Cover image for Storm8
Logo

Storm8

Is this your company?

Storm8

Add a Review

Storm8 Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 119 of over 120 reviews
3.6
58% Recommend to a Friend

Found 117 of over 120 reviews

3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Storm8 President and Head of Studio Dominic D’leo (no image)
Dominic D’leo
0 Rating

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lead Engineer for several years

    Apr 23, 2017 - Lead Software Engineer in Redwood Shores, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Storm8 is an great company to work for. You really get a lot of flexibility to find the best solution to any problem, and the entire engineering team is amazing. Everyone is very supportive, and everyone helps everyone else to learn and grow. If at some point Storm8 begins hiring again, I would 100% recommend anyone and everyone apply. Your personal growth is only limited by your ambition and abilities. I went from engineer to lead very quickly simply because I wanted it and I really applied myself; and my efforts were recognized and awarded. Also, when things were good. They were really good. They took the whole company to Hawaii! And bonus's are amazing. Like my first bonus ever was over 30% of total salary.

    Cons

    Storm8 has been having trouble finding another hit success game since their initial success. We recently went through a massive set of layoffs and we're struggling to find something to really get behind and make amazing.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fully Remote

    Sep 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yay, the company is fully remote!

    Cons

    Miss the people in the office.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Storm8 team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great work culture, bad innovation

    Jun 5, 2021 - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to learn software engineer skills Lots of teams to switch to

    Cons

    Games were not very innovative

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Times

    Jun 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had the greatest time working here during my early years. Everyone was friendly, easy to talk to, and felt like family than simply co-workers. The perks and benefits were great. All kinds of snacks and drinks and FREE lunch and dinner. As for career opportunities for growth, it depends on your manager. Thanks to mine, I was able to learn a lot and grow in my career. She was able to provide a lot of feedback on my work and what I could improve on in the future. If there were any issues or blockers getting in the way of my workflow, she was able to provide whatever I might need to get stuff done.

    Cons

    Although I was able to grow in my field thanks to my manager. I felt it was hard to transfer into other positions that you might be interested in doing. This is based on what other folks expressed to me and I have to agree. However, the biggest issue currently I believe is that they aren't making mobile games that are groundbreaking or new. A lot of it is a copycat of another game with some improvements or a reskin of one of our current games. I'm not saying copycats are a bad thing, but it would be nice if they made something completely different with some ideas inspired by other games.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing culture, perks and leadership team!!

    Dec 19, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I could exceed the max character limit on this one... Let me just start by saying this, I would highly recommend Storm8 to my friends, family, or anyone looking to learn, build, and have fun while doing it. This is actually the second time I've worked here, after venturing out into the big bad world of failed startup attempts. When it was time to come back to reality, I didn't even consider interviewing around. I knew where I wanted to go to battle everyday and with whom - my fellow stormies. Here's what comes to my mind: - Leadership proactively cares about our happiness and career growth - Fun! I truly enjoy spending time with the people on my team and throughout the company - Highly intelligent coworkers. I've come to appreciate and value being surrounded by people way smarter than myself - Is it taboo to talk about money? Oh well - very competitive comp and aggressive bonus structure companywide - Just the right size. Still small enough to move quickly, yet bootstrapped and highly profitable - Perks!!! Swag, vacations, benefits, free devices, $$ to pimp out your desk, free breakfast/lunch/dinner - Dog friendly - Come as you are and dress comfortably - Show off your creativity - Flexible schedules - Challenging - Rewarding - Did I mention fun? I know I'm forgetting stuff, but it doesn't matter. Come find out for yourself. :)

    Cons

    My commute from SJ isn't always enjoyable... my fault, not Storm8's though. :) And with flexible hours that hasn't been a problem lately!

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great times marred with difficult times

    Apr 25, 2017 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great set of people to work with, some of the smartest and nicest people - Free lunch and dinner - Flexible schedule - Relatively easy parking - Generalist role will allow you opportunities to gain knowledge about different parts of the code base (PHP and C#/Unity), giving you a good breadth of knowledge - Architects, lead engineers, and staff engineers willing to educate and mentor and help engineering team succeed.

    Cons

    - Fear of using new game ideas because of lack of metrics to prove said new game idea, new games ended up being combined ideas from existing games on market. How can you become a market leader if you are unwilling to take risk. - Pressure and expectation to work hard and fast, and sometimes even ended up having to do overtime regularly. - Overly rigid adherence to agile process became overburdening and at times hampered productivity of entire team, despite efforts to mitigate it. - Was micromanaged to attempt to increase productivity. - Too much reliance of product's adherence to data which ended up making decisions detrimental to new games' successes. - Feedback from non-product not given enough weight. - Lack of transparency from executive level and management. Decisions about projects and games made behind closed doors and then dropped suddenly on teams either without warning or without team able to give feedback. Teams had to obtain news sometimes from private conversations! - Work from home approval difficult.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Some growing pains but really good culture

    Oct 18, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood Shores, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are awesome, hard working and talented. Everyone is very respectful of each other and super chill. Not a lot of drama. Very top light. Founders are super nice. Lots of real gamers work here, which means that lots of people are always pushing for fun and game-play, which is rare in free to play casual game development. Pimp your desk competition where the studio gives you money to make your desk unique. Dog friendly. Culture is somehow being kept, despite the rapid growth. There is a focus on hiring nice people. Very well-stocked kitchen. Good benefits package, gym in the vicinity is basically free.

