Stratos Product Development Reviews | Glassdoor

Stratos Product Development Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Allan Stephan
3 Ratings
  1. "Best technical team in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stratos Product Development full-time

    Pros

    Stratos had a very strong engineering and design team. You always had someone to learn from or someone to consult with. The project variety kept it challenging. Overall, an excellent place to work and grow.

    Cons

    Downtown commute was getting rougher. The workload could be hard to predict in the consulting business.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for a great run.

    Stratos Product Development2017-06-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Out of business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Stratos Product Development

      Pros

      Stratos was a great place to work for many of us for many years. The work of developing products for our clients and helping them be successful came first, and the management took care to make an environment where good engineers and designers felt respected and at home.

      Cons

      Financial stability was never strong, and Stratos closed at the end of April 2017, unfortunately.

      Advice to Management

      Thanks for creating a great environment and building an experienced, talented team that worked well together. We wish it could have gone on.

      Stratos Product Development2017-05-24
    • "Dynamic Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Stratos Product Development full-time

      Pros

      Engineering managers were great. Excellent work/life balance. Fun projects.

      Cons

      Upper management failed the company.

      Stratos Product Development2017-06-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work before"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Stratos Product Development full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great people, great projects, but doesn't exist anymore...

      Cons

      Wasn't transparent to employees in terms of business situation.

      Advice to Management

      It's too late as the company doesn't exist anymore.

      Stratos Product Development2017-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Amazing Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Stratos Product Development full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing company. Great benefits. Awesome people. Interesting work. Relaxed work environment.

      Cons

      The ebb and flow of contracting work can sometimes create problems with retention of employees (in fairness, there's only been layoffs 2x in the 20 year history)

      Advice to Management

      This is a great company. Keep doing what your doing and empower employees with the great work life balance.

      Stratos Product Development2016-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people, great work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Stratos Product Development full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Work with some of the best, most professional engineers and designers you'll ever meet. Interesting work, both medical and consumer electronics. Great growth opportunities. Good work-life balance. Gym membership. Weekly happy hours. Great bike commuter infrastructure (secure bike storage, showers, gear storage).

      Cons

      Management tends to sequester information. Staff doesn't have good visibility into the business direction. Work can be intermittent, depending on business.

      Advice to Management

      Better communication. Share the bad news, not just the good. Share your vision, and your team will help you make it happen.

      Stratos Product Development2016-01-13
    • "Smart people and good projects, but pay is low"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Stratos Product Development

      Pros

      Progressive team, interesting projects. Always something new.

      Cons

      A little low on compensation. Insurance plan needs work.

      Advice to Management

      Invest more in salaries, benefits, and training to keep your engineers.

      Stratos Product Development2014-12-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good place to work..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Stratos Product Development full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff, work and attitude. Excellent offices

      Cons

      Salary is lower than average.

      Stratos Product Development2012-09-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "Stratos is the best place I've ever worked."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Stratos Product Development full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Everyone is respected top to bottom. Everyone is smart and willing to help. I get to work on challenging technologies. Environment is incredible, we've got the best views of the sound and mountains in Seattle. Everyone acts like an owner. The owners care about us. We spin off new companies.

      Cons

      Bear passed away, the CEO's dog. Not enough deck parties in the summer. Pretty hard to fit in continuing education.

      Advice to Management

      Bring back the condo benefit in Whistler and Maui. Lock the doors when we get to 100 employees.

      Stratos Product Development2012-05-23
    • Helpful (5)

      "Nice place to work, very sharp group of software, mechanical, electrical, and industrial engineers."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software QA Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommends

      I worked at Stratos Product Development

      Pros

      They are a design firm that designs medical and commercial products. They have a great group of engineers that care about designing the product the correct way. They provide a full team including project managers to a project.

      Cons

      When they have work to do it is a great place to work, when they don't have work they trim employees. It is a very cyclical type business, super busy for a few months then there is nothing to do, very much at the mercy of the companies that hire them.

      Advice to Management

      Try not to lead the employees and contractors on in respect to the upcoming work load, be open with your communication.

      Stratos Product Development2010-06-20

      Stratos Product Development Response

      July 30, 2014CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. We were aware you wanted to transition from a contractor to full time employee. We're sorry the timing wasn't right.

    Found 10 reviews