Stride Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Stride Health Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Stride Health CEO Noah Lang
Noah Lang
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (20)

    "Tackling a Huge Problem, Superb People, Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stride Health full-time

    Pros

    - The people at Stride are great, top to bottom. I wholeheartedly disagree with some of the comments about leadership. Like any startup, there are ups and downs, but the leadership truly cares about the mission and the people. And, almost to a person, the quality of the team, at all levels, is incredibly high. - The problem we are solving matters. The modern workforce is changing and Stride is at the center... of understanding that change and building for the millions of people who will buck traditional employment for a more autonomous path. - Beautiful office, dogs, and very supportive of diversity efforts.

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you don't like working hard on a large, difficult, and unsolved problem, Stride is not for you. - Very healthy and fit culture. While I view this as a positive, I wouldn't mind if they stocked up on Cheetos or some other delicious (but unhealthy) treats.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep working hard, hiring great people, and adjusting. - Continue to the listen to your team, but don't focus too much on building consensus. I often that a vocal minority can have too large of an impact on some decisions.

    Stride Health2018-07-27
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Growing pains and unpleasant culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time

    Pros

    Stride has hired well historically. The team is smart, eager and hardworking.

    Cons

    Leadership has come a long way, but still has a long way to go. Social capital and organizational power tends to trump ideas, questions, and concerns escalated from lower on the org. chart. Take this with a grain of salt- I was low on the org chart- but it seemed to me that there was an echo chamber up top that stopped meaningful learnings from rising up. Work-life balance is very bad. I was repeatedly told by... managers, colleagues and superiors that the way to move forward at Stride was to work 50+ hours/week, be seen doing it, and spend my nights and weekends socializing (binge drinking) with my colleagues. From my perspective this theatre of exertion had little to do with meaningful performance and lots to do with the very low employee retention numbers. Organizationally, management has a tendency to heap responsibilities with a few key employees. This has resulted in lots of execution bottlenecks, high burnout rate as these employees grow tired of the load, and substantial fall-out when these key people leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The retention numbers reflect employee satisfaction. Listen to your team and work hard to retain them. Trust the leaders you've hired and empower them to do their jobs.

    Stride Health2019-06-19
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Hard and meaningful work on hard and meaningful problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stride Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every review mentions the people who work here with good reason: they are smart, kind, generous, and they care a lot. Enough cannot be said about the people. (I also think that the fact that people care a lot is a big reason for the degree of negativity in some of the unfavorable reviews. I'd encourage people to remember that work is just work, and things need not be so personal. While I'm on the subject so I don't... let it bog down the rest of this review: some of the numbers/determiners used are, to put it politely, exaggerated.) The marketing department is growing and maturing. I think lack of marketing muscle had been hurting us. If people are not aware of your product, no matter how useful it is, your reach will be limited. I've enjoyed seeing successes coming out of that team (and others, including carrier relations). Strong recent hires: VP of Engineering, VP of People, VP of Customer Operations, senior product manager. Worthwhile work! I think the market we serve is incredibly important. This is probably related to why the people here are admirable: it's largely a self-selected, mission-driven bunch. The company afforded everyone the opportunity to travel to various cities around the United States last open enrollment to assist rideshare drivers applying for health insurance by helping them estimate their income and navigate tricky enrollment questions. It was eye-opening and humbling. I have never had a single concern that our involvement in the gig economy has been predatory and exploitative. It's quite the opposite.

    Show More

    Cons

    The market we're in is difficult. Brokering health insurance with Trump as President is dicey at best. This is why my title mentions hard work and hard problems. This is probably not a business that will ever print money. That's okay. We're trying to eke out a comfortable niche. The management team is fairly young, though recent experienced hires have altered that makeup. I think this con is the biggest reason... for the unfavorable reviews, a consequence of how our company moving some focus away from health insurance to other areas conflicted with some people's motivations for working here, how the company could've/should've accommodated those circumstances, and communication difficulties throughout. But I also think that the company has learned from the experience. Our hiring standards sometimes seem too rigid for a company of our stature. This isn't a suggestion to lower the bar--the quality of the people here is listed as a pro--but when employees decide to move on to work at companies the likes of Google/Square/etc., it's worth considering if we need to change our current approach to recruiting, and how we can foster growth (and encourage retention) differently inside the company. Engineering resources for non-product team priorities are limited. It would be nice to give other teams (member experience and product operations) more support. We recently had a hackathon that freed up all team members to work on a project of their choosing, which resulted in a lot more cross-functional collaboration. Those instances should be more programmatically baked into the company roadmap/culture/etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Engender candid relations with your reports. You've been doing a better job at that, but the progress must continue. Understand what they want, and how you can help. Communicate, communicate, communicate, and don't forget to trust, too. Consider less traditional approaches to recruiting. Participate in the community, events, etc. Throw weight behind people who are making individual efforts related to that.

    Stride Health2018-08-21
  4. Helpful (22)

    "Passionate, brilliant people dedicated to growing and learning fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stride hires EXTREMELY well. This is a group of some of the most brilliant and mission-driven people I've worked with. I learned as much from my fellow Striders as I did from the challenging work itself. And it was always impressive to me that even as the company quickly doubled and tripled in size, the sense of purpose was still palpable in every new employee. I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews and... doubt that they represent the views of the majority of Striders, even those who have left like myself. There have definitely been some growing pains and issues with culture, which I'll get to. But these reviews seem overly vindictive. What I understand from current Striders is that the company has been listening and working hard to course correct the cultural problems. It is obvious from the newly released list of values that the leadership has done a lot of soul searching and is making culture much more of a priority. It’s a smart move because you want to hang onto people who are this special! Other pros: - Solving a challenging problem for a growing self-employed workforce = meaningful, interesting work with great potential for growth - Benefits on par or better than much larger companies - Management who really care about people as individuals not just as contributors to the bottom line - Dog-friendly office! - Beautiful space in SOMA with well-stocked snacks - Young, diverse team that enjoys spending time together in and out of the office

    Show More

    Cons

    Stride is a young company that has experienced some growing pains. The biggest challenges have been around setting specific goals, communicating them clearly, and sticking to them. This was partially inevitable as we iterated on our products and learned more about our members and what they really needed. If anything that speaks well for the leadership’s ability to learn and pivot. I know some employees who were dead... set on solving problems in the healthcare space never really got on board with the expanded mission. I think the leadership has done a lot of work on improving communication and transparency, and of course any new hires are sure to be fully invested in the new mission. By the time I left, goals were well defined and well communicated, which made a huge difference in our ability to focus and make decisions. There was also a period in which Stride’s culture suffered as a result of valuing grit and ambition over cooperation and trust. Lack of trust between teams and also from management affected our process too, slowing things down, either by debating over ownership, requiring excessive documentation to justify decisions, or questioning decisions late in a project. I’m pleased to see the new values the company has released, which demonstrate that the leadership is committed to improving the culture. Current Striders I know already feel more empowered and appreciated and I expect it’s going to keep getting better. Open Enrollment (the busiest sales period) is tough, but it gets easier (and shorter!) every year. It also actually builds a ton of camaraderie within the team. As long as leadership continues to set clear expectations up front, it’s no worse than any other busy season.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep asking for and listening to team feedback. Your people are your greatest asset, treat them well, support them, trust them, and you can’t lose. Stick to your values religiously, and hold everyone to them as well. Reward the people who embody them most. I’ll second another reviewer who recommended taking the time to bond with the team, no matter how busy you are — attend the lunch & learns, parties,... etc. You do a great job of being candid and vulnerable but just spending time together goes many more miles toward helping your team know you as a human being, trust, and understand you, and vice versa. Keep listening to and learning from members too. You’ve built a great culture around user research, keep it up.

    Show More
    Stride Health2018-07-30
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Typical startup bs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any besides 'glad i got off the sinking ship'!

    Cons

    -startup bro-culture bs. -lack of diversity -low pay, long hours -company's leaders lack vision and charisma to inspire people -managers at the time were condescending and disrespectful to subordinate, point fingers at people in meetings as if they're school children -company doesn't make any money but keeps taking on debt, unclear product revenue vision

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Stride Health2018-08-30

    Stride Health Response

    August 31, 2018The People Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We're committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all of team members; it truly saddens us to read your review. We'd like you know that we've made numerous investments and improvements since you've left, and we will ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Fantastic mission-driven company with endless growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time

    Pros

    + Brilliant, motivated, & supportive team. It is a truly impressive group of people that I learned so much from both professionally & personally + Size & culture that supports collaboration, learning, and innovation + Amazing opportunities for professional growth. Upper management recognizes & rewards hard work, creativity, & drive + Mission-driven! It's fun and rewarding to improve the... economic security of our members . There is so much potential to grow alongside the independent workforce and expand our offerings + New open office in SOMA (Dog friendly!!) + Benefits are amazing for a company this size + Tons of team-bonding events (happy hours, offsites, game nights) which allow you to build personal & professional relationships with the team

    Show More

    Cons

    -It is a young, small company and with that comes growing pains. As we learned more about our customers and moved beyond just healthcare, our mission and vision changed to incorporate the broader member need of achieving economic security. Upper management could have been more direct & transparent when communicating this change to the company (and should have done it a bit earlier on). However, I do think... management learned a lot about how to communicate big changes in the future, and it really feels like the team is now on-board with the new mission & vision, and is excited about where Stride is headed. -We sometimes got too caught-up in the "process" and decisions took much longer than they should have. This was often a result of "too many cooks in the kitchen"....too many members of upper management giving their input (often very late in a project). This caused people to backtrack or feel blocked on a project. Upper management is working on more direct & honest communication, as well as setting expectations & goals early on in a project. Both of these things have & will continue to improve decision-making across the company

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push on clearly defining the company strategy & goals. Don't get too bogged down in the day-to-day! Put more time into expectation and goal setting early on, and then trust your team to execute! Keep asking for and acting on feedback from the team. It's working! Lastly, remember to take the time to personally bond with the team. I know you are all extremely busy, but the time you take to... attend a lunch & learn, happy hour, member panel, etc. is much appreciated by the team. The personal connections you make will do wonders for the team culture, and will help the team see you as authentic, vulnerable, and trustworthy.

    Show More
    Stride Health2018-07-11

    Stride Health Response

    July 16, 2018The People Team

    Thank you, former Strider! You nailed the "process" point on the head. We saw this gap in leadership alignment and have worked to rectify it with the build-out of our management team. (Recent adds include: CMO, Head of Engineering, CFO and the Head of People.)

  7. Helpful (12)

    "Exciting company with a lot of opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stride Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + I get to work with intelligent, thoughtful, and motivated teammates to build tools and benefits for people who work for themselves. + Team is still relatively small (but growing!), which allows for a lot of cross-functional collaboration and input while building products. + Management has listened to past critiques and has been open to feedback and spending a lot of time building relationships and increasing... transparency. + Open office space, great snacks, and dogs!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Busy season around Open Enrollment which can involve some long hours between November and January. - Past poor communication led colleagues to believe we were devaluing insurance products, instead of simply shifting our vision.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen and ask for open, honest feedback often!

    Stride Health2018-06-13

    Stride Health Response

    June 18, 2018The People Team

    Thanks for highlighting the "devaluing insurance products, instead of simply shifting our vision" piece. It's an important differentiation to make. Besides our "official" company mission, it's the mission of the People Team to ensure that Striders feel valued not only as team members ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Amazing team & exciting opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stride Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Awesome opportunity for growth within the company. It's made clear what you're doing well, what you can improve upon, and how to move up within your department. Performance reviews every 6 months are well organized and well thought out! +Hands down the best part about Stride is the people here who make it feel like home. Whether it's professionally or personally, everyone here has your best interest in mind and is... here to support you and cheer you on through all of your endeavors! This makes cross-functional teamwork really enjoyable. +Stride's mission is exciting, and it's really awesome to build products that are making a huge, impactful and MEANINGFUL difference in people's lives. +Amazing People Ops team who is here to make sure you have everything you need to be happy and productive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any start-up, there are a few bumps in the road in terms of growth and where we're headed. Stride's management team has been working hard and listening to the team's feedback to make sure everyone's time and work feels valued as we continue to build out new products.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the open communication and allowing the team to provide feedback when necessary. Remind individuals how grateful you are to have them on the team!

    Stride Health2018-06-08

    Stride Health Response

    June 18, 2018The People Team

    Thanks for detailed note! Both the People and Leadership teams have been taking the team's feedback to heart and we're glad that our improvement efforts are showing. Excited to continue growing with you and the entire Stride family. -the People Team

  9. Helpful (15)

    "Truly Terrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * It is, in-fact, dog friendly * Your teammates will try so hard

    Cons

    * C-levels are incredibly inexperienced, can't figure out how to handle adversity, and react with anger, manipulation, deception, and lies. * Don't expect a promotion or a raise for all of your hard work, they will have no idea you are unhappy until you go in to quit. * They like to think the people who left didn't like the "new direction" of the company. That couldn't be further from the truth. I didn't like the... inability of leadership to articulate their vision, their hesitancy to spend money where appropriate, (i.e. employee compensation, marketing efforts), and their unwillingness to address blatant aggression, even towards top-performers, from certain people in management. * Fantastically underpaid vs the current market rate with marginal-to-no raises / bonuses despite long hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down and turn the company over to people who know what they are doing.

    Stride Health2018-07-25

    Stride Health Response

    July 30, 2018The People Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We're committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all of team members; it truly saddens us to read your review. We'd like you know that we've made numerous investments and improvements since you've left, and we will ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Once a dream gig turned into an (almost) inescapable nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stride Health full-time

    Pros

    - People are passionate, caring, smart, and wonderful (with some notable exceptions). - Dog Friendly - Plethora of new job openings/opportunities due to recent departures - Great HR/People team that tries its best despite the circumstances - Strong alumni network that supports each other

    Cons

    I used to love working at Stride. It used to be filled with a group of tenacious, passionate, hard working people that believed in the mission and were there to help people. However, over the past year, the company has “pivoted” and has done so in a way that has driven more than 30% of the employees away with no layoffs. There are people leaving the company at an alarming rate. Habits that are common amongst... founders/management: - Rude and dismissive behavior in meetings - Secret meetings and lack of transparency - Dishonesty and false promises - Emotional manipulation Product: - (Almost) the entire product team has quit in the past 3 months including several senior PMs and the VP of Product. - Revenue numbers are quite low for a company at this stage Career Opportunities: - Promotions are given if a) you threaten to quit or b) someone else on your team quits and they’re afraid you’re going to quit

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Treat people well, don't lie to them, avoid all the secrecy and be more transparent. - Find good product market fit and build one fantastic product that people are excited about - Make Stride Great Again

    Stride Health2018-07-18

    Stride Health Response

    July 27, 2018The People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The leadership team has taken the departures to heart, opened up dialogue with our teams, learned a lot and have made changes to address leadership concerns. It’s true that we lost key members of the product team. In the first ...

    Show More
Found 23 reviews