Storm8 Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Storm8 CEO & Co-Founder Perry Tam (no image)
Perry Tam
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good job perks (free lunch and dinner, movies, annual gifts)(in 26 reviews)

  • "Free lunch and dinner (not the healthiest food options though)(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Any non-live ops resources are put towards "safe bet" new games with no chance of being a breakout hit(in 6 reviews)

  • "Mentioned ad nauseum above, but very little concept of work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Lead Engineer for several years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Redwood Shores, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Storm8 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Storm8 is an great company to work for. You really get a lot of flexibility to find the best solution to any problem, and the entire engineering team is amazing. Everyone is very supportive, and everyone helps everyone else to learn and grow. If at some point Storm8 begins hiring again, I would 100% recommend anyone and everyone apply. Your personal growth is only limited by your ambition and abilities. I went from engineer to lead very quickly simply because I wanted it and I really applied myself; and my efforts were recognized and awarded. Also, when things were good. They were really good. They took the whole company to Hawaii! And bonus's are amazing. Like my first bonus ever was over 30% of total salary.

    Cons

    Storm8 has been having trouble finding another hit success game since their initial success. We recently went through a massive set of layoffs and we're struggling to find something to really get behind and make amazing.

    Continue reading
    Storm82017-04-24
  2. "Storm 8 was a solid 8"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance was a priority and amazing perks.

    Cons

    Pay structure was wacky. Raises were low.

    Continue reading
    Storm82020-02-28
  3. "Good Culture, Manager needs more training"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 2D Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    love the people nice culture art is nice

    Cons

    no upward mobility within the company no salary increase

    Storm82019-05-25
  4. "Animation at Storm8"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 

    I have been working at Storm8 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great people to work with, great art team -No investor capital, all self funded -Usually a quick and focused dev/production period

    Cons

    -Layoffs still happen because a company is a company no matter how it's funded

    Storm82019-05-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Boiling it down"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time

    Pros

    Storm8 is full of friendly, talented people. They offer good benefits with catered lunch and dinner. The company is on an upswing thanks to their latest game finally cracking into what makes a successful mobile game in 2018.

    Cons

    Storm8's biggest fault is its dichotomy of thought. On one hand they want to make great games and push forward into the mobile market, and on the other they fear change and lack the courage and ability to take risks. Any risks. Almost every design decision is data-driven. The result is the company is stuck in an evolved-but-still-fast-follow mindset which makes creating original games impossible. Some of the company's most original design achievements occurred during the yearly hackathon, and those projects will unfortunately never see the light of day. Everyone at Storm8 is capable of doing so much more.

    Continue reading
    Storm82018-09-27
  6. "Company's back on a roll"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Storm8 full-time

    Pros

    New game is performing through the roof. No politics. Flat structure. Highly focused teams that don't waste time doing decks/presentations to prove points to others.

    Cons

    Everyone has a voice but some folks might be intimidated by the data- and results-oriented team. Everyone is expected to stretch across not only their own discipline but also others, e.g., engineers should also have good PM sense

    Storm82018-06-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Tech Studio Making "Apps" Not "Games""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Game Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary bands were good, as were the benefits.

    Cons

    There was little to no career advancement, and absolutely no faith placed in the creative talent. I watched some of the best designers I know get sidelined into disillusionment. Poor treatment of designers makes for poor products. Turns out one can not make a hit mobile game based on data alone.

    Continue reading
    Storm82018-07-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks and meals, Snacks, games

    Cons

    Incapable management. Shorted sighted CTO Chak.

    Storm82018-06-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Was Great, Now Terrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Storm8 full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits including catered meals, free healthcare, etc.

    Cons

    Clueless leadership and terrible process. Their resistance of new ideas and ignorance of market trends means this company can't make a good game to save their lives, and it's not because they don't have talented employees.

    Storm82018-05-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Storm8 full-time

    Pros

    Working pace is flexible and game culture

    Cons

    Company vision is neither clear or promising

    Storm82018-05-07
Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews