KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Stratasys

Is this your company?

Stratasys

Add a Review

Stratasys Employee Reviews about "3d printing"

Updated Dec 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 258 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Stratasys CEO Yoav Zeif (no image)
Yoav Zeif
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "great market potential for the 3D Printing(in 17 reviews)

  • "The place is full of good people(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Terrible relationship between US and Israel(in 15 reviews)

  • "Poor management, training is disorganized(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Stratasys and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "3d printing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fascinating Industry, Great Work Perks & Growth Opportunity

      Oct 17, 2018 - Demand Generation 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Access to cutting edge (and very expensive) 3D printing technology, FREE. - "start up" culture with a lot of opportunities to learn new skills, softwares, etc. - Working with industry leading clients is really cool - every customer uses their printer for applications that are equally unique and fascinating. - Fun work environment & lots of opportunities to engage with coworkers both during work and after work If you are a positive person who can handle a fast-paced work environment, Stratasys is a great place for you.

      Cons

      3D Printing as an Industry moves fast. So does Stratasys. Some reviews below seem to come from people uncomfortable with slight ambiguity and a fast-moving industry. Like any large company, there will be frustrations with beurocracy and processes. However, Fast Pace + Ambiguity = Opportunity for Employees.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Be apart of the change

      Jun 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Stratasys for about six months. In my time here, there has been constant change. Some are frightened with this change. However, with change comes many opportunities. I have been both enlightened and challenged in my time here. Being a fresh college graduate, I thrive off the fast paced environment and workload. My colleagues make it very enjoyable to come to work each day. One of my favorite memories so far working here is participating in "Stratasys in the Schools." Hundreds of employees had the opportunity to go into the community to teach Kindergarten - High School students about 3D printing. One memory that stands out is a 3rd grader said "Wow, you guys are really changing the world." She could have not said it any better-while we have lots of change, we are also making strides to make the world inside Stratasys and outside a better place to be. We have the right leaders in place to take Stratasys to the next level!

      Cons

      If you want to work at Stratasys, you must be a team player; willingly and able to help with the change. We cannot take Stratasys to the next level without EVERYONE.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't Apply - Bad place to work

      Jan 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting industry and interesting technology.

      Cons

      An old-school culture of expecting long hours to get noticed by management, even if you are an efficient employee. Management is very aggressive and manages with a more pressure = more results mentality...no matter the collateral damage. The culture is completely broken and the best way for them to get results would be to actually listen to employees and take action on what they heard. Most promises of taking action are not fulfilled. 3D printing is one of the hottest industries, but Stratasys feels like you are working for a slow miserable Fortune 100 in a dated office environment from the 90s. Not in line with energy of the industry at all or what you might expect from a new industry. This company really loves to mess around with your compensation. Lots of changes that sometimes happen with 1 month left to the quarter. Most "Strategic" decisions made by management are changed in <3 months before it's possible to see if those strategies were even successful. Lots of management changes with each manager promising to fix the company, but none are willing to listen to the employees and make the hard decisions (ironically they all claim they are listening). Lots of big egos in the company who think chest pounding and bragging about their career success is the same as leading.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Change is happening , is it enough?

      May 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We are the number one 3D printing company in the United States! Our products are exciting and they change lives! It's exciting to come to work and be apart of this company.

      Cons

      Working with our Israeli co-workers can be challenging to complete tasks in a timely manner. Not able to have control of systems is challenging. Improving processes or producers can be like trying to turn the Titanic. Systems need to be updated

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great People, No Direction

      Nov 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3D printing is truly cutting edge technology. My coworkers are fantastic and we have a strong sense of teamwork. Seeing the impact of our work on the world is something to be proud of.

      Cons

      No new hires despite massive layoffs. Management direction is shady at best. No clear goals or data to drive our numbers in my department. We come in every day assuming we will be let go and this is not just my thought. Data is skewed due to poor software but it's all we have to go off of. Too many things for not enough people. Managers can be found behind closed doors typically. Senior management is approachable but feed you feel-good answers and party lines. No one walks around here with a smile anymore. We all feel pressure but we need to be a team, not blaming people over emails and protecting our hides from who knows what.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Intern

      Stratasys Materials R&D Internship

      Jul 29, 2017 - Intern in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was given a couple projects that my manager wanted me to work on, but I was also given the freedom to work on other projects that I thought were interesting and follow my own curiosity. The engineers were very willing to teach me new skills and help me learn more about plastics compounding/formulation and integration with 3D printing. HR set up several lunch & learns and other fun intern events to help interns learn about the business and get to know each other.

