KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

StoneMor

Engaged Employer

StoneMor

Add a Review

StoneMor Employee Reviews about "cemetery"

Updated Oct 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 485 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
StoneMor President and Chief Executive Officer Joe Redling
Joe Redling
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping families in difficult times(in 44 reviews)

  • "I feel that StoneMor truly cares about all of their employees(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's difficult to think of anything negative about my experience working at stonemor(in 42 reviews)

  • "Support from upper management still needed(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of StoneMor and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "cemetery"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wish I had found this job years ago !

      Aug 12, 2020 - Family Service Counselor in Bensalem, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding management team from my local office at Resurrection cemetery to the highest branch of the company the creative and lucrative incentives are unlike anything i have experienced in my 3 decades working at many places anywhere!

      Cons

      I'm hard pressed to legitimately come up with any cons here at Resurrection cemetery, stonemor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      All about cemetery sales

      Oct 7, 2021 - Funeral Director in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work with great families

      Cons

      They only care about cemetery sales. They do not follow funeral home state laws. Cemetery sales people run the funeral home and are not educated to do that. Cemetery sales more important than grieving families. Long hours low pay.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a good place to be

      May 8, 2021 - Funeral Director/Embalmer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The location is close to my home, and the pay is decent. The medical benefits are pretty good (for what passes as good anymore)

      Cons

      Management of all levels is generally clueless, but they make policies based on things they don't understand. This leaves the employees with a TON of paperwork to get through, policies to rigidly adopt without thought of good business practices, and a lot of complaints from families despite our best efforts. Equipment is old and never updated, the buildings fall apart and are never fixed, cemetery property roadways are simply not maintained.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.self_employ-former

      STONEMOR

      Apr 15, 2021 - Funeral Director/Embalmer in Concord, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They used to compensate their employees well and allowed us to care for our families.

      Cons

      Turnover due to commission based cemetery side.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Not Worth Your Time!! Worst Company Ever!!

      Feb 5, 2021 - Office Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are the only thing

      Cons

      Low pay for all the work that we do. Can't find employees so can't take anytime off especially if you want your work done. Insurance is ok but getting worse every year. Company has restructured several times over the last 2 years. Let over 100 administrators go that had been here for years so combined cemeteries and gave those admins double or triple the work with no more pay. I would give no stars if able to.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Keep Looking

      Oct 7, 2020 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pay and opportunity to work with families.

      Cons

      Company’s unstable financial standing, no loyalty from Upper Management, doesn’t put money back into cemeteries or funeral home, high turnover and used car sales mentality.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible company stay away don’t work for them or buy cemetery property

      Sep 21, 2020 - Family Sales Counselor in Woodbridge, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is no reason to work at Stonemor unless you like getting bullied and threatened daily and having you manage take you sales from you for them self.

      Cons

      This is the worst company in the USA. They think that bullying and threatening you that you will perform better. The mangers steal your sales for them self to get the commission and you can do anything about it. Corporate has no idea how management at the cemeteries treat their employees or even care. It all about the bottom line.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lost some of the best people in the Industry over petty H.R Issues

      Feb 11, 2020 - Management in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Long Hours, No Motivation, Terrible Upper Management

      Cons

      If you were connected to the right people you were going to advance no matter how bad you were, I averaged 122% over my three years in Florida and was let go along the best RVP , the best Manager of The Year, a telemarketer who brought in 600k in a year , and I was Area Director of the Year in the Southeast Region. I have over 26 years in this industry and was shocked at their house cleaning and hiring upper management people with no idea how to run a cemetery and funeral business. Our stock when I was there was 29 dollars a share, today 1.10 , soon it will be forced out of business, to few sales people, poor training, this coupled with sub par executive management

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ran by dinosaurs

      Dec 3, 2019 - Apprentice 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hourly, compared to salary when family owmed

      Cons

      They bought out the family run funeral homes I worked for. They promised they were not going to change anything, as they only buy successful businesses and want to be apart of the success. We had a discount cremation office that was the cheapest in the metro area. It wasn't a nice office by any means, but we handled volume. Average arrangement took 20-30 minutes per family. They old SCI management to reshape the business, as they said we were working twice as hard for the same profit as everyone else. They raised our cremation prices higher than our comparable competition and started charging $95 for the free plastic temp urn we received from the crematory. They did the same to our other facilities, causing call volume to drop over 90% as we lost hospice and hospital recommendations. They switched me to work 10 hours a week, as a result of lost call volume. I left, as did all the other staff from 4 facilites they acquired. They lost one of the funeral homes they bought and had to move crematory equipment they recently installed to the other side of the state. They are to fantasize about cemetery operations, when cremation rates are rapidly climbing, and cemetery sales decreasing. Bad management practices with no regard to employee moral.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      This job is HIGH STRESS !!!!!

      Dec 3, 2019 - Family Service Counselor in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping families. Great people working in the cemeteries unfortunately everyone is so short handed and stressed out.

      Cons

      This job is HIGH STRESS. You can definitely make six figures in a year, but you might as well cancel any and all activities outside of this job and allow your life to completely revolve around the cemetery. This is not verbalized, but definitely expected of this company. Seven day work weeks and over 40 hours per week as well as holidays. You will spend more time with grieving families and the dead than you will with your own living families members.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with StoneMor Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at StoneMor? Share Your Experiences

    or