KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Stitch Fix

Engaged Employer

Stitch Fix

Add a Review

Stitch Fix Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 339 of over 1,942 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Stitch Fix CEO Elizabeth Spaulding
Elizabeth Spaulding
170 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Stitch Fix and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Micro-managed / no inventory / horrible management

    Mar 10, 2020 - Stylist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work from home and make your own hours but it isn’t as flexible as you’d think

    Cons

    Never enough inventory to style correctly, expect inspired notes without inventory, expect you to work quickly without inventory. Management is under trained and clueless. They send cookie cutter emails that are always critical, even if you have excellent metrics and are always micromanaging

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Wardrobe Stylist

    Feb 21, 2016 - Wardrobe Stylist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hours are flexible and working from home is great!

    Cons

    There isn't much room for growth from the stylist position.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Deceptive leadership

    Aug 4, 2021 - Senior Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work from home position that allows you to work from your own home office.

    Cons

    There is zero job security here. They will never guarantee how much you will actually work. They will never tell you what you can actually work in a given week until just 2 days prior, yet you're expected to carve out a minimum of 20 hours a week for scheduled shifts that you may or may not get to keep. You no longer get to work a flexible schedule like we have for years (the perk of the job that's now gone) and all work must be done in set scheduled shifts. They gave the majority of their employees just 8 days notice to accept this major change or resign. If you choose to stay they will not even allow you to review the official new employee handbook and attendance policy until 5 days after you choose to leave or stay. As a result, you cannot even confidently make an appropriate life changing decision. Most of the upper management has had a high turnover rate over the last year including CEO change. The employees are spending large portions of the week doing things that appear to just be training algorithms that will replace the majority of us so even if we stay there is no guarantee for how long. They offered an exit pay but with no guarantee if you'll get it because there is an undisclosed cap on it. Now it will be a competition to quit first. Upper management dealt with these changes with tone deaf, insensitive, and conceited emails and video regional calls talking about themselves and how awesome they think they are and dismissing any real and valid questions by ignoring or saying "oh more to come." There is never room for actual growth for the majority of employees, especially since both lower management and upper management act like a non-professional sorority. Employees who have worked for the company for years as consistent high performing employees are taken advantage of and undervalued and have watched the once positive work ethos crumble. Lower management should be concerned because if they're really letting go of so many stylists there will be no reason to keep as many people in lower management positions anymore.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Remote stylist

    Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I think the pay is very good for a pet time job. We get sick time and 10 days unpaid vacation. It is a great option to work from home and you make your own schedule.

    Cons

    A year ago, even 8 months ago I would have given my position 5 stars as well as the other options for how i felt about this company. Unfortunately it seems the company is more concerned with expanding then it is with keeping sufficient inventory. They have raised the metric standards and expect it to be met even when it is impossible to style a great or even semi decent assortment. I also think senior stylists and new stylists should not be so close in pay. A new stylist coming in is just 1.00 less then someone year 1,2,3 or even 4 years! This position used to be more flexible, it is becoming less and less when we are unable to actually login and work!!! It’s a searching game, a logging in and out game, a trying to beat everyone to the punch to get that one piece. The communication used to be great, now it feels like lip service. If you don’t appreciate your long time employees..sure you can hire new people but it seems you would want to keep your seasoned employees who work on special projects, teams, and actually style well!

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Seems Glamorous, but It's NOT!

    Nov 6, 2017 - Remote Stylist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work from home and you get an okay discount and paid to style your own Fixes! Not really any other perks.

    Cons

    Management doesn't have a clue on how to run a company. Inventory issues are constant and much of the inventory has been the same for 4+ years. (YIKES!) The clothing is overpriced and poor quality for average items and the expectations for stylists are EXTREMELY unreasonable. On top of that they don't really tell you what they are besides showing you a dot on a graph with no indication of what the dot means. You're expected to style 4.25 Fixes + write an 800+ character note an hour and only get 1 hour of "non-style time" to check email (@ 15-20 lengthy msgs/week), read all client feedback (x 60 Fixes/week), conduct training, fill out surveys, connect with peers, and do anything else related to your job each week.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company is nothing that it was created for.

    Aug 4, 2021 - Senior Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro to this job is that it’s an easy field to get in and you work from home. That’s it. The benefits for full time are good but they’ve taken it off the table for part time stylists to apply to it for the future.

    Cons

    Toxic positivity. Any issues or complaints are silenced and told to not cause waves instead of working on solutions. Flexibility has been removed from the position making it impossible to use as a secondary job but they also don’t guarantee enough hours to make it a primary job unless you got a full time role (which they’ve taken off the table for future stylists for the time being again.) The “algorithms” are extremely flawed and all tech breaks and has issues almost daily making it nearly impossible to get a solid schedule like they’re requiring. It’s impossible to plan ahead. They want you to fill your schedule in advance but don’t release the actual hours until Friday for the week that begins the immediate Sunday following, only giving two days of notice on whether you’re even going to have decent hours or not. Inventory is the same year over year in new colors. They don’t take actual trends into account and just stick to “best sellers” that are best sellers because we bought too many and have to send them to everyone. There’s no upward mobility. They’ve hired more and more from outside sources so they don’t sympathize with “lowly” stylists. We’re watching upper management rotate more than tires.

