Stripe "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Stripe Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Stripe CEO and Cofounder Patrick Collison
Patrick Collison
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "good company with good benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "Well intentioned company with great peers and growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been extremely impressed by Stripe since day 1 -- in how it composes itself facing difficult decisions, runs on the day-to-day, and goes above and beyond expectations on a consistent basis. Leadership is inspirational (listen to a podcast with Patrick) yet very grounded when the going gets tough. Our company values ("operating principles") are lived by the leaders and it does really trickle down through the reporting chain. I seldom find myself disagreeing with decisions leadership makes, and they are quite transparent about their reasoning why. Your peers are friendly, sometimes to a fault, and I don't notice much/any unhealthy competition in the engineering org. You can assume your peers are well-intentioned and are willing to hear you out fully, in the end doing what's best for the business (or, customer). A slight downside to this -- knowing the right people to talk to is an invaluable skill that isn't scaling so well as the company grows. The mission of the company -- grow the GDP of the internet -- is arguably pure and apolitical. There is a sense we are building core infrastructure for the world. It's nice not to feel conflicted about your work. I've been happy that our planning process is often long-term. You can successfully argue for ideas that might not result in immediate benefits, but will pay dividends in, say, a year. This applies to paying down tech debt to new products or features. Your argument has to be well articulated, though. Finally, as a medium sized company, there is so much work to be done and opportunity for those who are willing to go out and grab it (even if it's not always obvious). Ambition and foresight are recognized and rewarded, even if you don't necessarily have seniority or tenure.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can suffer depending on your ambition. Working a 9-5 is OK, but in practice a 9-6 is more common. (management generally seems to not care about hours worked, but actual productivity, which is a plus) Internal tooling, testing, and development speed (especially outside the "happy path") has been a drain on productivity as the company has grown. It's invested in, but sometimes can be rough. Stripe grew as a developers-first company, so some scaffolding and support from others orgs is missing. Engineers often have to take on extra responsibility that may seem tedious or unrelated at another company. Growth / education / mentorship is well supported, but you sort of have to seek it out yourself.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2019-10-28
  2. "Great place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Superb product with a lot of growth potential and a well-thought-out company mission/vision • Competitive pay and great benefits • Healthy, people-oriented culture • A lot of opportunities for personal growth • Leadership cares about diversity • Good support for remote engineers

    Cons

    • Keeping good work/life balance can be difficult • Processes and organizational structure tends to change very fast • Missing alignment on technical strategy between pillars leads to suboptimal decisions

    Stripe2020-02-15
  3. Helpful (34)

    "Smart people, but work-life balance is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Motivated, intelligent people working on challenging problems.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is basically non-existent on certain teams and there is a never-ending expectation to do more. Not a good place for people who want to have any semblance of a life outside of work.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2019-05-01
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Extremely satisfying role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe full-time

    Pros

    - Challenging, interesting, meaningful work - Very little red tape - Good work-life balance, encouragement to take time off

    Cons

    - We're still trying to figure out where process would be helpful - Everyone is so humble and down-to-earth that people are sometimes not recognized for doing great work - Looks like work-life balance is still pretty dependent on what team you're on

    Stripe2018-08-16
  5. Helpful (25)

    "Exciting and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Interesting, impactful work and lots of autonomy. + Class leading product and technology. + Lots of growth and excitement. + Excellent pay and benefits: comp aims for 10% over industry leading tech companies. + Great people, smart, humble and driven co-workers. Brilliant but down to earth founders. + Good support of remote workers with about a third of company outside HQ.

    Cons

    - Still some growing pains and internal organizational difficulties. - Not a lot of work life balance but depends on team. - Not much management promotion internally, tend to prefer outside management.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2018-03-13
  6. Helpful (32)

    "Join in you're good at office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stripe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked alongside intelligent and ambitious individuals throughout the org. Transparency from the top down Food was amazing The opportunity to be apart of something big

