SugarHouse Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

SugarHouse Casino Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Greg Carlin
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "The pay and benefits were competitive, much more than at a fast food or big box retail company that many of the employees came from(in 4 reviews)

  • "good benefits- healthcare including vision and dental(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management has favorites and only look out for those individuals(in 5 reviews)

  • "SugarHouse is the best place to work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast paced but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cage Shift Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with unlimited potential if you want it.

    Cons

    Nothing outside of usual job concerns.

    SugarHouse Casino2018-12-18
  2. "Internally company is in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal/Compliance Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health benefits, opportunities to move up, no-fee work parking in the City of Philadelphia

    Cons

    Pay is way under every industry standard, across the board, in all departments and every position. Raises don't come. Sugarhouse is not willing to pay for experience, so in most positions there is not a strong sense of working under supervisors who know how to manage or have expertise. The vibe appears to be laid back, but there are a lot of politics under the surface - office politics, backstabbing, lack of trustworthy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, it wouldn't make a difference. Rats are rewarded and promoted.

    SugarHouse Casino2019-04-18
  3. "Sugar House Casino"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the learning experience.

    Cons

    Sugar House is really behind with there competition.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to interact more with there employees.

    SugarHouse Casino2019-02-12
  4. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SugarHouse Casino full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Weekly pay, lunch gets taken out of check

    Cons

    Poor pay rate for everything we have to do. They should pay security at least 15/hr. They have to work all holidays and we get no family time for that little salary.

    SugarHouse Casino2019-01-10
  5. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and PTO for Full-time employees

    Cons

    None that are worth talking about

    SugarHouse Casino2018-12-10
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at SugarHouse Casino

      Pros

      Pay rate is very nice

      Cons

      None to me, I loved it here

      SugarHouse Casino2018-11-26
    • "Good place to work if you don't mind taking people's money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Table Games Floor Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, and pay once you get into management

      Cons

      Low starting salary and management can be manipulative

      SugarHouse Casino2018-12-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "Who cares if you're good at your job so long as you always say yes? No. Matter. What."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazingly supportive coworkers, better pay and benefits than most jobs you can find. If you're lucky enough or care enough to become a Pit Boss or Floor or Shift Manager's favorite, you'll never have to worry about your job security.

      Cons

      Upper management is backhanded, sneaky, fake and highly unprofessional. HR leaks worse than Watergate. Favoritism over merit all day. And the Rise program is rigged so you can never achieve 100% score or however it's scored so kiss any raises goodbye. Management only cares about getting their own end of year raises.

      Advice to Management

      Clean up your act, truly recognize when someone is going above and beyond and is skilled in their games/position. This place was great to work for before but has since become a nightmare over the past year and a half or so, Maybe invest more time and appreciation into the workers who have been here and know what they're doing and you wouldn't have to worry about a high turn over rate or the new casino being built in South...

      Show More
      SugarHouse Casino2018-09-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Facilities positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Facilities in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SugarHouse Casino full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Ability to schedule PTO time that did not count toward my actual time off. Employed the Dolan method of taking time and not entering it into Kronos. Was able to borrow equipment at any time. 30 hour work weeks with weekends off. Had flexibility to do whatever I needed to do and not have oversight from Chicago. Was good while it lasted.

      Cons

      Family casino privileges/rewards were reduced. The Artimus time management system remains. Senior management will not fix the problem. The Cow Tipping slot games (from Wisconsin) were useless and ineffective.

      Advice to Management

      The place is good for some and not for others. No worries - the new casino will teach a lesson on management protocols.

      SugarHouse Casino2018-09-29
    • "Best place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SugarHouse Casino full-time

      Pros

      -opportunities to move up -company cares about employees -raises possible based on performance -check for having perfect attendance (not being late or calling out) every 90 days

      Cons

      -beginning, the schedule will not be ideal -working holidays (OT pay)

      SugarHouse Casino2018-07-13
    Found 68 reviews