KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Success Academy Charter Schools

Engaged Employer

Success Academy Charter Schools

Add a Review

Success Academy Charter Schools Teacher Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 570 of over 1,335 reviews

2.7
29%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools Founder, CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
308 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,873

959 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Success Academy Charter Schools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    English teacher

    Jul 26, 2021 - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The students are a joy to work with. Board gives fair salary

    Cons

    With Covid it’s every difficult to connect with my students

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Nowhere else I'd rather be doing this work

    Jan 18, 2022 - Science Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strength of community within and across schools; career growth opportunities; dynamic and fast-paced work environment; high-impact, mission-driven ethos.

    Cons

    High rates of attrition; tough work-life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Forced to teach their way

    Jan 17, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great health insurance Tuition for master complexly paid for

    Cons

    Pay felt like it was good when I first got the job. However the initial 55k a year for the hours expected to work was just not cutting it. I had to travel from queens to the Bronx meaning I needed to leave for work at 5:45 to get there by clock in at 6:30 in order to try an find parking before 6:50 (my fault for not clarifying initially with the company that I needed to stay in queens). Kids came into the room at 7:10 and class started at 7:30. While I worked there I had a 30 min lunch that was often interrupted by admin to put in work for “the rest of the team”. I didn’t have a prep 3 out of the 5days due to staffing shortages. Kids were dismissed at 3:45 and I “could leave” @ 4:15 if all my students were picked up on time. Howeve admin expects you to stay after to complete phone call to parents to keep them updated. I wouldn’t get out of the building @4:15 unless I ran out of there once my kids left. I frequently did not abide by their request to call Paramus as I did not believe in a lot of their behavioral strategies with the children. Most people that start at this school have little to no background in Education. I had my bachelors in childhood education at the time and was told the exact opposite by my education professors of what SA was telling me to do. It’s a very rigid place and unless you get the right admin I don’t think this is a place anyone with an education background would truly enjoy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Associate Teacher

    Jan 9, 2022 - Success Academy Associate Teacher in Flatbush, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was lucky to have strong leaders who lead by example. Communication within the team was strong, and all the teachers had each others back. The sense of community was really strong at my school.

    Cons

    The quality of the training in the beginning of the school year gave new teaches a false sense of security when it came to managing classrooms and being ready to teach. Many of the teachers I entered training The strengths of the organization are not evenly distributed however. This job is challenging. The quality of your VP makes it either easier, or harder. I bounced around grade levels, and was lucky enough to have strong managers who were receptive to feedback and cared a lot about my growth and development. I was also lucky to have a lead teacher who was grounded, and a really compassionate and knowledgeable teacher.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    CEO & Founder

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are glad to know that you found a strong community at your school, and wish you the best in future roles.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lead Teacher Experience

    Jan 5, 2022 - Lead Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits, though work-life balance is a concern for most.

    Cons

    Work-Life Balance/ Harsh Leadership. Pay is less than most other schools in the city.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    CEO & Founder

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. Our principals are expected to provide constructive feedback to teachers, but this should not come across as harsh. We’re sorry SA was not a better overall fit for you, but wish you the best of luck moving forward.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Choose wisely

    Jan 19, 2022 - Lead Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are not certified to teach it is a good salary and experience to get your feet wet.

    Cons

    The hours, amount of commitment, heavy reliance on data, lack of administrative support, and scapegoating teachers will have you running out of there. It’s also a who you know/ who likes you not a what you know/ what can you do type of environment. Play your cards right and get ahead; burn a bridge and you’re doomed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good experience but horrible culture

    Jan 19, 2022 - Success Academy Lead Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience to get into teaching as a 22 year old. Pay is great.

    Cons

    Horrible hours and expectations for staff and students alike.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall rating

    Jan 3, 2022 - Lead ICT Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - resources and materials available for students, teachers and families. Competitive salary

    Cons

    Must be able to balance work/home life

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    CEO & Founder

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and for all your hard work in service of our scholars. Best of luck in your future!

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great school system, but treat staff like factory workers

    Dec 21, 2021 - Lead Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Children are amazing, the school works as a cohesive unit. People will, mostly, have your back when you are put in difficult situations. Lots of opportunities for advancement and professional development.

    Cons

    Unfair Wages Long hours (7:30-5) with work to take home Hard to manage work life balance Non transparent pay scale. (Since it’s so poor I imagine they hide it on purpose) It goes 50k for AT, 55 first year lead, 61, 67, 72 and then 1.5k each year after that.

    5 people found this review helpful

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    CEO & Founder

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you put into teaching our scholars, and we believe we offer competitive salaries in addition to a robust benefits package.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Par for the course

    Dec 31, 2021 - Science Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of locations so there's flexibility for where to work.

    Cons

    Long days, you're expected to substitute for absent teachers so you're frequently losing your prep periods to cover for someone else.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Success Academy Charter Schools Response

    CEO & Founder

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and for the time you spent in our schools.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 570 Reviews

Popular Careers with Success Academy Charter Schools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Success Academy Charter Schools? Share Your Experiences

or