Success Academy Charter Schools "scholars" Reviews | Glassdoor

Success Academy Charter Schools Employee Reviews about "scholars"

Updated 22 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
442 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "scholars"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding work with continuous opportunities to grow and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal 

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    Success Academy students and families are wonderful. At SA, you get to work with dedicated families and curious children who partner with us everyday to reverse the achievement gap. While the students and their families are the primary factor that keeps me coming back year after year, there are plenty of other pros to working at Success Academy. As a teacher, your lesson plans and units are created for you by the... curriculum team at the Network office. This gives you the time to really study the units and content to make sure you understand it at a deep level to be able to teach the material to children. With that being said, the lessons are by no means scripts that you are mandated to follow. You have the resources provided to you, but also have the freedom to adjust the lesson plans as you see fit to best serve the needs of your students. Additionally, whether you are a teacher or leader, you are consistently getting feedback from your manager to improve your practice and help with your development. This organization provides amazing opportunities to impact the lives of students in NYC while also growing and developing as a professional.

    Show More

    Cons

    For some people, it can be an adjustment to get constant feedback everyday. Leaders are often in classrooms observing to help improve the practice of our teachers, which can be a change for teachers who come from other public schools. However, this feedback is all in the interest of improving the classroom experience for our scholars and helping to push them to be their best. Additionally, in the beginning it can be... challenging not to bring work home. As time goes on though, teachers are able to manage their time during the day and minimize the amount of work that they bring home. In my last 2 years teaching before I became an Assistant Principal I rarely brought work home with me because I was able to use my prep time well during the day.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great community, but requires a lot of hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - SA's view on education is very progressive and rapidly closing the education gap within underserved communities - The kids and community as a whole are amazing to work with and are the sole reason the job is worth it - SA has top of the line technology for scholars and staff members to use - Leadership that I have been under have been very positive and supportive - The benefits SA provides are amazing and... unheard of in the education community

    Show More

    Cons

    - Retention rates are very low, which leads to a multitude of new teachers every year with little to no experience in the classroom - SA doesn't appreciate/reward teachers that have certifications in education: I have a master's degree and two bachelor's degrees that are education-based and get paid the same as teachers that do not have a degree in education, let alone the subject they are teaching - Long hours... are expected for any teaching job, but SA work hours are extensive and, I believe, are the reason most teachers leave so quickly. I work about 75 hours a school week + around 8 hours on the weekends - Test prep is extensive and makes that time of year unbearable for everyone

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Success Academy Flatbush is the best place I've ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dance Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive Environment. We support our scholars, We support each other. Our Leaders support us. There is a mutual feeling that anything is possible and any dream is reachable. There is always someone there to help us achieve greatness. There is great opportunity and room for growth within the building and within the network. You are faced with new challenges that keep you working hard but also help you grow. I am in... love with my job and my work place.

    Show More

    Cons

    The workload can be overwhelming if you don't have a system in place to maintain work-life balance. Once you get good at managing your time, everything becomes easier.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  4. "Hard Work but Rewarding in Every Way Possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4th Grade Lead Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a second year employee of Success, I do not believe there is a more rewarding career or place to develop yourself as an educator. The core of Success Academy is growth and development, but not only for the scholars but for the educators working there. Every Wednesdays teachers engage in professional development and receive feedback daily to improve their instruction. The community throughout the network of... Success, is filled with passionate educators leading the way to make a difference in not only their scholars lives but the entire education reform.

