Stone Belt Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Stone Belt CEO Leslie Green (no image)
Leslie Green
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stone Belt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Feel like part of winning team.

    Cons

    Not enough open hours for the time frame I needed.

    Continue reading

    Stone Belt Response

    June 17, 2019Recruitment Specialist

    Thanks so much for your feedback! We always appreciate hearing from our employees, current and former.

  2. "work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - DSP in Bloomington, IN

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time

    Pros

    It is not too hard.

    Cons

    They make me work a lot.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay + stressful workload"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Bloomington, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stone Belt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with staff who go through a lot and continue to help.

    Cons

    Way too stressful. U get low pay. Did I mention stress? Never enuff workers.

    Continue reading

    Stone Belt Response

    December 12, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Although we are sorry to hear about your experience, we appreciate the feedback. We totally agree that DSPs should be paid more - and that's why we advocate every single day for the external forces that control our budget to increase funding for providers like Stone Belt. We have increased our pay rates several times just within the last three years, but we are heavily reliant upon government funding to provide these services. Unfortunately not enough money is provided for us to increase our wages to the place we'd all like to see them. That is why we also try to get very creative with our benefits offerings, to provide savings in other important areas of our employees' lives. For instance, we recently started a program to allow staff to transfer their cell phone service and phone number to our Verizon account, and receive a substantial discount on unlimited data cell phone service! Again, we appreciate your comment. We know our staff work hard, and that they deserve higher pay. We will continue to work tirelessly to make Stone Belt a top-quality employer, and hope to see you back someday!

  4. "Meaningful, but lots of paperwork"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Employment Consultant 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with clients was really good. You can truly bond with individuals and make a difference. You get to do a lot and you get a lot of freedom. You need to be self-motivated and wear a lot of hats.

    Cons

    There can be frustrating and difficult clients. Not enough training for the duties of a job coach. Lots of emphasis on maximizing billing, which means some useful activities don't happen because they aren't billable. Some extremely weird coworkers who are immune to any repercussions for irritating, inappropriate behavior.

    Continue reading

    Stone Belt Response

    October 8, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your honest feedback! We are always looking at ways to make Stone Belt the best place to work, as well as the best place to support our clients. Your feedback will be shared with leadership so we can continue to improve!

  5. "Pretty good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Support Professional in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are willing to work with you no matter your circumstances.

    Cons

    Management needs to work on their accountability.

    Continue reading

    Stone Belt Response

    October 1, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your comments! We value hearing from our team, and are always looking for ways to make this the best place to work. Your advice is helpful!

  6. "Mixed bag"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Service Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s honestly such a pleasure working for a non-for-profit after working for private companies. It’s very apparent that Stone Belt prioritizes the well-being of clients and ensuring they are being taken care of properly and enjoy themselves. Most of the shifts are just spending time with them, which makes the work seem informal and breezy. The clientele is amazing. I love all of my clients and I enjoy seeing them when I come into work. The work is not very difficult, if you enjoy social work and unpredictability. I know this is not a plus for everyone, but I love the chaos of a full house of clients at dinner! Helping clients clean themselves and doing house cleaning chores are not too bad and only a small part of the day all in all. Lifts are available for those who can’t physically pick someone up on their own. Pay is decent, and benefits are available at only 32 hours a week. Plenty of hours are available. It’s easy to move up as long as you’ve worked for a few months and show interest in open positions. Changing positions, changing houses and clients, and changing schedules is very doable. Flexibility is a major plus for me.

    Cons

    A lot of the cons end up being the fault of our market economy and not so much the fault of this particular company. Stone Belt is, after all, a non-for-profit, and gets most of its budget from the state and donations. The biggest problem overall is the lack of good staff. Most of the staff is alright, a few are truly great, and many are really awful. I’ve seen some genuinely terrible people get moved up to management positions just because nobody else could take the gig. The amount of people that get hired and leave within the first month or so is staggering. Because the free market incentivizes people to work as little as possible because they’re only there for a paycheck, a LOT of the staff is really lazy. Expect to do a lot of work while other staff look at their phones. Expect people to constantly be late without calling. Expect to have staff leave early to avoid helping for activities, cleaning up, etc. The “training” you go through is incredibly useless. The mostly arbitrary rules and guidelines imposed by the state are good ideas in practice but unhelpful at work. Most staff skirt around them. And the rules imposed by the company itself are laughably unenforced. Staff will talk about personal and client information as if clients cannot hear them or understand them. Another key aspect lacking in this business is ableism- something the company *should* care about, but isn’t reflected in what I see clocked in. Staff are not penalized for being rude to clients, and many of the rules regarding client living is condescending and demeaning. This reflects in a poor attitude among the staff regarding clients.

    Continue reading

    Stone Belt Response

    October 1, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thanks so much for your comments. We really do appreciate getting insights from those that have worked with us. Your comments have been shared with Stone Belt leadership for consideration!

  7. "good time, hard work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Direct Support Professional 

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time

    Pros

    rewarding mental work and pay

    Cons

    very hard hours and labor required

    Stone Belt Response

    October 1, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thanks a lot for leaving your comments! We strive to learn and improve from the feedback we get, so it is greatly appreciated that you took time of your day to do this!

  8. "Difficult, but good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stone Belt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good coworkers, rewarding work. Upward mobility.

    Cons

    Management doesn't leave you alone, constant turn over

    Continue reading
  9. "Best Job Ever"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stone Belt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stone Belt is a company that lives its mission to prepare, empower and support individuals with disabilities to fully participate in the life of their community. I come to work knowing that I can contribute to something positive everyday. There is room for upward mobility in this company. Most of the top level staff started as Direct Support Professionals and moved up to their current positions. Those who are interested in upward mobility will have opportunities to do so if they are willing to work hard and learn new skills.

    Cons

    Pay. Staffing issues that plague the field of disability services in general. However, I feel like Stone Belt is doing all it can through advocacy and retention efforts to make this better.

  10. "Overall great company, but they can sometimes ask a lot of their DSPs."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stone Belt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will work with your schedule if you're in school. Includes mileage reimbursement, and good comprehensive training.

    Cons

    If a coworker bails when your shift ends, and their's begins you may have to stay longer or even overnight.

    Stone Belt Response

    June 17, 2019Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you so much for providing this feedback. We really appreciate hearing from our team members. It helps us to know what is working, and what needs work!

Found 28 reviews