Stony Brook University Medical "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stony Brook University Medical Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Stony Brook University Medical CEO Ernest Baptiste
Ernest Baptiste
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits working full time(in 15 reviews)

  • "I am happy with my salary for the work that I do and overall have a very pleasant work environment(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stony Brook University Medical

    Pros

    I was promoted twice during my time with the Department of Surgery at Stony Brook. The Department of Surgery provides great benefits and well as lots of time off.

    Cons

    I cannot really say there are nay cons other than while I was there we went through a couple of Chairmen but that was a good thing also

    Stony Brook University Medical2015-01-20
  2. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and healthcare! Many opportunities to move up within the hospital itself.

    Cons

    Constantly under construction. Limited parking space.

    Stony Brook University Medical2019-08-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Physicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Station Clerk in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great. I like the caring nurses and my Boss is amazing.

    Cons

    You have to pay for parking

    Stony Brook University Medical2018-08-27
  5. "Dietary Aide Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Decent pay. Decent hours.

    Cons

    Extremely physically demanding job. Stressful. Seniority rules all.

    Stony Brook University Medical2018-02-06
  6. "Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance, great benefits, local commute

    Cons

    sluggish pace, state bureacracy, office politics

    Continue reading
    Stony Brook University Medical2017-12-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great for slow workers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you like a slow environment (on the non-clinical side) this is definitely the place for you. Incredibly slow environment. Benefits are great though.

    Cons

    Management does not value ambition. Very political, lots of infighting and interdepartmental issues.

    Continue reading
    Stony Brook University Medical2017-11-15
  8. "Ground Hog Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Stony Brook, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits - especially the NYS Pension, excellent health insurance Decent staffing ratios

    Cons

    Much lower pay than other local hospitals ($10-20K/yr.) The hospital is run very inefficiently. Way too much dead weight at the top. Every outside administrator with a history of success in another organization gets crushed by "The Stony Brook Way." Then, nothing changes!

    Continue reading
    Stony Brook University Medical2017-03-05
  9. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - VAD Coordinator 

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits working full time

    Cons

    have to pay to park

    Stony Brook University Medical2016-12-07
  10. "Good, but with Caveat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stony Brook, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits after gaining permanent status. The chance to work on leading edge tech is a plus.

    Cons

    Top heavy management and bureaucracy make for a sometimes a negative work environment. Unrealistic expectations abound.

    Stony Brook University Medical2016-11-07
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assist I in Port Jefferson Station, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stony Brook University Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits (health, retirement, time off, etc), solid management, good atmosphere

    Cons

    Large institution, infrequent employee reviews, lack of clear leadership/mission statement to drive employees

    Continue reading
    Stony Brook University Medical2016-03-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews