Stratasys "3d printing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stratasys Employee Reviews about "3d printing"

Updated Jan 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Stratasys CEO Elan Jaglom (no image)
Elan Jaglom
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "All together making Stratasys a leader in 3D printing with clear roadmap and successful deliveries to the market(in 15 reviews)

  • "The place is full of good people(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Israel leadership is scary unorganized to say the least(in 13 reviews)

  • "When company was Objet, they made you feel like family, listened to concerns and did something about it(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "3d printing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fascinating Industry, Great Work Perks & Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Generation 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Access to cutting edge (and very expensive) 3D printing technology, FREE. - "start up" culture with a lot of opportunities to learn new skills, softwares, etc. - Working with industry leading clients is really cool - every customer uses their printer for applications that are equally unique and fascinating. - Fun work environment & lots of opportunities to engage with coworkers both during work and after... work If you are a positive person who can handle a fast-paced work environment, Stratasys is a great place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    3D Printing as an Industry moves fast. So does Stratasys. Some reviews below seem to come from people uncomfortable with slight ambiguity and a fast-moving industry. Like any large company, there will be frustrations with beurocracy and processes. However, Fast Pace + Ambiguity = Opportunity for Employees.

    Stratasys2018-10-17
  2. Helpful (9)

    "It's not you, it's them. Run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stratasys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The innovations for customers can be awe inspiring - but the same can be said for any 3D printing technology company. The technology is cool - just don't plan to use it yourself since most employees get to use the oldest machines they have.

    Cons

    Building, inspiring, leading, delivering .. nice words... but not really what you'll ever be recognized or rewarded for delivering. Lucky if you get 2-3 years before you jump out a window or get pushed. Money can be attractive but there's always a reason not to reward you. There's a promise always of a new day, of becoming the best company to work for in MN, to move to a new HQ but the reality is those promises... can't be kept as there's a revolving door of managers and people. The bureaucracy to purchase anything on behalf of the company can make you beat your head into the wall.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's a reason why you languish behind the scenes, why morale is so low, why turnover is so incredibly high throughout the company - it's you. Here's a recipe for a turnaround. Step 1 - get a CEO who has a vision and the skills to drive forward as a leader not a money manager. 2 - Fire the board of directors except Scott Crump & get industry representation and business leadership think about who you are... selling to. 3 - Get a new management team to replace the who's who of incompetents that were seemingly hired for no other reason than the price was right. 4 - Wake up and act like a company that cares about employees and the future. Invest. 5 - embrace an exit strategy sell yourselves/merge with a real company - reward shareholders and employees for the long slow ride.

    Show More
    Stratasys2019-01-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "If you love mechanical engineering..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time

    Pros

    If you love mechanical engineering, this place has a lot of interesting challenges for you. You can work with an international team. The office and culture are great. Stratasys is a leader in the 3D printing industry - you have access to 3D printers, the company is going through a lot of improvements.

    Cons

    Too many stakeholders in different locations. Too many different projects at the same time. Directions from the management aren't always clear.

    Stratasys2018-04-12
  4. "Stratasys Materials R&D Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stratasys

    Pros

    I was given a couple projects that my manager wanted me to work on, but I was also given the freedom to work on other projects that I thought were interesting and follow my own curiosity. The engineers were very willing to teach me new skills and help me learn more about plastics compounding/formulation and integration with 3D printing. HR set up several lunch & learns and other fun intern events to help interns... learn about the business and get to know each other.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not very high for an engineering internship, but it pays the rent.

    Stratasys2017-07-29
  5. "Be apart of the change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time

    Pros

    I have worked at Stratasys for about six months. In my time here, there has been constant change. Some are frightened with this change. However, with change comes many opportunities. I have been both enlightened and challenged in my time here. Being a fresh college graduate, I thrive off the fast paced environment and workload. My colleagues make it very enjoyable to come to work each day. One of my favorite... memories so far working here is participating in "Stratasys in the Schools." Hundreds of employees had the opportunity to go into the community to teach Kindergarten - High School students about 3D printing. One memory that stands out is a 3rd grader said "Wow, you guys are really changing the world." She could have not said it any better-while we have lots of change, we are also making strides to make the world inside Stratasys and outside a better place to be. We have the right leaders in place to take Stratasys to the next level!

    Show More

    Cons

    If you want to work at Stratasys, you must be a team player; willingly and able to help with the change. We cannot take Stratasys to the next level without EVERYONE.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoy the quarterly Town Halls where we not only hear from leaders but also businesses around the Twin Cities who are using our products. As we stabilize in the change, I believe we will be unstoppable. Direction and expectations are clearly laid out and reinforced through our monthly newsletters, Town Halls, and other communications.

    Stratasys2017-06-26
  6. Helpful (24)

    "A future "what went wrong" case study for business books"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management (Prefer to Keep Anonymous) in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stratasys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The 3D printing technologies and industry are undeniably exciting, as are the potential future applications and growth opportunities. It's easy to see and feel good about how Stratasys solutions address current problems in manufacturing, health care and education throughout the world. And while Stratasys' leadership position in this space isn't guaranteed (and seems to be fading) there's a strong sense of pride and... motivation that comes from working for an industry leader (being on the "winning team").