    Cons

    Sadly, management was (is?) a joke at Stripe. They hired or promoted folks who were inexperienced or were in no position to be managing people. Different teams tend to have cliques and be exclusive. Managers would show favoritism. So if you're good at office politics you will succeed here. Hard working and honest folks were often overlooked because people who had it "in" we're first in line for promotions. Work/Life balance really took a toll on people. Granted, Stripe is in the financial industry so there is an underlying expectation that you need to be available 24/7 and that's just the way it is there. You NEED to put in the hours and work 10+ hour days (esp if you want to get ahead). To some extent, I enjoyed the competitive nature of working there. However, sometimes it would get in the way of doing the core function of your job as you were expected to juggle multiple projects and be "nimble"

    Stripe2017-12-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great opportunity, smart employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe for less than a year

    Pros

    -Your peers are thoughtful, passionate, and smart. The hiring bar at Stripe is high and ensures you'll constantly be impressed and learning from the people around you. -Interesting technical challenges (lots of them) and opportunity for growth in the market. -The culture is strong. Even as the company is growing, our culture is embedded into our values and the way we run business. Leadership deeply cares about this and is mindful of our culture/ values when making decisions and scaling the company. -Great sense of community amongst employees. Lunch is always fun because you never know who you'll sit with and get to know. There are fun (optional) activities organized often- board game nights, karaoke, afternoon small group outings (coffee shop visits, yoga, running, and rock climbing nearby) as a nice break during work hours. -Amazing location in the mission. Right by Valencia street and other startups, there is lots to do compared to SOMA. Examples are above, but great food, coffee shops, yoga studios and mission cliffs are less than a 5 min walk away. -Strong co-founders. I really trust the decisions by our co-founders and COO. Very sharp people who are not only business savvy, but forward-thinking, and extremely approachable. The CEO makes an effort to learn everyone by name and meet with all new hires when they join.

    Cons

    -Growing pretty quickly which means inevitable changes happening that you need to keep up with -Work/Life balance is a struggle for some people especially if you have time management challenges, but it's a startup so you know what you're getting into. This has been getting better as the company grows, thankfully. -Culture is really autonomous so if you need a lot of direction and management, this is probably not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2016-01-04
  8. Helpful (43)

    "Falling apart?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stripe full-time

    Pros

    good people good perks challenging work for the most part but end of day youre still working in the payments industry

    Cons

    work life balance has only gotten worse over time execs seem happy to burn through employees since there are new applicants they can replace them with. at an all company presentation they even showed the number of people who left and noted that of those who left last quarter, they only cared about retaining one! only a few voices are heard due to tons of politics at the top - so much about who you know and see over the weekends, remotes are at a huge disadvantage low compensation compared to industry unnecessary hierarchy preventing people from doing good work (where were no layers, in two months there are now four)

    Continue reading
    Stripe2015-07-02
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Fun, fast paced, and exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stripe full-time

    Pros

    I feel really lucky to be at Stripe: it's easily the best place I've ever worked. The people are all super friendly, brilliant, and driven. It definitely feels like everyone here is at the top of their game and works really hard on whatever it is they're doing. Communication between teams is generally very good as well, and it's pretty easy to find someone to help when you need it. The culture here is awesome, too. There's a big focus on transparency, and it's super helpful to work somewhere that pretty much all communication is made public. Management seems to care a lot about employee happiness and feedback, and I feel like even as the company has grown you still have a voice. The pay, benefits, perks, etc are all (IMO) very good. Open vacation policy is a huge bonus. The office is super nice, the food is incredible, and it's a very comfortable work environment. It definitely does not feel like we cheap out on anything. This is also the most rewarding place I've ever worked. I love what I do and the people I work with. I feel fortunate to work for a company that's doing something hard and interesting. It's a very exciting place to be and things move very quickly - seems like someone gets a promotion every day. I can't imagine working anywhere else.

    Cons

    As others have mentioned, work/life balance can be an issue for some... but it's a high-growth startup. It's a great place to work, but it's not a cushy job and some teams are pretty stretched despite all the hiring happening.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2015-07-18
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Exciting and Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stripe

    Pros

    A fun, exciting place to work. A lot of self-direction. Thoughtful leaders. Not much management. The company cares a lot about making excellent experiences. This isn't just limited to users, they actively try to get feedback and iterate on the experience of working here. The little management here actively seeks out how they can do better. If you're into helping a quickly growing company solve interesting challenges, this is a great place for you.

    Cons

    If you're not self-directed, you will be lost. Also, work-life balance could be better, although there's nothing extreme.

    Continue reading
    Stripe2014-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews