Cover image for Stonegate Mortgage
Logo

Stonegate Mortgage

Is this your company?

Stonegate Mortgage

Add a Review

Stonegate Mortgage Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 162 of over 163 reviews
2.5
28% Recommend to a Friend
37% Approve of CEO

Found 162 of over 163 reviews

2.5
28%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Stonegate Mortgage CEO & President James V. Smith (no image)
James V. Smith
20 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

10d

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

29

7 Comments

Finance

111.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Stonegate Mortgage~680279
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Disability

This rating reflects the overall rating of Stonegate Mortgage and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Oct 9, 2020 - Vice President in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent Management and team atmosphere

    Cons

    Company was sold and new management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Ok employer

    Aug 17, 2022 - Underwriting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned a lot at this company

    Cons

    Change in management and higher ups

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Stonegate Mortgage team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Mar 30, 2022 - Client Relations Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Management and work/life balance

    Cons

    Need better benefits, the health insurance is crazy expensive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    politics

    Jul 22, 2021 - Mortgage Underwriter in Lake Forest, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    co-workers/location and office building. company functions

    Cons

    management, management, management, management....politics, nepitism

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Major Disappointment

    Mar 21, 2015 - Mortgage Underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can't think of any.

    Cons

    13 total pto days off a year, including sick time, major overtime hours required, no work life balance, workload demands more than humanly possible. GREEDY They want to be part of a wellness plan, pay for gym memberships & promote health, but work their underwriters to death. There's no time to be healthy in this position. They say one thing & do another.

    Continue reading
    33 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Typical mortgage environment

    Apr 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My team leader is fantastic, i can be 100% honest with her and not feel like I'll be fired for it. Lots of OPTIONAL OT which allowed me to pay for a lot of upgrades to my home. Laptops are issued in my department so if your kids are sick or a repair man needs to stop by or you just need a break from the office you can work from home. You get 14 paid days off a year to start. Citi you get 12 and bofa you get 15 so its comparable. Insurance is high but whose insurance isn't now? They let us go home early on holiday weekends with pay. Relaxed attire because we dont see clients face to face. My base salary is the highest is ever been but i cane to the company with 13 years experience. Keep in mind most people who are happy with their employer dont jump on here to say so. People who have bad experiences are usually the ones who make time to come on here because they want to try and ruin the reputation of a company. Overall it's similar to just about any mortgage company you'll find out there. there are good and bad its just some people can deal with the bad and some can't.

    Cons

    Insurance is pricey but again arent they all now? Reporting needs to be implemented to allow for easier work management. Communication about the company needs to be more transparent. Growth needs to slow down to allow new departments to perfect their proceses and generate more income for the company.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Have been with Stonegate nearly 4 years

    May 18, 2015 -  in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I still love my job. It just isn't what it was before they grew too fast and went public

    Cons

    We have lost some very talented employees in the recent months. It sounds as though there are plenty getting ready to leave again. They started out being very civic minded and caring about their employees. It seems that has gone by the wayside. We never know when our departments will be dismantled and relocated. Unfortunately, some of the jobs have been moved out of the country.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Basic

    May 16, 2020 - Loan Officer Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management was supportive to team

    Cons

    Teams were not as supportive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The positives and the negatives

    Mar 24, 2016 - Operations in Clearwater, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros are that as long as my manager was in the same office as me, it was okay. Office location to where I lived was perfect, even though we were across the street from the 49th Street Hotel (aka the Pinellas County Jail and Courthouse). Received a pay raise every year, although the last one I received was horribly small. Overtime would come and go and it helped that management provided dinner for those who stayed late

    Cons

    Cons. If your manager is in Indianapolis and you are working in Clearwater, there is a massive disconnect. The medical benefits are disappointingly bad. I could never afford to have health insurance. 401k was not a true match. It started out with a full match and then it went to a confusing, sliding scale (IE, if you contributed 6% of your pay, the company would match at 4%). PTO was not great. 13 days off a year is pretty rough.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sr Mortgage Advisor - Sales

    Feb 23, 2016 - Senior Mortgage Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All inbound and The leads are sick, Lendingtree LF and Bills Long Form. Plus they have a huge portfolio of loans they service and we get those calls too. The comp is one of the best in the industry for an inbound with high caliber leads. The ppl on the phone actually want to talk to you. I left a place that had $2 trigger leads and would get hung up on all the time. No micro management. The rates are good and processing is closing loans typically under 30 days. I worked for a few large lenders, Paramount Equity, loanDepot,, and Chase and this place is the best for making money and overall piece of mind to know that you are not always looking over your shoulder worrying about losing your job over nonsense.

    Cons

    I would say the only con is the loan officer does not see the CD before it goes out. Also the lockdesk is backed up and takes 24 hours to get a pricing exception approved, but at least we can get pricing exceptions to earn business when needed.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 162 Reviews
</>Embed

Stonegate Mortgage Reviews FAQs

Stonegate Mortgage has an overall rating of 2.5 out of 5, based on over 163 reviews left anonymously by employees. 28% of employees would recommend working at Stonegate Mortgage to a friend and 24% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Stonegate Mortgage employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Stonegate Mortgage. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

28% of Stonegate Mortgage employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Stonegate Mortgage 2.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.3 for culture and values and 2.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Stonegate Mortgage to be coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, benefits.

Work at Stonegate Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

Stonegate Mortgage logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Stonegate Mortgage Photos

+ Add Photo
Stonegate Mortgage photo of: Front of building Corp Office
Stonegate Mortgage photo of: Side View

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Stonegate Mortgage Job Seekers Also Viewed

loanDepot Logo
loanDepot

3.3

2,183 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 163 Stonegate Mortgage reviews submitted anonymously by Stonegate Mortgage employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Stonegate Mortgage is right for you.