    Continue reading
    27 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great PT work

    Apr 11, 2017 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, encouraging management, learning tools and opportunities

    Cons

    It takes a good amount of self discipline to work from home and stay on task

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not the company they used to be

    Aug 10, 2021 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice to be able to work from home and the hours worked used to be flexible which made a nice work/family balance achievable.

    Cons

    Inventory always seems to be a challenge. Management isn't as transparent as they would like employees to think. Offering constructive criticism is discouraged and is viewed as negative rather than honesty.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Part Time Job

    Jan 1, 2017 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexibility - They give you sick time - Employee Discount - Training is Awesome - Pay is Good - Young company so opportunity for growth I have been working for the company for about 6 months and I truly enjoy it. I have never worked part-time for any company and received sick time. The pay is good for part time so not sure where people get the pay is low if you went to work at a retail store it would be $10 an hour or less. I am an educator and being able to work from home is perfect plus allows me to pursue my second love of fashion. This is a fantastic company and there is opportunity for advancement but you might have to move to a location to receive if you work remotely from home. Best part time job ever!

    Cons

    The only downside is with a new company are the challenges of being successful so quickly like when inventory gets low and it is hard to style clients. That is actually a good thing because it shows growth and this company is here to stay!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Boring and uninspiring

    Oct 1, 2018 - Senior Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home and I can create my own schedule but must work 15hours min.

    Cons

    Never ending inventory issues and trying to keep your stats up. Terrible leadership from leads who don't know how to motivate, inspire or build relationships with stylists. Stitch Fix recently cut down the amount of time sick time you can earn per pay period. This is one of the only "benefits" you get as a part-time remote stylist. No incentives to work harder, no pay increases after your 1year anniversary instead you earn a Senior Stylist title. They are quick to point out where you fall short but there's no acknowledgment from the company when you're constantly meeting and going beyond your numbers. You're easily replaceable. You will feel uninspired if you stay too long. The novelty wears off after a year.

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 339 Reviews

Popular Careers with Stitch Fix Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Stitch Fix? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Stitch Fix

22 days ago

Company News
We’re honored to be selected as a finalist for the Glossy Fashion Awards in the Most Inclusive Brand category. We create products and lines that are inclusive to all our clients at Stitch Fix: from harnessing our wealth of data and feedback to create Plus Size lines – and sharing it to help other brands do the same – to creating Elevate, a grant program to support and mentor designers of color. Read more about the Fashion Awards here: https://lnkd.in/gp7z_rvW and learn about our Elevate program here: https://lnkd.in/g4P-gWEX
Shared image - Skims and ThredUp are 2022 Glossy Fashion Award finalists
Skims and ThredUp are 2022 Glossy Fashion Award finalists
lnkd.in
Logo

Stitch Fix

28 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
As we continue to advance our social impact mission centered around equity and sustainability, we are excited to partner with Philadelphia-based artist Kah Yangni (they/them) to launch a size-inclusive Pride T-shirt in our Mohnton Made line, made more sustainably using upcycled cotton and recycled polyester. All proceeds from the T-shirt will be donated to The Venture Out Project, a non-profit dedicated to creating inclusive spaces for the LGBTQ+ community to enjoy the beauty and fun of the outdoors together. Driven to make art that focuses on radical optimism, illustrator and muralist Kah Yangni creates heartfelt work about justice, queerness and joy. Their piece, “We are Universal,” marked Philadelphia’s first public mural celebrating transgender individuals, and their poster work lives in the permanent collection of the Philidelphia Museum of Art. Kah’s graphic T-shirt designed for this limited-edition launch is part of our exclusive brand Mohnton Made, a line of modern essentials that is knit, cut and sewn locally in Mohnton, Pennsylvania.
Shared image - We're Launching a Limited-Edition Pride T-shirt in Support of Equity & Sustainability - Stitch Fix Newsroom
We're Launching a Limited-Edition Pride T-shirt in Support of Equity & Sustainability - Stitch Fix Newsroom
newsroom.stitchfix.com
See all

Stitch Fix Photos

+ Add Photo
Stitch Fix photo of: Life at the Breezy- Atlanta Warehouse
Stitch Fix photo of: Our Offices
Stitch Fix photo of: Game Time!
Stitch Fix photo of: Workspaces and Meeting Places
Stitch Fix photo of: Office Space
Stitch Fix photo of: Eat up!
Stitch Fix photo of: Meeting? No Problem!
See All Photos