    Cons

    Founders are very involved, which sometimes is bad, and sometimes good. Decision making tends to be driven by money making more than fun, but there are enough people fighting for fun that generally some fun is achieved by the time a game submits. Hard to have your hard work acknowledged unless the game is monetizing well. Loud work environment. Feels crammed sometimes. Sticking to quarterly plans doesn't always happen. Lots of last minute crunching.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Professional individual contributor

    Dec 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People: teams are nice and supportive of each other - Benefits are great - free food, great insurance coverage - Freedom to do your job: we have set goals and business objectives, but at the end of the day, I am given the latitude to do my job how I see fit. - There's no micromanaging here and no one tells you that you can't do something if it's for the good of the company (of course as long as you do your work) - There's room for exposure into other areas and departments - It's sad to see all the negative comments here from our own team members. Some of them are quite shocking as my experience for the most part has been the opposite!

    Cons

    - Some people are very easy enough to be swayed by other people's thinking -- especially when you think that the grass is greener on the other side. People moving to find other jobs is normal, but that can be seen as "everyone is leaving!" by some folks here. - Morale can be pretty low right now, especially since we're working towards launching that "next hit."

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    High turnover

    Oct 5, 2015 - Product Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People at Storm 8 are amazing! They're generally friendly, smart, and genuinely passionate about making games. The engineering org in particular is top-notch. People who make a significant impact are quickly recognized and rewarded; the company is still small so it's possible for anyone to get that visibility. Lots of opportunity for career growth. Great perks too - delicious meals/snacks, healthcare plan is one of the best I've seen, company activities, and lots of dogs in the office.

    Cons

    Company is catching up to competitors in a few areas so expect late hours and tight deadlines. Culture has become far more demanding as the company struggles to reclaim market share. On top of that, new leadership came in late in 2014 so there's been considerable turnover as people who've been with the company for a while leave and new people come in.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Storm8 Response

    People Team

    We appreciate your feedback! Having been at Storm8 for 3+ years, we're certain that you've made an impact here and glad that you were able to witness the friendly, smart and passionate team we have. As with any growing company in a fast-paced industry, we do experience deadlines and "crunch" time as we sustain our position. With quite a number of long-term Storm8 employees, while we'd love for them to stay forever, it's typical to experience some turnover as folks move on to other opportunities. We agree that open, honest communication and collaboration are key tenets of working at Storm8, and we will do our best to instill these values as we continue to grow.

  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Interesting Experience, Glad I Left

    Oct 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Smart, hard-working people in many roles - Free breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks - Opportunity to reach a large audience with games (6 to 7 digit daily active users) - Opportunity for learning and career development, if you find yourself on the right team

    Cons

    - Lacking product vision, particularly in the last year. Many teams treading water, no path forward. - Cognitive dissonance, lack of honesty about product. Management talks as if games are innovative and fun, but it is evident to everyone that the company is risk-averse and relies heavily on fast-follow techniques, market research, and A/B testing to ensure return on investment. - Strange faux-family environment, infantilizing tone towards employees - emphasis on calling everyone "stormies" and providing free cookies as rewards would be creepy in a company with 20 adult employees, let alone 200+. - Mentioned ad nauseum above, but very little concept of work/life balance - Honest feedback and direct conversation have become increasingly taboo, resulting in heavily political environment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Storm8 Response

    People Team

    We are proud of the network and team we've built through the years. Glad you enjoyed the benefits and learning opportunities that we strive to provide to all employees. While the company has grown to 200+ employees, we aim to maintain the closely-knit, friendly and open culture we've had since the beginning, and a culture that many embrace and enjoy. Being a "Stormie" is part of our culture and no different from how Google calls employees Googlers, or Zynga -- Zyngites, or Facebook -- Facebookers. It's not meant to undermine anyone's maturity but rather something fun and unique to call our team. It's a challenging time for mobile games and the tech industry in general, but we are focused on continuing to hone our craft and building games that mean something to our team and our players. Appreciate your hard work in your time at Storm8.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews
</>Embed

Storm8 Reviews FAQs

Storm8 has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 120 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Storm8 to a friend and 42% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Storm8 employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Storm8. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

58% of Storm8 employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Storm8 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Storm8 to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, culture.

Popular Careers with Storm8 Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Storm8? Share Your Experiences

Storm8 logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Storm8 Photos

+ Add Photo
Storm8 photo of: Jonathan Scott's visit to Storm8's office!
Storm8 photo of: Jonathan Scott visiting Storm8 Studios!
Storm8 photo of: View of our office from the outside
Storm8 photo of: Wall climbing at summer picnic
Storm8 photo of: More pets!
Storm8 photo of: Summer picnic 2016 - petting zoo
Storm8 photo of: Storm8 Summer Picnic 2016
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Storm8 Job Seekers Also Viewed

Pocket Gems Logo
Pocket Gems

4.1

110 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 120 Storm8 reviews submitted anonymously by Storm8 employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Storm8 is right for you.