      Cons

      Pay is not very high for an engineering internship, but it pays the rent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work with

      Jan 18, 2015 - Field Support Engineer in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very professional, they take care of their employees, great training facility, multiple locations to work at, ample work opportunities, very flexible with work/life balance

      Cons

      Don't have anything negative to say about the company. They have a solid business structure. They are have top of the line 3D printing technology.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      If you love mechanical engineering...

      Apr 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love mechanical engineering, this place has a lot of interesting challenges for you. You can work with an international team. The office and culture are great. Stratasys is a leader in the 3D printing industry - you have access to 3D printers, the company is going through a lot of improvements.

      Cons

      Too many stakeholders in different locations. Too many different projects at the same time. Directions from the management aren't always clear.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Stratasys Response

      Human Resources

      I’m glad you’re enjoying many aspects of working at Stratasys. We’re proud of our challenging and rewarding environment. We know we ask a lot of our team and that’s why we only hire the best – people who are excited about the opportunity to shape an industry. We aim to work at a fast pace but not an unmanageable or unnecessarily stressful one. We monitor this in a few ways. There are bi-annual performance reviews where managers not only give feedback on performance but also seek feedback on what's working well for them. We also have an annual Employee Engagement survey which is anonymous and managed by an external company so we can benchmark our performance against the best companies.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      How can something so good go so wrong.....

      Apr 26, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stratasys defines 3D printing and the technology is cutting edge...unfortunately for Stratasys employees that is all the good that is left.

      Cons

      Israeli leadership has eliminated most all of the North American key individuals that worked so hard to put Stratasys as the marketplace leader....marketing to operations they have all been let go. Promotions and leadership roles are handed to those less qualified based on who they are friends with. Business decisions are hastened without justification putting further financial risk to a company that is already in trouble. Multiple workforce reductions are focused on the US only. Ethical business practice has seemingly been put to the wayside. SLOW to market.... HR is not worth the time it would take to write it all down...

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Great Company Laid to Waste

      Aug 2, 2016 - Operations in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stratasys is a great company with a cool technology that has a significant and positive impact to industry, shortening lead-times for product development and providing more options to conventional manufacturing production processes. Employees are genuinely excited about the products and rally around the new product releases and current products. That was prior to 2015...

      Cons

      The Stratasys/Objet merger, presented as a marriage of complementary technologies, and the acquisition of MakerBot as the leading player in the consumer market, was intended to cement the Stratasys position as the uncontested market leader in additive manufacturing. The MakerBot acquisition in retrospect was a huge mistake as it was vastly overpriced and over-hyped. The products launched and manufactured were of such poor quality, that it ultimately killed the enthusiasm in the 3D printing/additive manufacturing market. Stratasys will never recover the losses that resulted. In addition, the legacy Objet leadership team has aggressively overtaken leadership of the entire Stratasys organization as if it were an acquisition vs. a merger. One by one, legacy Stratasys leadership personnel were fired or aggressively pushed out of the organization. And at this point, Israelis hold all of the key leadership and management positions in Sales/Marketing, Operations and Engineering. They employ a command and control management style where every single decision, big or small, goes through labyrinth-like approval bureaucracy thus stifling all creativity and risk-taking. The leadership team is arrogant and dismissive of anybody outside of their inner circle. Their decision-making also show a lack of competence and understanding of best-in-class manufacturing management methodologies. And it is now showing up in unfavorable financial results, independent of the current additive manufacturing market conditions. Finally, US operations are being phased out as power is being consolidated in Israel/Objet. Current US employees are pursuing other opportunities and are leaving in droves. So unless Stratasys is acquired or the board agrees that the current strategy will continue to fail, there is no bright future for US based employees. My advice to prospective employees is that if you are currently employed, do not accept employment at Stratasys. If you are not employed and are willing to put up with being treated poorly and are okay knowing that this will be short term, then it could be an opportunity until something better comes along.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stratasys Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stratasys? Share Your Experiences

    or