KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

StoneRiver

Part of Sapiens
Engaged Employer

StoneRiver

Add a Review

StoneRiver Reviews

Updated May 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 of over 131 reviews

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
StoneRiver President and CEO Gary Anderson (no image)
Gary Anderson
30 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Really enjoy so far

    May 4, 2022 - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hourly and commission pay, promotions, good environment

    Cons

    Dealing with the public and bad residents

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Ok work but classic large enterprise experience.

    Jul 20, 2012 - Technical Architect in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is pretty good and the people are good to work with. In my particular case I can work from home a lot, but they aren't allowing that as much any more. The technology is ok to work with for the most part.

    Cons

    Large enterprise issues like complete hard drive encryption that slows the machines substantially. Work isn't too challenging and there isn't a lot of room for creativity. No Macs allowed. The management talks of Best in Class software, but it isn't supported from top to bottom. E.g., we must use IBM Rational Functional Tester even though developers and QA all dislike it. We have to use ClearCase even though nobody likes it. We say we want best in class, but look to develop mobile solutions that are lowest common denominator-driven for ease of cross platform development (iOS & Android). There isn't a EVP of Product Design, which I believe is required if you want best in class products.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good place of employment but employee morale is declining steadily

    Apr 25, 2012 -  in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to work from home on occassion, great benefit Competitive pay Great benefits including healthcare Very nice people to work with Friendly managers which makes one feel valued

    Cons

    Limited advancement potential Currently no bonuses or raises due to poor business performance Poor and declining employee morale, alot of turnover of senior employees Open cube work environment, very noisy and distracting when working

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Aim small miss small.

    Dec 9, 2008 -  in Morrisville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can only speak for my specific business unit and my specific department, but I would say that my job seems stable, and the employees are not mistreated (I should know I have been in some really bad companies previously). The new corporate structure is more like the way Fiserv used to be and the business units have more freedom than under Fiserv corporate. The new benefit package is really nice, I was very impressed.

    Cons

    Due to the small size of business units and independence of those business units advancement does not come easily. When poor managers are promoted it takes for ever to correct the problem and many times restructuring is done without fully understanding the consequences of those changes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great insurance industry software company focused on customer satisfaction and long term relationships

    Jan 17, 2012 -  in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people - dedicated to success of their customers and a sprit de corp of willing to help each other to that end. A team educated and experienced in the insurance industry that applies their skills to the success of their customers and each other. StoneRiver has a dedication to their existing clients while focused on developing products that insurers need in the future for competitive advantage and profit improvement

    Cons

    Areas of improvement may be in the communication internally and externally of the successes and vision of the company. Meetings to communicate to employees are focused on an annual or bi-annual basis as a total group. More communications that bring people/teams togehter face to face more often would be helpful even if on a smaller basis.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    StoneRiver -- good company but needs to improve on certain things

    Aug 24, 2010 -  in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a competitive product set and is developing an improved set of products that can be updated as technology changes. There is a casual dress code and pay & benefits are on par with similar companies.

    Cons

    This company was formed by several mergers and seems to have problems more typical of a large bureaucracy. Management at times seems more concerned about making the next sale than whether the company has the infrastructure to support the customer needs. In fact, the company will make the sale first and then try to figure out how to fulfill the terms of the contract later. Also, it appears this company prefers to have H1B & offshore contractors instead of American employees. There have been several cases where American employees have been laid off, only to be replaced by non-American contract employees within 2 weeks. Management also tends to hold back important information until long after the employees need to know it, causing a near constant "fire-fighting" environment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    If you can kiss the rear of your bosses, this is the place to work.

    Apr 18, 2011 - Senior Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Covered parking... but cars get broken into.

    Cons

    The top management is basically not fit to run the company. They pretend to know everything but when someone tries to tell them they are wrong, they refuse to listen. They refuse to make any decision leaving the projects in limbo. If you are not their buddy, forget getting raises (even basic cost of living). Too much politics and projects are assigned to people who cannot even tie their shoe laces. Most of the management were buddies in their previous workplace and after one gets in here, he/she will bring the rest of them. Once they are in, each of them reward each other w/ bonuses and high pay. Most of the work is outsourced to India and the management of that task is horrible. Too many VPs and PMs in the company and once people get promoted, they quickly quit the company. Your manager does not perform your yearly evaluation, but the PM for the project does. Go figure!

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A big move, not regretted!

    Feb 22, 2012 - Business Analyst in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Quality employees who aren't afraid to work. Flexibility in hours, working from home, leaving for appointments etc. "Fun" events regularly. Hockey games, bingo, etc. Management is easy to talk to, accepts input. Take client feedback very seriously. Most software enhancements are received directly from our customer base.

    Cons

    Vacation is limited to 2 weeks to start. For someone who was at the same company for nearly 14 years, going from 4 weeks of vacation to two was a hard transition. While I made the jump anyway, I can see this keeping many people from seriously considering a position here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Underwhelmed at management, hiring, and experience

    Aug 9, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pay was competitive -Most of the non-management was good to work with

    Cons

    -Benefits were not good -Only 2 weeks of vacation to start with, even for people with 5+ years of experience elsewhere. Then, can only carry over 5 days, which must be used by March. -Weak 401k match, and they give you their contribution in March of the following year instead of contributing to your account with every pay check. -Continuing to cut staff due to new goals and "outsourcing" -Management had no idea what I did day-to-day and sometimes I wouldn't even see or talk to my manager for 5-6 days at a time. -Certain hires get away with more if they know management. People take advantage of working from home or leave 2 hours early for a haircut appointment or take 2hr lunches while other team members are dedicated and take pride in actually working the hours they're supposed to be there.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    It depends on where you work and who you work for if you have a positive experience.

    Sep 1, 2010 - Senior Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Pay Good Benefits Nice Office with little perks, like bagels on Friday Interesting projects Very knowlegable staff in the Denver office

    Cons

    Horrible work life balance - they do not respect your personal time and often will ask you to travel on Saturdays and Sundays so you get more time in the office. I was actually asked to move a vacation too. Particularly in the Cincinnati and Cedar Rapids office people play favorites and are totally unprofessional. One manager in Cincinnati routinely insulted and talked down past employees in staff meetings. Totally unprofessional! Many manager very much play favorites and do not do a good job of treating all employees equally and fairly. It is an open joke that certain people can do as they please and others play by another set of rules. Totally unhelpful HR department. They are on the managers side. They will not help the worker.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews

StoneRiver Reviews FAQs

StoneRiver has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 131 reviews left anonymously by employees. 38% of employees would recommend working at StoneRiver to a friend and 30% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, StoneRiver employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at StoneRiver. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

38% of StoneRiver employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated StoneRiver 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at StoneRiver to be compensation, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with StoneRiver Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at StoneRiver? Share Your Experiences

or

StoneRiver Photos

+ Add Photo
StoneRiver photo of: Break room
StoneRiver photo of: Break room
StoneRiver photo of: Building exterior - 4601 DTC Blvd
StoneRiver photo of: Cubes
StoneRiver photo of: Reception & conference room

Have you worked here?

See All Photos