    Show More

    Cons

    This job is time intensive, and this is pressure for your class to perform well. My advice is to manage your time wisely and be transparent with your colleagues as well as leadership with how you are doing and what you need help with. This job takes hard work but if you are passionate and dedicated, you can grow into an incredible educator.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-19
  5. "Flatbush is the most joyful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Flatbush, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff is so friendly to each other and to the children. The environment is a place where kids would rather be in than out. As a teacher you can move up in positions quickly based on your performance and level of dedication. The leader team works hard to make everyone in the building better teachers and give clear feedback to help you grow and help scholars reach their full potential. If you are successful in... this environment, you will be able to teach and work anywhere because you have the organization skills and grit to get things done well.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a high bar of excellence and it may be hard for you to work at a place if you are not comfortable with getting feedback to get better. You have to keep in mind that everything you do is for the children and being prepared and reaching your full potential is the most important.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "I focus on the good & find ways to handle the bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. KIDS: The children are the best part of this job. Funny, generous, loving, willful, determined, and hilarious! You’re surrounded by bright-eyed, inquisitive young minds. 2. LOVE FOR LEARNING: I love to read & write so I genuinely enjoy my job. Discussing books and writing, even at a middle school level, is fun for me and still challenging. 3. $$$: Quick promotions. From your start day $50k, at one year $61k.... That may not be a lot for some but young people should be comfortable on this wage. Although, I still can’t afford a studio or a one bedroom anywhere in NYC but... still comfortable. 4. GIFTS & PERKS: The swag and fully stocked fridge in the Teacher’s Work Room was nice before the budget got cut (suspicious, how this suddenly happened). Staff outings, Christmas gifts, free therapy, Yoga & Fitness classes at your school, etc. 5. FRIENDS: The staff! If you stay, you’ll gain true friendships and allies. 6. YOU’LL GROW: It’s easier with time. You will grow and learn the best practices, how to do the job most efficiently and the least stress inducing. 7. A LIL WIGGLE ROOM: It feels overwhelming in the beginning but after establishing yourself as a good teacher, you’ll gain some wiggle room. You can do your own thing, and honestly once you’ve proven your value, they really cant afford to fire you. Wear sneakers (because as a teacher, any other footwear doesn’t make sense with the job... would you tell a track star to wear heels or flats to a race? No, so why am I told that when I’m on my feet all day??), leave at 4:30 with the kids, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. RIGIDITY: They believe the students can only learn if they have perfect posture and perfect desk! They value scholar talk but don’t ever allow the scholars to talk, not even during hallway transitions which results in teachers having to deal with 30 squirmy scholars with so much built up tension. They push the kids to constantly hustle which really drives anxiety up in the children. Performance pressure, timed... pressure, they’re told they have to “Go! Go! Go!” constantly. 2. DRACONIAN, FIRE-BREATHING DRAGON CULTURE: As a new teacher, you’re forced into their style of behavior correction which is strict, mean, at times embarrassing for the students but it is the only thing the children will respond to after being in the Success System for so long. These kids can be very mean to new teachers and take advantage of them if they smell fresh, new meat, its hard to show kindness when you first start out because they will walk over you. 3. MEETINGS & DELIVERABLES: Teacher’s time is not valued. Wednesday T-school is a waste of time. Rather than allow teachers to prep, grade and plan, they force us to sit in meeting after meeting. Just to listen to people say things they’ve already said and discussed, or don’t apply to everyone and could truly be sent in an email. You’re given so many mini deliverables on top of the amount of responsibilities we already have. Many of these deliverables are meaningless and fade out of existence when no one is keeping up with them, so it really shows how unimportant they were to begin with. 4. SENIOR AND JUNIOR LEADERS: Young and ego driven. Will waste more of your time talking your ear off and micro managing you with even more deliverables sent to them personally, thinking their words & tasks will improve your practice. And if you ever prove them wrong, they’ll never let you know it. 5. 1O HOUR WORK DAY: I guess none of us fresh college grads are well informed enough to speak out about this but I’m sure this is illegal. The work day is 7:30a to 5:30p for some schools (not all - unfair). No overtime pay and on top of the 10 hour work day, they expect you to get work done on weekends. SA needs to fix this or I’m sure they’ll see a lawsuit soon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall there are more pros, then cons but the cons are still heavy. My advice to management is to offer more money, overtime pay, bonuses. Address your senior and junior leaders on more time-efficient and teacher centered ways to improve the teachers. Teach the scholars character development, rather than obedience. I understand kids don’t really understand sometimes, but we’re training kids to be compliant rather... than behaving well for their benefit. Wednesdays can be limited to Teacher work time and ONE meeting. Send more emails, we check our emails, I promise. This way teachers can leave around 3 and have a nice afternoon.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Some pros but stay away if you want to remain sane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -the KIDS are amazing and their love, overall growth and drive is truly unique -Academic rigor/bar is incredibly high, however, it is very realistic for the majority of kids to meet/succeed within this network -Behavior management system works for many -Incentive heavy -Parents are incredibly invested and therefore are on board to reiterate the messages their scholars receive at school at home

    Cons

    -State test prep is absurd for kids and adults... -There is a lot of pressure on ALL parties: parents, students, and teachers to always do the right thing and have better data -Leadership is often a mess and it is rare to have experienced APs supporting your development -Professionalism at this organization is a joke as most teachers/APs are new to the game. Expectations for staff vary -Content meetings are... essentially useless as the majority of employees are just trying to impress other adults with their knowledge...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff more and recognize all the talent that goes unnoticed. Realize that the high turnover rate of staff is directly connected to a lack of training and support rather than people being afraid of "failure".

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to be at the forefront of an educational revolution...Look no further than SA!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Success Academies Charter Schools have a long history of being an innovative organization. They have created schools that are both equally joyful and rigorous, where scholars, teachers, and parents are forced to present their best selves as we all have one common goal: ensuring that our children are compassionate, hardworking individuals ready to take on any challenge and leave a lasting legacy and impact on the... world. SA does this by providing teachers and school leaders with constant, year-long professional development and support. Standouts are recognized and promoted for high achievement and their ability to maximize potential. SA's curriculum allows teachers to take ownership of their classrooms and bring forth new ideas that can enhance scholar learning. Scholars go on monthly field studies to amazing venues, museums, parks, etc as a means to fully immerse themselves in whatever concept/topic they are learning. Parents are asked to be equal and active partners and are invited to numerous school events and functions in hopes of building true, authentic relationships. To see this organization grow and to be a part of the lasting impact it has on its community has been truly an honor.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours can seem long if one does not know how to manage their time efficiently.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "There's a Reason for the High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    I admire their commitment to scholars. Good resources. Dedicated people.

    Cons

    Very Punitive culture, especially towards staff. They allow very little room for human error. High standards are important, but if you talk down to your staff and aggressively micromanage them it's no wonder they lose so many teachers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being such "Negative Controllers" as they say.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-08-14
  10. "Incredible place to work with lots of opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been given a tremendous amount of support and professional development over the years. I started an associate teacher 8 years ago and have been given the opportunity to grow and become a stronger educator. SA is constantly changing for the better and striving to improve schooling for scholars and the workplace environment for employees. The scholars and families are incredible and will always brighten your... day! SA is making history and changing what is possible for public education.

    Show More

    Cons

    This job takes an enormous amount of work and dedication but it is rewarding and worth it.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-08-07
Found 72 reviews