SugarCRM Reviews | Glassdoor

SugarCRM Reviews

Updated June 30, 2017
155 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

155 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Growing pains, competitive market, and low name recognition (in 9 reviews)

  • The sales team works extremely hard (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (20)

    "Dysfunctional Org with Lack of Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Free food (but lots of bay area companies offer this)
    Perfect sized company
    Flexible working schedule

    Cons

    The company has been making bad hires and is having a hard time retaining the good talent. The HR department is not good at recruiting and sometimes doesn't know how to pitch the company and product effectively to candidates. They also don't seem to care about the fact that the company isn't retaining talent. They spend more time planning random events that no one is interested in vs. talking to employees and helping to resolve retention and hiring issues.

    The leaders here have a lack of vision on where the product needs to be and a lot of teams feel like they don't know where they are going. The PM and Eng teams aren't the strongest here, neither is Marketing. Overall, the actual product is weak...trying to play catch up with Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics as others have stated.

    Lack of career progression and no transparency on how to progress in your career here. There is no culture anymore since people are constantly leaving. Engineering team has way too many junior or inexperienced developers.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better....the HR department makes things hard for everyone. Leadership needs to be stronger in product org.


  2. Helpful (7)

    "Sugar is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Collaborative and fun work environment. GREAT product, Solid Leadership, Strong core values, Cross functional departments are generally very supportive of each other. Company does a lot of charity type things, lunches etc. which gives people a chance to give back to their communities while at the office. Free snacks in every building at HQ and lots of lunches brought in to feed the troops. Larger company with start up feel and good opportunity to make an instant impact. You will get to wear a lot of hats and implement your own ideas which is very rewarding.

    Cons

    A lot of the leadership changed within the course of a year which leaves some people hesitant to join the company. Company is growing like crazy so things can get a little tight in terms of space. (but some may see this as a good problem to have.) Process and procedures are still being implemented in many departments as the company grows. Fast paced so not everyone can function under the pressure and rapid pace.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to have Monthly meeting with Executive staff to hear what Individual employees have to say, take those insights to heart and implement changes based on ides and input from the employees in the trenches.

  3. Helpful (29)

    "Stay away if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time

    Pros

    1. The free food that's available intermittently.
    2. As the name suggests there's plenty of Sugar in the office. You will never run out of sugary snacks or drinks

    Cons

    1. All the senior product managers have left. Most of the product managers are relatively new and the product team as a whole lacks able leadership.
    2. There is unnecessary hierarchy in the product team
    3. The product is weak. It's a glorified Sales management tool ,which is as one earlier reviewer mentioned, is playing catch up with Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics
    4. Marketing is not in alignment with product. In fact the last I heard most of the marketing team has quit.
    5. The Talent Acquisition team does a poor job of being able to attract quality people.

    Advice to Management

    Product needs an overhaul. Please don't overhype new features in the product that are probably a year behind our competitors as "wow features".

    SugarCRM Response

    Jun 8, 2016 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your feedback, as your input is valuable to us. PCMagazine's Business Choice Award went to SugarCRM's in 2015. The external votes speaks volumes to our product. Regarding the... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work with potential for IPO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Product Management in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1- Free food and snacks
    2- Strong potential for IPO or to be acquired
    3- Good working environment
    4- Fast moving
    5- Focused on customer success

    Cons

    1- There has been significant change in the company in the last few years. It is unclear if people were forced out but from I can tell the new leaders are very strong and capable.

    2- It is pretty clear one of their biggest issue is getting customer messaging right and having people know who they are and what they do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on the customer and gaining ground. Improve the marketing and messaging.

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 17, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thanks for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with SugarCRM! Sugar has just gone through a high-growth, pivotal time in the companies' evolution, and with this... More


  5. Helpful (18)

    "Great Company, but Marketing is not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time

    Pros

    The company and products are good. Hiring lots of sales people and the company cares about their employees and has lots of events. CEO is good and is really trying to grow the company and that is exciting to be part of. Company has had a lot of good press lately.

    Cons

    The CMO is good, but the strategy is not clear. Product Marketing is not very good, so we are all making up our own messages and content for marketing programs.

    Advice to Management

    Marketing needs people that are experienced at marketing. I know of 4 people in marketing that are looking for new jobs.

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 17, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. SugarCRM's core Marketing team has expanded by 8 people in 2015, and we are rebuilding the Product Marketing team. We value your input and encourage you to... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Sugar is a great place to work. The people are great and even though the company is growing like crazy they still have a start-up type vibe.

    Cons

    Not a lot of perks. Stingy with free lunches. No 401K match and bonuses only go to VP level and above (which let's be honest, they aren't the ones that need the money), awful maternity leave.

    Advice to Management

    You're a successful growing company, start implementing some of the perks that other software companies provide in the bay.

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 10, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At SugarCRM we offer very competitive benefits and perks; some of the “public company” perks will come later. If possible, we hope you are... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people. Smart people. Excellent snacks and catered lunches. Easy informal dress code. Great telecommute policy. Friendly.

    Cons

    Iffy product. Uncertain management. Managing for the short term to get IPO. Lays off entire sales staff every three years.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the staff churn. You hire the best people. Use them.

    SugarCRM Response

    Sep 25, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your feedback. SugarCRM is in a high-growth , pivotal time in the companies' evolution, and with this growth comes necessary change in order to make forward momentum. Your People... More

  8. Helpful (15)

    "It's NOT as sweet as Sugar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Free snacks. Fresh fruits Tuesday/Thursday

    Cons

    Unprofessional Team Leader. Controller has very poor communication. If you are not a regular employees, you are NOT part of the team.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to do your clean-up before you become public. It's embarrassing to be part of that team.

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 10, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value your opinion. Please reach out to the People & Places team to share your concerns.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Loving life as a Suga"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Like most places, your job is about as tolerable as your management. I've found SugarCRM a great place to work. I love the attitudes and the people- it's a happy place to be.

    Cons

    We're growing like crazy and it seems like it's losing some of the intimacy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Feed me more!

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 10, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with SugarCRM including the people you work with. We are currently working on an internal collaboration platform... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sugar Is Sweet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love working at Sugar. The company treats their employees very well, and I love how close I an my other coworkers work together.

    Cons

    We're not Google or Facebook so we don't have all the amenities they have. Would love to have a cafeteria, gym, and other perks.

    SugarCRM Response

    Nov 10, 2015 – Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are "sweet on Sugar!" At SugarCRM we offer very competitive benefits and perks; some of the “public company... More


Showing 155 of 157 reviews
Reset Filters