KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Success Academy Charter Schools

Engaged Employer

Success Academy Charter Schools

Add a Review

Success Academy Charter Schools Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 of over 1,287 reviews

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools Founder, CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
731 Ratings
Pros
  • "The professional development you find at success is truly hard to come by(in 83 reviews)

  • "High accountability for both scholars and teachers, which helps both of us grow(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance that can result in easy burn-out if not cautious(in 173 reviews)

  • "It requires a lot of work and long hours(in 130 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,866

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Success Academy Charter Schools and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      So much work, but for a great cause

      Sep 10, 2020 - Specialist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Admirable mission and goals for education

      Cons

      Too much work, lack of work/life balance

      1 person found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thanks so much for your feedback and your work here. We encourage you to reach out to your manager to discuss work-life balance concerns, or you can also raise this concern in the upcoming staff engagement survey in order to spark a broader discussion of possible solutions when you review the results as a team

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just a mixed bag across the board

      Jan 14, 2021 - Teacher, Elementary School 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Met some great coworkers who cared about kids and were incredibly hard working -Some of the smartest, best educated kids I've worked with -Parents who really care and are invested -Lots of resources for the classroom, you never have to buy something using your own money, lots of awesome supplies for kids. -Electives and science taught every day -They let me go part time for a semester after my son was born

      Cons

      -Bad work life balance -Way too big an emphasis on testing as the only metric for success -So many of the kids are stressed and anxious. Lots of test anxiety -Cookie cutter, kids aren't encouraged to be themselves or be unique, but to conform to one model of SA perfection -And obviously all the negative things you can find about them online are 90-100% true

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. Anti-racism is at the heart of our mission to end education inequality, and we are deeply committed to ensuring that our school communities are safe, welcoming, and inclusive for scholars, families, and staff members. If staff members observe troubling behaviors or attitudes that suggest racism, we urge them to raise it with their managers. We also believe that ensuring our scholars are prepared to excel by external measures of performance is an equity issue: affluent parents spend thousands of dollars on tutors to prepare their children for various standardized tests and our kids deserve the same level of investment. Nevertheless, each year, as we continuously refine our curriculum — increasing its rigor, depth, and breadth — we have been able to reduce the number of days we spend on preparation for external tests. We know how challenging remote learning has been and have been inspired by the flexibility, ingenuity and commitment our teachers have demonstrated during this crisis. Thank you for the time you spent with us, and best of luck.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Rigorous work environment

      Jan 23, 2021 - Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very fast-paced work culture where you will grow and test your limits.

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance that can result in easy burn-out if not cautious.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. We know teaching is indeed demanding — even more so in a pandemic! We appreciate the time you spent with us.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Believe the reviews!

      Jan 14, 2021 - Operations Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teams and hard-working people!

      Cons

      An extreme disconnect between Network and school-level employees. Hardly any work-life balance.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand that working in education is a demanding career, and that remote work makes it all the more challenging. We routinely collect feedback from our employees to strengthen the partnership between the Network and School Teams. Thank you for the time you spent with us.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Wouldn't recommend unless desperate for job

      Jan 15, 2021 - Assessment Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, some of the staff are fun to work with

      Cons

      Little work life balance, toxic environment at times

      3 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good for training

      Jan 23, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PD, training, salary is ok to start, enhanced work ethics

      Cons

      Culture, work life balance, hours, leadership

      4 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Ok

      Jan 18, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s okay. Could be better.

      Cons

      Work life balance. Treat everyone with respect.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Teacher

      Jan 12, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provides great opportunities to children

      Cons

      Work life balance was very poor

      2 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent with us. We know work-life balance can be hard for educators. To help balance, we provide time management training, and benefits such as free, online therapy and medical visits, exercise classes onsite at schools, and Employee Assistance Program that includes tools for managing stress, resources and referrals for emergency child, elder, and pet care, and legal and financial consulting.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Quick Review

      Jan 7, 2021 - Lead Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - working with the kids - quick advancement

      Cons

      -no work life balance -purposeless meetings

      4 people found this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. Teaching is indeed demanding — even more so in a pandemic! — and your managers and colleagues can very likely share ideas and strategies for achieving a more balanced schedule. We know of teachers who have shaved hours off their day through highly focused planning, sharing responsibilities with team members, and assigning non-instructional classroom tasks to scholars (our scholars — even high schoolers — love helping out!). In addition, please reach out to colleagues and managers for additional tips on time management -- we also have tools to support you in this area on the Teacher Toolkit page of the Ed Institute. We are also always looking for ways to streamline our operations to work as efficiently and effectively as possible. Please don’t hesitate to raise your concern about meetings with your manager or in our next employee engagement survey. Your feedback is important to us!

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      High Expectations

      Dec 10, 2020 - Associate Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Community of school, hard working peers

      Cons

      Difficult work life balance due to extremely high expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Success Academy Charter Schools Response

      Founder & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. There are no two ways about it: Teaching is a demanding career. We appreciate your commitment to kids and thank you for your service during such a challenging time.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 169 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Success Academy Charter Schools Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Success Academy Charter Schools? Share Your Experiences

    or