Strive Consulting Reviews

Updated May 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Strive Consulting CEO Brian Ganser
Brian Ganser
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am surrounded by great people every day(in 16 reviews)

  • "Fair pay and solid work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "normal growing pains of an up and coming firm(in 21 reviews)

  • "none so far(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing place to work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Senior Recruiter in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture and long term Career path available to employees

      Cons

      Normal Growing Pains with newer markets

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor consulting engagements, high turnover, ineffective leadership

      May 25, 2021 - Management Consulting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It paid well and benefits were decent. Work life balance was good.

      Cons

      Strive is a company that's far better at selling culture, instead of actual consulting work. Don't be fooled. Year after year, the company failed to consistently source meaningful consulting work and has relied on staff aug work, even for their full-time employees. As consultants, you can't expect every engagement to perfect. However, at Strive it's more of the norm vs. the exception to get staffed on a dead-end, mind numbing assignment. This pattern has resulted in significant turnover and a steady loss of talented employees. Additionally, Strive is a top-heavy organization with inept leaders that constantly skirt accountability and have very wishy-washy roles & responsibilities (classic 'too many cooks in the kitchen' / 'what does that guy actually do here' situations). Despite grand plans, flashy power points and constant employee feedback surveys, nothing ever changes. The company claims to be invested in their employees' careers and professional development, yet leaders - across consulting, sales and recruiting - fail to deliver on this promise (particularly among sales and recruiting; management, rewards/recognition and upward mobility is very inconsistent across functions and markets). Strive may seem like a good place to work on the surface, but gaslighting and microaggressions abound, creating a toxic environment. Strive struggled to maintain a steady pipeline of work long before coronavirus and their covid-related layoffs. While they may claim to be in a rebuilding state right now, these problems are deeply rooted and have existed for years. If you're looking for a stop along the way, Strive might be it. But don't expect this to be the job of your dreams.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      You can do better

      Feb 1, 2021 - Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were above average, which was nice. Interview process with the company you'll be contracting with was well done, with good communication all the way through to hire. They also fired my Account Exec after my departure, which was a smart thing to do because she was absolutely terrible at her job and had zero people skills.

      Cons

      IMO, Strive is slightly better than the IT body shops that look for cheap IT offshore H1-B staffing. Once you start working on a project, they really don't care about making sure you, the worker, are satisfied, or finding a way to keep you. You're just a number; they only care that the client is happy, and my Account Exec basically had a "take it or leave it" attitude. Strive is also on the lower end of rate on a W2 basis. I made a much higher rate (and now make a much higher rate) at different IT staffing companies prior to working with Strive, and when I asked for a raise Strive said they might consider a **$2/hr** raise after 6 months. When I told my lousy Account Exec the rate was much lower than what I had been making, she claimed to have never seen that rate in my market, insinuating that I was either lying or nuts. It's immaterial, though, because you can find a better paying opportunity doing the same thing for another company. I did.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Company and Culture - Great Place to Grow

      Jan 20, 2021 - Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and leadership focused on purposeful growth. High standards set for all employees with great support systems to help stretch yourself through experience and meet those standards. Interesting project work so far - only seems to be improving. Fair pay and solid work/life balance.

      Cons

      Smaller company means you need to be a bit more comfortable w/ ambiguity and taking initiative. (Could be spun as a positive if you like an entrepreneurial environment)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Growing organization with a bright future ahead of it

      Oct 9, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've thoroughly enjoyed my time at Strive over the years. The company is a growing organization that's been in transition from it's staffing roots into solutions based consulting and while there have been some speed bumps along the way, they've been building a talented and capable team to deliver on the promises and offerings they have. This is an organization that necessitates individuals with a growth mindset and builder mentality. By no means have they solved all problems but that allows for anyone coming in the door to take a challenge and make it their own to solve. If you're looking for a consultancy that has repeatable, cookie cutter methods to solve client problems, join a big four consultancy. If you want to stretch your own skills and capabilities, Strive is the place to be.

      Cons

      Strive is not a giant consultancy and as such, consultants can be put on projects that aren't the dream fit for their capabilities/competencies. If that's a deal breaker, Strive is not likely for you in the near term.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growth Oriented Environment

      Aug 7, 2020 - Account Executive in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - investment in continued education such as specific technology certifications - continuously expanding and deepening our consulting services offerings - open lines of communication to leadership all the way to our CEO - leadership (including CEO) actually takes the time to get to know you personally, understand your goals, and ultimately lay out a plan to help you achieve those goals - always an open door policy for sharing ideas/opinions about pretty much anything (it's more of a fluid conversation across the company vs a top down approach of just being told what to do, you're actually involved in the discussion) - culturally we are a very interactive environment and I can honestly say that I work with some of my friends - opportunity for growth (pretty much weekly discussions with leadership on where you want to go within our organization) - genuine goal of getting every employee into a "healthy" territory vs just having people in solely hunting territories and seeing what happens - fairly seamless transition into remotely working and kept our communication lines open - plenty of extracurricular activities to create open conversations, a fun environment, and ways for employees to connect personally (yoga, virtual happy hours due to current environment, diversity & inclusion panel discussion, activity based bingo, March Madness themed walking competition, etc.)

      Cons

      - with such rapid growth sometimes you are overwhelmed with items that different teams in our organization are pushing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Mar 18, 2021 - IT Recruiter in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Leadership team. Really cares about your personal growth.

      Cons

      No cons as of right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A positive place in the midst of Coronavirus!

      Aug 18, 2020 - Marketing Communications Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My first day at Strive was 5/11/2020, which was right in the middle Chicago's first Quarantine 'Shelter-in-Place' order. I was one of the first virtual hires for the company and I can't sing enough praises on how they handled the unorthodox timing and situation. A week before my first day, I received my computer and some swag in the mail. I was provided with a full 2 week onboarding schedule built into my outlook calendar, complete with 1:1's to meet a wide variety of people from different markets and different departments. My schedule was also peppered with numerous virtual lunches and happy hours to try and facilitate that 'new job' excitement. Strive did an amazing job of providing me with background on the company, their goals for the upcoming year, and expectations on what my role would look like. Since then, I have been so pleased with management style, support, and the experts I am surrounded by on a day to day basis. Everyone is incredibly bright, motivated, and ready to accomplish our goals, all while living by our company core values.

      Cons

      No cons at this moment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best place I've ever worked!

      Aug 29, 2020 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can definitively say that Strive is the best place I have ever worked. It is an organization filled with enthusiastic, driven individuals all striving (pardon the pun) towards a common goal – to be a relationship-centric organization that focuses on doing the right thing. I have never worked in a more supportive environment and a place that accepts you fully for who you are. If you are driven, results-oriented, and willing to see the silver lining in all things, you will be successful at Strive. Strive’s executive leadership and people managers are attentive and care about their people. Plus, the work-life balance is excellent. If you are performing, you are encouraged to take time off when needed to recharge and reset.

      Cons

      There isn’t anything I can point out as being a con. The only suggestion I could make is to inform new employees about what people’s roles are across the organization and across markets, but a lot of that knowledge comes with time. Plus, it does help you step out of your comfort zone and introduce yourself to others!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Account Executive

      Feb 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with very sharp solutions architects and consultant to help close large deals

      Cons

      Sales growth plan needs finalizing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 147 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Strive Consulting Job Seekers

    Senior Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Strive Consulting? Share Your Experiences

    Strive Consulting logo
    or