Stormont-Vail HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

Stormont-Vail HealthCare Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Randy Peterson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Patient-centered care, physician-centered workplace(in 5 reviews)

  • "Tuition reimbursement for people seeking education that has to do with a career at Stormont(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many people in upper management and not enough doing patient care(in 3 reviews)

  • "Political bias with upper management positions(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teamwork!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Facilities Management 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced great pay Great hours,

    Cons

    To many bosses and supervisors over small groups

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2019-03-30
  2. "Good place to work, has improvements to make"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Charge Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Willing to invest in employees, lots of opportunities for advancement. Environment promotes positivity

    Cons

    Staffing is a current problem, upper administration needs to work harder to handle this rather than over-burdening current staff.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2019-07-09
  3. "Midling pay, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady Job. Good overtime opportunities if you wanted them. Room to advance. Okay benefits

    Cons

    Disconnected and surprisingly incompetent management at all levels higher than charge nurse.

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about staff and patient quality of life instead of improving questionably meaningful quality indicator statistics. Communicate clearly and let it be 2 ways. You are not as smart as you think. That was made quite clear.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2019-05-06
  4. "Thank you, next."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registrar in Topeka, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I truly enjoy my counterparts as coworkers and as people. Oh, and 3rd shift differential is nice...

    Cons

    During my time here I've watched my department's management single handedly destroy moral and all while taking a functional department and making it blatantly counterproductive in just a few short months.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe train staff prior to implementing a new procedure. Maybe give more than 24 hour notice that procedures will be changing. With a bit of forethought and discussion, so many issues that arise could be pinpointed and addressed PRIOR to implementation. You know, instead of letting your subordinates frantically run around blindly trouble shooting an unmistakably flawed new procedure

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2019-04-30
  5. "Great place so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing learning opportunities Great coworkers Fun bosses

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times but it is a hospital so that's to be expected.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2019-01-02
  6. "hospitalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    physician friendly and good support system

    Cons

    Topeka is a very small place but has Lawrence and kansas are close by

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2018-12-12
  7. "Worked there for 12.5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Representative 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good size company with several positions to choose from. Pay is pretty good and benefits aren't too bad you pretty much get a 3% raise every year.

    Cons

    They don't do well at boosting morale

    Advice to Management

    For the most part management is good.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2018-12-06
  8. "Best in Topeka"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patient-centered care, physician-centered workplace.

    Cons

    Mediocre pay and benefits, employees told for whom they should vote in primary and general elections. Administration likes to tout Magnet designation of facility, but nurses are only valued and empowered as long as they don't get in the way of physicians.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2018-11-03
  9. "Information Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    There is personal value in helping patients.

    Cons

    Sometimes feels like it's too large a company.

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2018-08-28
  10. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stormont-Vail HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Great team work, Good Benefits

    Cons

    patient load, flexibility, and pay

    Advice to Management

    none

    Stormont-Vail HealthCare2018-08-22
Found 51 reviews