Suburban Hospital Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Suburban Hospital President Jacky Schultz  (no image)
Jacky Schultz
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Suburban hospital is a great place to work for. The management team is friendly and courteous."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support Team Member in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly, courteous, great and pleasant

    Cons

    compensation,healthcare, retirement options, and food options

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    August 6, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We are so pleased with your experience at Suburban Hospital. Thank you for sharing!

  2. "Unsafe place. Not a just culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Not many. Pay seems to be at mid ground

    Cons

    Toxic culture of blame. Blame the lowest ones for systems mistakes

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    August 6, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am sorry to hear about your experience. I’d be happy to follow up with you. Please email us at YourOpinionMatters@jhmi.edu so we can discuss. Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team.


  3. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - C N A in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for growth and career developments

    Cons

    Backbiting among the employees, which I think is everywhere

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We are so glad to hear you had a positive experience. Thank you for your sharing! Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team

  4. "good RN's to work with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    wonderful people to work with, most of the time RN's work together to get things done throughout the shift

    Cons

    RN's expected to do so many jobs Patient to nurse ratio was usually 5:1, sometimes 6:1 on day shift

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you and we value you and your feedback! Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team

  5. "Nice area"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Population around the area is good. Well educated/mannered but not all. There’s work-life balance here!

    Cons

    Staffing. It’s every hospital prob.

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you and we value you and your feedback! Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team

  6. "Patient Access Department- Hostile and Toxic Environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registration Coordinator in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The environment at Suburban is generally pleasant. The employees are helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    The management team over Patient Access very seriously needs to be replaced. Everyone in the department walks on eggshells because of the hostile environment that the manager and the director has created. The environment is so controlled and micromanaged that you pretty much have to ask for permission before doing anything. If not, you are pretty much guaranteed to get written up for outrageous things. In this department, the employees are always wrong, extremely undervalued and are always seen as the problem. Myself and other employees have been talked down to on many occasions. If you are not a "yes man", you are targeted until you either leave or are terminated. So many people have voluntarily left the department all on account of one person, the manager. Everything you do is monitored, questioned and the manager has unreasonable expectations for the employees and is only concerned about what benefits them. Trust is non-existent here and many if not all of the employees are extremely unhappy. Employees have reported the manager's wrongdoings to HR, however nothing is ever done about it. If you value you're mental well being and peace of mind, seek employment opportunities in another department. Suburban Hospital is a descent employer to work for, however the Patient Access department is in shambles and will continue to be as long as that awful manager is there.

    Continue reading

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am sorry to hear about your experience. I’d be happy to follow up with you. Please email us at YourOpinionMatters@jhmi.edu so we can discuss. Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team.

  7. "Good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - CNA 

    I worked at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent place to work for

    Cons

    Traffic to get there sucks

  8. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Social Worker in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork among the employees

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you and we value you and your feedback! Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team

  9. "Nurse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are ok, flexible scheduling (MAYBE).

    Cons

    Little hours of paid time off per check, managment does not care about their staff at all! Always poorly staffed, so you end up overloading yourself. Managment is very unhelpful, never ever make you feel appreciated.

    Suburban Hospital Response

    April 17, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am sorry to hear about your experience. I’d be happy to follow up with you. Please email us at YourOpinionMatters@jhmi.edu so we can discuss. Suburban Hospital Talent Acquisition Team.

  10. "Comfortable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Technologist in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Suburban Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -A nice cozy place to work with generally nonabrasive coworkers -Pension plan

    Cons

    DMV Traffic No cafeteria past 3 PM

    Continue reading
Found 50 reviews