think creatively" and use their "#stitchfixgrit" to get their Fixes done. Hours are not prioritized, and the overall tone is that we are seen as wine moms doing this job for the employee discount and not actual workers who rely on this paycheck. Tenured and high-performing stylists do not receive higher compensation for their work, nor are their hours prioritized. I have a backlog of about 100 relationship clients that I am not permitted to style due to hour maximums. For my performance, I'm saddled with new and extra responsibilities with no change in pay and no extra support. Bonus knocks: they laid off all of their California stylists during the pandemic. Despite company-wide cuts to working hours, they're still hiring? It's bizarre, and frankly, insulting. Do not work here and do not shop here.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 174 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stitch Fix Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stitch Fix? Share Your Experiences

    or