Stonegate Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Stonegate Mortgage Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
James V. Smith
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stonegate is great a company all around(in 10 reviews)

  • "Plus they have a huge portfolio of loans they service and we get those calls too(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Originating a loan is easy at Stonegate Mortgage with the hardest part coming at the later stages(in 9 reviews)

  • "Could never underestimate the level of incompetence when it came to upper management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Mortgage Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Underwriter in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, no micro-management, no drama

    Cons

    none, none, none, none, none

    Advice to Management

    ???

    Stonegate Mortgage2017-09-08
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good coworkers and management

    Cons

    Grew too quickly. Technology outdated

    Stonegate Mortgage2019-04-11
  3. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, working w people

    Cons

    Home/work balance need to manage better

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Stonegate Mortgage2019-02-06
  4. "Quality Assurance Control Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clearwater, FL

      I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good People, work load was manageable, very little overtime so had work/life balance

      Cons

      Most of my team was out of state, including my manager so phone calls and emails were the only way to have communication.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure to keep the communication steady for remote employees.

      Stonegate Mortgage2019-01-09
    • "Was a good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They had great staff and, for a while, great management. When the leaders were engaged and on the same page, the company grew rapidly and set revenue records.

      Cons

      Some of the management they brought in through mergers had competing agendas, and eroded the progress and vision that made the company great.

      Advice to Management

      Build a management team that all share the same vision and goals, and then make sure they're happy, and they keep their teams happy.

      Stonegate Mortgage2018-07-27
    • "The leadership was terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      There were few pros about this company, unfortunately.

      Cons

      The previous leadership was terrible and did not make good decisions. The HR team was unfair in pay and evaluations.

      Stonegate Mortgage2018-06-01
    • "Incompetent Mid-management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Their benefits were comparable to other companies.

      Cons

      promotion not merit-based, but time-in grade and buddy system

      Advice to Management

      Develop emotional intelligence and effective leadership style. Leading with fear ALWAYS blow up on your face and is counterproductive.

      Stonegate Mortgage2018-03-06
    • "Went Downhill Fast"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Information Technology in Indianapolis, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The people. They pay you out and show you the door when you turn in your two-week notice. Most of upper management was let go after the buyout so hopefully things are better now that some other company bought them.

      Cons

      Could never underestimate the level of incompetence when it came to upper management.

      Advice to Management

      Job I moved to reminded me how much better teams operate when they aren't micromanaged by incompetent people.

      Stonegate Mortgage2017-11-17
    • "Trainer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Stonegate Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      Small office so you got to know everyone.

      Cons

      There were zero opportunities for advancement. They always hired from outside versus within.

      Advice to Management

      Look at your current talent and promote versus bringing in new hires. This really hurts morale.

      Stonegate Mortgage2017-09-12
    • "IT Support Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - IT Specialist in Indianapolis, IN

        I worked at Stonegate Mortgage full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Better Opportunities with good payment.

        Cons

        No to much to say

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        Stonegate Mortgage2017-08-02
      Found 155 reviews