KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Stockton Mortgage

Engaged Employer

Stockton Mortgage

Add a Review

Stockton Mortgage Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 47 reviews

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Stockton Mortgage President David Stockton
David Stockton
37 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Forward thinking owner, good operations support, accessible management, many product options(in 5 reviews)
  • "Good pay and benefits.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Employees are good people . . .(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "When I asked about annual review, alone, the manager laughed and I was given a very negative response that the owner delivers all reviews, and that they themselves had not had a review in several years.(in 2 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Environment to Grow

    Oct 5, 2021 - Mortgage Underwriter in Hartford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Genuinely cares for employees, generous 401K match, great benefits, great PTO, opportunity to earn substantial amounts of money via bonuses offered for production and audits.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Environment for Failure

    Jan 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some positions have the ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    I started with optimism and the company did not deliver. There are no job aides, proper checklists or guidelines. It’s a sink or swim kind of environment with subpar training. You will not receive feedback unless you ask for it and when you do not perform well, you are not coached. The company will not value you or your abilities. When you interview, you are sold the opportunity of advancement and phenomenal annual increases. When I asked about annual review, alone, the manager laughed and I was given a very negative response that the owner delivers all reviews, and that they themselves had not had a review in several years. According to the manager the owner was very harsh with his reviews and you do not want to get a review from the owner. In addition, there is too much room for error with the LOS they use and in the capacity in which they use it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not what it was cracked up to be

    Feb 20, 2022 - Loan Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401k match 12 million in closing and they pay for part of your flight and hotel to a 4 day trip.

    Cons

    Rates lower than competitors, especially government loans. Very minimal training. Sink or swim. Manager is never there and closes door to work on his own loans. Charge fee for marketing that is just marketing for company and does nothing for you. Pay is lower than competitors with better rates. Processors are overworked and you end of having to do their work. Takes them days to submit a file for you. Underwriting is the worst and you will not close on a lot of your loans.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mortgage position review

    Feb 28, 2022 - Mortgage Banking Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work offered flexibility and no commute time.

    Cons

    Mortgage refinances declined and was let go.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Genuine, Real, Transparent

    Aug 2, 2021 - Producing Branch Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Transparency from the top is important - Ability to grow and support is important and that is encouraged and offered - Rates are competitive, as our products, and the adaptability to new products - The people at the top care for you to grow - From what they promise you to what they deliver its pretty spot on. Been a few places that have sub-prime mortgage hangovers, this is not one. - More of a family culture than you get from corporate level at other places.

    Cons

    Time will tell but at the moment no cons, the company is growing fast in retail, so its possible bottlenecks may ensue, but really they do a good job of getting ahead of the curve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Aug 26, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, good environment to grow in

    Cons

    No benefits offered through employer

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Friendly work environment

    Oct 28, 2021 - Stem Teacher in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment and friendly co workers

    Cons

    competitive market and frequent turnover in certain positions

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Stockton Mortgage Response

    Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for the positive review! It looks like your position is not one that we offer. Perhaps it was entered incorrectly? Either way, we agree wholeheartedly and are doing our best to combat the competitive market which results in turnover.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Forward thinking, family atmosphere

    Nov 19, 2020 - Graphic Designer in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely one of the most forward thinking companies I have worked with in my career, without losing the charms of being a family owned local business. In saying that, I started with the company remote, during a pandemic with 3 young kids at home doing NTI coursework - with all the support and blessings the company can relay. The management and peers on my team have been forthcoming with needs, expectations and goals - not only for the company but for the team - and how I can and am expected to contribute to those outcomes. New ideas are welcome, and critical thinking combined with independent work are a healthy part of the day. These are hallmarks of the steps to success as an individual and an organization for years to come.

    Cons

    No cons to my position to date.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 19, 2020 - Project Manager in Frankfort, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leading edge, versatile, driven. If you're a star, Stockton Mortgage is a place you can shine. Team work is cherished here and everyone works hard, together. When COVID hit, Stockton Mortgage already had the infrastructure in place to allow business to continue without endangering it's workforce, which is something that wouldn't have been the case at any of my previous work places. Leadership here is great and I am glad to be onboard with this group of professionals.

    Cons

    None that stand out to me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great environment

    Jan 19, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Processor in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has shown such amazing working environment, respect and gratefulness which is so unusual in this industry.

    Cons

    Have not encountered a bad thing as of yet.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Stockton Mortgage Reviews FAQs

Stockton Mortgage has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 47 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Stockton Mortgage to a friend and 86% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Stockton Mortgage employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Stockton Mortgage. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

85% of Stockton Mortgage employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Stockton Mortgage 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Stockton Mortgage to be culture, management, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development.

Popular Careers with Stockton Mortgage Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Stockton Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

or

Stockton Mortgage Photos

+ Add Photo
Stockton Mortgage photo of: David Stockton having fun at the annual Stockton Awards Luncheon
Stockton Mortgage photo of: Stockton Keeneland Day 2019
Stockton Mortgage photo of: You take a picture when you have the best coworker who buys all the ladies in the office matching mugs!
Stockton Mortgage photo of: Justin trying out the new, swanky, blue chair in the lobby!
Stockton Mortgage photo of: Getting ready to welcome our newest Mortgage Banker!
Stockton Mortgage photo of: Successful Lunch & Learn hosted by our Louisville, KY office!
Stockton Mortgage photo of: Group dinner on the annual President's Circle Trip (2019)
See All Photos