KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Strayer University

Is this your company?

Strayer University

Add a Review

Strayer University Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 520 of over 548 reviews

3.4
47%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Strayer University Chief Executive Officer Karl McDonnell
Karl McDonnell
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, free tuition for employees(in 22 reviews)

  • "Willing to train; Promotion potential; 90% tuition assistance; Over 100 campus locations; The work environment is like a family(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance is completely out of whack(in 37 reviews)

  • "long hours and they play favorites with management(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Strayer University and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Graduate Teaching Assistant Part-Time

      Aug 7, 2021 - Teaching Assistant in El Paso, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic team, excellent educational perks, paid time off, great team environment. My managers have been fantastic to work for as have been the other members of the team.

      Cons

      can shift from too much work at one time to not enough -- depends on student enrollments. Difficult to coordinate each grader's ratings, and administration wants consistent grading patterns.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A good stepping stone into higher education

      May 26, 2021 - Student Readiness Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Pretty good pay -Work from home -Nice coworkers -Advancement opportunities are there if you work for them -Benefits are great(100% tuition assistance for full time employees)

      Cons

      -More of a business than a university. -Working with students who definitely shouldn't be attending college -Constantly changing processes and policies which cause confusion amongst staff -Not a ton of PTO -Middle management very closely in the weeds of their subordinates -Have to work Saturdays-not much Work/Life balance

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Teachers

      Join the conversation on

      Teachers

      8m

      a 

      West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

      Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

      2,827

      951 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Higher education review

      Sep 15, 2021 - Admission Representative in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, vacation time, paid time off

      Cons

      Continuous incomplete changes always being made, fellow employees and leadership who lack integrity, work on Saturdays and long Friday nights.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Used to be great!

      Aug 27, 2021 - Campus Coordinator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and benefits are great.

      Cons

      Change in policy and procedures often.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Over promise under provide

      Sep 8, 2021 - Student Success Coach in Globe, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home...…..Temporarily Going to school for free

      Cons

      Lies...lies. And more lies Extreme changes made to your job at any moment No increase in pay Management is not to be trusted Money driven company that doesn't care about the student No work/life balance offered

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed bag of GREAT practices and HORRIBLE ones

      May 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. The larger company does its best to communicate with employees. The company has been very responsive to social unrest in this country and has worked to address equity in its hiring practices and company ethos.

      Cons

      Middle management has some real issues. In my unit, it was essentially all people who looked exactly like each other (gender, race, regional location, religion). Creative ideas and input are asked for and then later punished. It's a "be a good player" mentality, even if NOTHING productive happens. No goals set from the start of employment. Then, the job description continues to change and evolve with no warning or notice. Students are viewed as part of a mill. If you happen to impact their lives, that's great. If not, as long as you process their registrations, you're good to go. It's a shame because they have some great employees there. But, good people tend to leave. Corporate, for-profit education doesn't really retain true educators.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s fine.

      Sep 14, 2021 - Admissions Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, caring coworkers, working with students

      Cons

      Disorganized, frequent changes in leadership, frequent process changes without warning, interdepartmental issues, slow technology

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Looking for a new job

      Aug 16, 2021 - Student Success Coach 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free college and good benefits for dependents -liked the job of advising students -Helpful coworkers/managers

      Cons

      The list of cons are large, I will do my best to summarize it. I started with Strayer in the first group hired post COVID, went well right away. About a month of training before they throw you in to start and felt like I was drowning, didn’t help it was the beginning of the term which is super busy. I dreaded work with the long times on our call center. Also be prepared for as of now all day call center so any student or your own student may be calling in. Next, the amount of changes I have gone through in less than a year is insane, one week it’s one thing and the next week they change it back. Then the leaders say “they understand” about how awful it was for all the changes and to power through it and they are there to support. They don’t listen, they have a lot of empty promises. Also the financial aid department has so many issues. Over and over again about the same issues students have and you can’t do anything, just send it to your manager for them to escalate. So many students tell me they are transferring due to financial aid issues they have with Strayer. They need better training for those working with money, they cause the students so much money and time. They also need more of them, I think they are understaffed and over worked. They also changed up the org structure so you have less managers and they are overworked even more. Time off and pay are decent. Management has been micro managing us so much is draining. It’s all about numbers. My manager is amazing but it’s the people above them that just don’t get it. We tell them what the issues are and they don’t care. We did a company survey asking about job satisfaction and we had such bad numbers. We had a meeting about it with a response of “we hear you” but nothing changes. They are also forcing us back into work with COVID numbers on the rise. People ask questions about safety and they only say “they are monitoring it,”. They say if you have a reason to not go back in person to send a request in to HR but they deny everything. I knew 3 people who had very reasonable requests that were ALL denied. Last point, I didn’t know I would have “late days” before I started. I was told 9-6 with an hour lunch. But then I started and had 2 days a week I worked 10-7 or 11-8 and 1 half Saturday a month. And my schedule has changed at least 3 times and they give you a week maybe 2 heads up. Now I have a 12-9 day once a week, I did not agree to this which is why I’m looking for a new job. Again empty promises. I’m not sure what happened to Strayer as I have talked to a handful of people who all say Strayer used to be different, used to be better and care more. Something in management changed and it’s killing the business. I hope they figure it out soon because I feel like they have a really good niche in the market and could do so much better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Just Started

      Jul 7, 2021 - Admissions Officer in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free masters, great healthcare, being able to enroll students & family, access to discounted education for family & friends, they provide technology needed to wfh, a lot of benefits, good team, flexible time off, a month of PTO, it is hourly but you’re paid overtime, understanding environment, they send you to fish first so you can learn the ropes but are willing to help you if needed. Good pay, systems aren’t too bad at all, hours aren’t bad to me because I like waking up later in the day & working later. The hours are 9am to 6pm most days & ((11am to 8pm - ONE or TWO Saturdays a month starting in the fall - winter quarters)) no micromanagement on my team

      Cons

      Sometimes when you ask questions, depending on the person you ask, you could be met with a sarcasm if that person feels your question was already answered or if it’s a “dumb question”. People should work on not showing how they feel when answering a question so they do not discourage others. When training I think the “fishing” method they use to make you find things could be more laid out instead of having us click on every application to find these little links that could easily be explained in a ppt. used for future reference. Finishing modules shouldn’t be rushed or given time slots, clicking through multiple links to get to a module is not it, it could be a lot more simple if it were all in one place ! Clock in & clock out should be a phone app too. Lunches should be automatically deducted or you should be able to put in your punches by like 8 pm Friday or something because remembering 4 punches a day for time clocked in is a lot.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good entry level job. Not a place to create a career.

      Sep 11, 2021 - Campus Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounted courses, interaction w/ students

      Cons

      Low Pay, No Room for Growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 520 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Strayer University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Strayer University? Share Your Experiences

    or