    Show More

    Cons

    Too many to cover in detail: -Management in general (specifically North America sales management (toxic), global product management (incompetent) and the entire c-suite including the CEO, CFO and CMO). They exhibit a lack of focus and genuine appreciation for employees. Each has his/her own political agenda. -Too many changing and conflicting priorities. -HR does not serve the people; rather, HR serves only the... agendas and needs of executive management. The HR business partners in the US can't be trusted. -Talent development is non-existent. Promotions are politically motivated and based on favoritism. -Benefits, specifically salaries, are below average. And there are deficits in the pay, treatment and opportunities afforded to women. -Very little work-life balance if you want to be considered an employee that just meets expectations. -Slow to innovate, slow to market. -Recruitment process and treatment of job candidates is embarrassing (just ask anyone who has interviewed with Stratasys in the last year). -Treatment of employees that leave the company is equally embarrassing and disappointing. Falsehoods and rumors are spread about employees who quit on their own. Exit interviews are inconsistent - you're lucky if you're given one, and if you are, don't expect anything to be done with your feedback (in other words, they aren't worth the time). ...There are many more cons not mentioned but in listing them all I'd be wasting more of my time than I care to. Also, as others have mentioned beware of the more recent positive reviews here. The company actually has a "strategy" to combat the negative Glassdoor reviews by having a few select, current employees submit overly positive reviews with exaggerations about how great the current state really is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! Practice introspective. Be humble. LISTEN to the feedback of employees and then take ACTION. Hire management with emotional intelligence (a clear lack of this in the North America region today). Exit management that is crude, toxic and/or incompetent. Treat employees with respect, including respect of a work-life balance. Stop the pattern of doing more with less, and instead do less with more and do it well...... FOCUS. Prioritize. And stick to a plan for longer than a quarter. Work harder to build a positive work environment and overall culture, and realize that this requires more than hanging tag lines and posters on the walls, and putting on town hall presentations. It's about really connecting with people - employees and customers. Reinvest in the people and they will reinvest back in the company, leading to new innovations, increased output, and stronger performance overall.

    Show More
    Stratasys2017-06-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Change is happening , is it enough?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are the number one 3D printing company in the United States! Our products are exciting and they change lives! It's exciting to come to work and be apart of this company.

    Cons

    Working with our Israeli co-workers can be challenging to complete tasks in a timely manner. Not able to have control of systems is challenging. Improving processes or producers can be like trying to turn the Titanic. Systems need to be updated

    Advice to Management

    We should be hiring smart people to do their jobs! It feels like we are hiring people to be micromanaging them from aboard. I suggest that North America run its own offices with US standards.

    Stratasys2017-05-26
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Don't Apply - Bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time

    Pros

    Interesting industry and interesting technology.

    Cons

    An old-school culture of expecting long hours to get noticed by management, even if you are an efficient employee. Management is very aggressive and manages with a more pressure = more results mentality...no matter the collateral damage. The culture is completely broken and the best way for them to get results would be to actually listen to employees and take action on what they heard. Most promises of taking action... are not fulfilled. 3D printing is one of the hottest industries, but Stratasys feels like you are working for a slow miserable Fortune 100 in a dated office environment from the 90s. Not in line with energy of the industry at all or what you might expect from a new industry. This company really loves to mess around with your compensation. Lots of changes that sometimes happen with 1 month left to the quarter. Most "Strategic" decisions made by management are changed in <3 months before it's possible to see if those strategies were even successful. Lots of management changes with each manager promising to fix the company, but none are willing to listen to the employees and make the hard decisions (ironically they all claim they are listening). Lots of big egos in the company who think chest pounding and bragging about their career success is the same as leading.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Set realistic goals, stop changing compensation, treat employees like people, stop managing the company like it's some large generic corporate behemoth and build something unique instead...have some guts to stand out.

    Stratasys2017-01-30
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great People, No Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time

    Pros

    3D printing is truly cutting edge technology. My coworkers are fantastic and we have a strong sense of teamwork. Seeing the impact of our work on the world is something to be proud of.

    Cons

    No new hires despite massive layoffs. Management direction is shady at best. No clear goals or data to drive our numbers in my department. We come in every day assuming we will be let go and this is not just my thought. Data is skewed due to poor software but it's all we have to go off of. Too many things for not enough people. Managers can be found behind closed doors typically. Senior management is... approachable but feed you feel-good answers and party lines. No one walks around here with a smile anymore. We all feel pressure but we need to be a team, not blaming people over emails and protecting our hides from who knows what.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people before you need people. Don't be afraid to talk to your employees. Talk to us once in a while.

    Stratasys2016-11-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stratasys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    3D printing is an exciting technology that is still in early adoption phase. The sky is the limit.

    Cons

    There are a lot of unknowns in 3D printing and this can make for a difficult company to manage. Particularly after a merger of 2 very different companies with very different cultures.

    Advice to Management

    Strong leadership is needed in both US and IL. Employees need confidence in leadership and need to see leadership in action.

    Stratasys2016-10-12
Found 19 reviews