Success Academy Charter Schools Chess Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 614 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Eva Moskowitz
374 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "If you want to make a difference in a child's life, SA is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4th Grade ICT Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Professional Development is provided throughout the school year and in the summer so you are always getting better as a teacher -Leaders are constantly in and out of classrooms providing in the moment feedback to help you improve your trade -Materials are supplied for you (this was a huge PRO after coming from a public school where all of my supplies were purchased using my own meager paycheck) -The Education Institute...

    Show More

    Cons

    -This job is not easy, but how can a job that yields such positive results be easy? You have to be in it for the right reason. -Sometimes it is hard to avoid taking home work, both physical work and the mental stress of the work. I found this to be the case in my 3 years of teaching prior to coming to Success, unfortunately, I believe it is simply part of the profession.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-02-28
  2. "Supportive Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supremely qualified, effective and nurturing upper-management. I'm constantly inspired by the talent and dedication of the people at this organization. Everyone puts their hearts and souls into helping SA students and schools.

    Cons

    The unfair negative press about these excellent schools can be disheartening.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-07-01
  3. "Approach with caution and research. Ask for a school visit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Humanities Teacher 

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The entry-level pay is above average.

    Cons

    Long work hours, tight management.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-07-11
  4. "A Home for Educational Entrepreneurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is an ideal environment for someone who is entrepreneurial and looking to make their mark contributing to decreasing the achievement gap, education broadly, and a growing organization. If you're the type of person who wants to wear multiple hats and grow as a professional educator or even project or people manager, this is great place to quickly develop.

    Cons

    With that start-up culture of course comes a need to dedicate a lot of time and energy to your work. If you want a 9-5 then teaching probably isn't your cup of tea in general.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-07-01
  5. "Dream Job!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super interesting and great colleagues!!

    Cons

    Would love to have more conference rooms

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-07-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Schools, Driven Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team is genuinely committed to great outcomes for kids, unwilling to take shortcuts. Schools are inspiring and adorable. Beacon for other educators.

    Cons

    Performance bar is high, so definitely not a place to kick back.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-06-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Pay Snacks and lunch provided The kids

    Cons

    Depends entirely on what school you're placed at and who your leader is. We went through at least 4 different leadership which seems to be common. Teachers quit throughout the school year and it even seems expected from day one to lose people. A culture of fear, intimidation and rarely any valorization for staff work effort. No work life balance. You will be exhausted everyday and gaslit by leaders for not doing enough...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on retainment and stability

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-07-10
  8. "job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Operations Coordinator 

      I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      professional development offered and team work

      Cons

      demanding work and long hours

      Success Academy Charter Schools2019-06-27
    • "Great Pay, Great Benefits, High-Intensity Workspace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Pay and Great Benefits. Great place to grow your practice.

      Cons

      Can sometimes be inefficient with time.

      Success Academy Charter Schools2019-06-27
    • "Challenging but Valuable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You will become an incredible teacher. The PD is super high quality and you get very high level and frequent feedback. They have a ton of money and you have unlimited supplies, and the staff outings are fun. The teachers are also amazing and I made some of my closest friends there. When you leave, you can get a job anywhere.

      Cons

      It's really, really hard. It feels like whatever you do is never good enough. The hours are long. Admin sometimes looks the other way or participates when teachers are mean to students.

      Success Academy Charter Schools2019-06-27
    Found 614 reviews