StoneMor Reviews | Glassdoor

StoneMor Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 282 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
StoneMor CEO Joe Redling
Joe Redling
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This company is inconsistent, very unstable & upper management don't have a clue how to run a business(in 29 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage-expects sales to visit all funerals to obtain leads(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Penn Pitt, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to earn what you are worth and have a six figure $$ income. Management gives you the resources to succeed, and creates a lot of incentives. Good life / work balance.

    Cons

    Cant think of any to complain about, except an occasional work in the evening.

    Advice to Management

    Have a Presidents Club, and other types of recognition.

    StoneMor2019-05-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Selfish Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StoneMor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping grieving families. That’s it.

    Cons

    Bad management. Office flooded because of broken air conditioner. General manager did nothing to fix the dripping for about 2 weeks. It started to smell like mold. General manager did nothing to fix the soaked office for another 2 weeks. Sent in a carpet cleaning company instead of replacing the carpet, leaving moldy carpet still in the building and exposing employees to mold. Mausoleum smelled terrible and general manager...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the care of the families and the care of the grounds over pushing sales, and maybe more people would consider wanting to be buried in your parks. No one wants to be buried in a park that they see isn’t very well taken care of for cared about while they are alive.

    StoneMor2019-06-15
  3. "Can some please help us?? PLEASE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping families. Great people working in the cemeteries unfortunately everyone is so short handed and stressed out.

    Cons

    The Midwest management team has no experience in the industry. They have fired most home office staff, including the training department. Now training falls strictly on the location and some unrealistic training manual that is so ridiculous, it will be amazing if anyone stays. Thank god most managers aren’t following it. The CRM is horrible! Your required to use it tho. It takes time away from selling to close the thousands...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well, this is the only way you can communicate with this company. They won’t listen to anyone who asks a question or voices an opinion. Those people are seen as trouble makers and disrespectful. If you try talking to them, your told to deal with it or get out. You can’t voice any opinion or your blacklisted to be fired. That is what this company does to its "loyal" employees. You have a ZERO chance of being promoted...

    Show More
    StoneMor2019-06-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team at the cemetery. Helping families get through a rough time.

    Cons

    First, don't listen to the positive reviews because the corporate office told current employees to write them so their ratings would go up. I had an Area manager that supported me and my team. Now I have no support because none of the upper management has any experience in this business. They don't put any money to fixing up these cemeteries but they are always asking for more sales.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the managers that you let go so we feel supported. The old managers knew what to do and cared about the families.

    StoneMor2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StoneMor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and flexible with needing time off

    Cons

    Low pay and need to force people to make appointments. Pressure to get as many appointments as you can

    StoneMor2019-06-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Dont do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped commission..and helping families

    Cons

    Constant turnover. Weekends and sone Holidays

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people..make them feel valuable once you get them

    StoneMor2019-04-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Funeral/Cemetery Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Medford, OR
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Benefits, Regular workweek, helping grieving people with closure.

    Cons

    Corporate America at its best.

    Advice to Management

    Try to get in touch with the people in the field doing the sales, meeting with family's, what do we need for support and materials, what takes up a lot of our time?

    StoneMor2019-04-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Positive changes ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging and exciting environment Great co-workers and peers. Very supportive and caring Strong leadership

    Cons

    Communication could improve in some areas

    StoneMor2019-04-02
  9. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There use to be positive aspects about the company.

    Cons

    Revolving door of people who are not qualified.

    StoneMor2019-04-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worst management experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Service Counselor in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StoneMor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping people when they are grieving

    Cons

    Horrific management, no leadership, treat employees like dogs. Have no concern for the people that work so hard for them. Lie and tell you anything to get you to take job. Force you to work weekends but take days off during the week, when they are already short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    I like to think management cares about what employees say but they DO NOT. So filling out this portion is a waste of time.

    StoneMor2019-04-04
Found 282 reviews