Student Painters, LLC Painter Reviews | Glassdoor

Student Painters, LLC Painter Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Student Painters, LLC President Steve Acorn (no image)
Steve Acorn
4 Ratings
  1. "Painter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Painter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Student Painters, LLC for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything will be done and delivered

    Cons

    Sometimes slow 1 man crew

    Student Painters, LLC2020-01-07
  2. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Painter in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Student Painters, LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Efficiency bonus - Given responsibilities - On your own for the most part - $10/hr + bonuses at 40hrs a week is decent money

    Cons

    - labor - long days - roof is hot

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2019-02-26
  3. "Painter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Painter in Delaware, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Student Painters, LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers are fun, and you learn useful life skills.

    Cons

    It's hot working outside, but it builds character.

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2018-06-04
  4. "Best Job ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Painter in Delaware, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Student Painters, LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is an awesome job- you get to work outside and enjoy the weather. The managers are relaxed but organized.

    Cons

    i’ve never had a bad experience

    Student Painters, LLC2018-05-31
  5. "Painter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Painter in New Baltimore, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Student Painters, LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and the hours.

    Cons

    Weather can be unpredictable at times (rain, heat)

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2018-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Painter in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Student Painters, LLC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Painting experience which I still utilize to this day.

    Cons

    Company preys on high school students who don't know any better. I was desperate for a job as a high schooler, so I mistakingly applied to be a house painter without doing any research. I can list a hundred reasons why this company is atrocious but I'll boil it down: -- I was promised a paid training session by Sherwin-Williams professionals. Those "professionals" turned out to be college kids. -- I told by my manager that all essential tools (such as ladder & paint rollers) will be provided. Then, about a week before I was to start, I was informed by my manager that I had to BUY my own painting brush. I told him that I assumed an essential tool like a brush would be provided and he starting screaming at me that he spent thousands of dollars on ladders and that I'm too stingy to go out and buy a fifteen dollar brush. Almost got fired over this. -- I was severely underpaid for the amount of work I was to do. You are expected to paint a house from the crack of dawn to sundown all for peanuts. Doing all of this in the blistering sun with only a thirty-minute lunch break makes moral very low. -- End of the week rolls by and I don't get my paycheck. Asked my co-workers about this and they admitted they've been waiting for their paycheck for two weeks! Our manager tried to butter us up with free breakfast and sweet talk but I wasn't having any of it and walked out.

    Student Painters, LLC2018-05-15
  7. "Disorganized, Unprofessional and Dangerous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Painter in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Student Painters, LLC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with other students which can be fun.

    Cons

    Training was basically non-existent and ladder safety was a big issue. Just think about the situation: you're on a crew of 3-5 completely inexperienced painters working 20 to 40 feet up on the side of a house with power lines, wasp nests and God knows what else on questionable equipment borrowed from somebody's stepdad. We had a guy fall 12 feet from a ladder on our second week of work and was injured for the rest of the summer, totally avoidable accident if he was trained properly. I have no idea how Student Painters hasn't been sued to the point of bankruptcy yet..

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2017-06-03
  8. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Painter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Student Painters, LLC full-time

    Pros

    Good work, learned practical skills and made some summer money, it's a typical summer job

    Cons

    If you don't have a hardworking or skilled crew you'll find yourself putting in a lot of extra work which cuts into some extra cash for the team, seemed the estimates for cost were occasionally off, not bad pay for the team (hourly) but my manager had a rough go of it

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2016-08-12
  9. "Good Summer Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Painter in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Student Painters, LLC for less than a year

    Pros

    Can be steady 40hr week work if you have a good manager.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than most painters get paid.

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2015-12-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "This job was horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Painter in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Student Painters, LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with people your own age.

    Cons

    Trouble getting paid. Bosses nagging you. Bosses disrespecting you. Not enough proper training. Improper led techniques on job site! LED EXPOSURE! Managers falsely advertised the amount of hours for workers.

    Continue reading
    Student Painters, LLC2012-09-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews