SuiteAmerica Reviews | Glassdoor

SuiteAmerica Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
SuiteAmerica CEO Robin Masten (no image)
Robin Masten
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Progressive Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SuiteAmerica full-time

    Pros

    Company is well-established and employee owned (ESOP). Opportunities to provide input, develop policy, achieve goals, partner and earn a good income and benefits with this growing company are available to all employees who invest their energies. Those who do invest reap the rewards of this employee owned company.

    Cons

    If you are not an individual who engages positively, is a team player, or likes personal challenges for growth; this would not be a good fit. The pace of work can have peaks and valleys. Peak during the summer is very busy and fast-moving. The somewhat lighter workload during the winter provides opportunity for organization, improvements and special projects.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the journey of improvement, growth and success. The management team is open to new ideas and extremely supportive of staff members.

    SuiteAmerica2017-07-13

    SuiteAmerica Response

    July 17, 2017National Director of Supply Chain

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We’re happy you are part of the team!

  2. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Destination Sales Executive in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not very many to share

    Cons

    Focused on ONLY 1 MAIN CLIENT - new business takes a back seat Bi Polar Management High turnover rate in key positions

    Advice to Management

    Retire

    SuiteAmerica2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Started as a good company then went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ESOP. Office is kept clean and updated. Location is nice. Owners are professional, and cordial.

    Cons

    Where to start.... Years ago this company was Great! Then the new managers started coming in and everything went horrible. The managers/ supervisors with the exception of 2 (who unfortunately were not in my department). The poorly trained managers, do not want you succeed, and take credit for many ideas that you give. They talk of an open door policy, yet discuss private matters all over the office. They do not... know how to give critisism in a professional manner. The favoritism is unbearable. The managers (one comes to mind, hint: been there for years, not in relo, not in GS, nor scheduling, or marketing or inventory) love to discuss previous employees. Just walking past the department I constantly heard the names of previous employers, and were talked about in a horrible way, I have even sent a letter to the owners of all that was said... hope they do something. So if you ever leave, be prepared to be talked about by that person who claims they are untouchable and is the only one in the department to know their job. The phone situation is horrible. No one ever picks up. They keep saying they will "fix" The issue but years later still a problem. It always fell on 2 employees (me being one) to always pick up the constantly ringing phone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to the owners or MB. Please retrain the managers, I know many who have left because of the lack of professional management. This was a great company, but is slipping away because of the management team. Finally relo is being saved by a new manager but the other ones need to be taught to help when help is needed, and leave the remarks and snarky looks to themselves. Some people want to succeed.

    SuiteAmerica2017-08-11

    SuiteAmerica Response

    August 15, 2017National Director of Supply Chain

    We are sorry that you did not feel you had a good experience at SuiteAmerica. We strive to give all employees opportunity for growth, input and good compensation and benefits in our growing employee owned company. Your message will be shared with the management team. We wish ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Just needs an overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    uncapped earning potential ** Great clients Great Concept Great Business plan The support team on the ground is amazing. Some of the staff is great.

    Cons

    That ** is because you are in a team and if your other team mates do not produce you are left high and dry. Individuals that do not produce are still rewarded. The atmosphere breeds animosity. You can't really talk to management about issues that you see without feeling targeted. There is minimal room for advancement. The pay is under what other companies doing the same thing offer. It is a stressful... position, if you can not handle stress do not apply. I could go into the system that is used but I know the SuiteAmerica team is well aware of the issues and believe they are still working on it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have some amazing individuals working for you. Do not get lost in the popularity game, Look at the numbers and reward based off of Individual performance. Cut the dead weight and those that continually cause issues for the company. Start listening to the staff when they mention something is wrong. Perhaps look to your inside sales team for your next outside sales role. Allow the individual that cultivated the... relationship with the company to complete the full sales cycle instead of sending in someone without knowledge of the account. Provide more training opportunities for advancement. To keep a motivated employee they must feel like they have the opportunity to grow and currently that is not laid out as a possibility.

    Show More
    SuiteAmerica2017-05-19

    SuiteAmerica Response

    May 22, 2017National Director of Supply Chain

    Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your experience in Inside Sales at SuiteAmerica. We are focused on constantly improving and sincerely appreciate the advice. I wish you the best in your new role.

  5. Helpful (7)

    "Room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most employees, top notch, hard working and dedicated to providing excellent service. Modern looking work environment. Good clients from many varying industries. Each workday is unique and never boring.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional management style, married owners don't seek advice or accept input from boots on the ground, employees who actually do the job and want to improve work environment and better client experiences. Watch your back, literally. If you take a break at your desk and look at your cell phone, owner may take offense and shake your office chair to divert your attention. Computer system that is the heart of the... company, crashes several times a day and makes it a challenge to manage workload.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect and listen to your employees. There are many exceptional people who work for you who want nothing more than to help the company grow and flourish. Invest in updated antiquated computer system to allow for seamless order processing and management. Review management practices, there's room for lots of improvement.

    SuiteAmerica2017-05-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relocation Coordinator in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at this company and truly miss it and often regret my decision to leave! It was a great bunch of people when I worked there and I absolutely miss my co-workers! My managers were always great and I felt like they were able to give me a lot of real advice on what I could work on to improve my bookings and my performance. The benefits were fantastic and I never had an issue if I needed to take the day... off because one of my children were ill, or adjust my schedule because I had a doctor's appointment, etc.. It was a busy place to work, but that was fine by me! I hate being bored and I was rarely bored there! There were always fun contests with opportunities for prizes such as gift cards, etc.. The monthly birthday celebrations were always nice as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    It was frustrating to be one of the few who actually answered the incoming phone calls. Despite having set "phone times", other employees would simply ignore the phone ringing until one of the few of us who felt bad would answer it - even when our own plates were already full. During my time there, this issue was never resolved and did not seem to be of concern to management. I did often feel like the owners had... favorites and I never did understand what it was that made certain people favorites because they never seemed to be the "cream of the crop" IMO.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All in all, this was a great place to work and you're definitely doing something right! There could be some minor improvements made so that all employees feel as valuable as the others. Continue to do what you're doing, but be open to listening to suggestions from current employees who may have an easier or more effective way of getting things done!

    SuiteAmerica2016-05-24

    SuiteAmerica Response

    May 31, 2016National Director of Supply Chain

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I’m so pleased to hear that your experience with SuiteAmerica was overwhelmingly positive. Phone support has definitely been an ongoing challenge in the Relocation Department, and one that we are still trying new approaches to resolve. ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Personal Transition Services Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Transition Services Representative 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SuiteAmerica part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and flexibility for a part time job.

    Cons

    This is an on call position so work/income is inconsistent sometimes.

    SuiteAmerica2016-04-18

    SuiteAmerica Response

    April 26, 2016National Director of Supply Chain

    Thank you so much for your feedback. As you mentioned, our Personal Transition Services Representative position is an on-call position, which makes it ideal for people who have other commitments such as school, family, or another job. We have heard other feedback from employees ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Relocation Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Relocation Coordinator in Benicia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SuiteAmerica for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits- ESOP, 401-K, medical, dental vision and mental health benefits as wel;l as Employee Assistance program.

    Cons

    Can be stressful during our busy season

    SuiteAmerica2016-03-04

    SuiteAmerica Response

    July 13, 2017National Director of Supply Chain

    Thank you for sharing this, and thank you for being a part of this team!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "The SuiteAmerica Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SuiteAmerica full-time

    Pros

    SuiteAmerica is truly an innovative and progressive company to work for. Every department is encouraged to think outside the box where new ideas and concepts are empowered and nurtured by your co-workers and management teams - including the executive level management team. The culture at SuiteAmerica is unlike any other that I have ever experienced; warm and friendly employees across all departments with a... family-style atmosphere. When every employee and each guest are treated like an extension of your own family, you know you work for a company that you can believe in and stay with for a long time. SuiteAmerica is truly "the" company to work for, between the ground-breaking and award-winning achievements, to the friendly, welcoming and encouraging staff - you can feel confident that your personal growth and development will match the company's.

    Show More

    Cons

    SuiteAmerica's business is quite seasonal, so the Summer times can mean a lot of busyness and you really have to prepare yourself for that. Once you've had one summer here you're definitely positioned well for the next though. If you're in a sales position it really is the time to thrive, if not, then often overtime is needed in order to complete tasks. This can be a great time for extra earnings - just be ready for... the rush!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While the company is growing it's always fun to incorporate some social or team building exercises across departments so everyone can get to know each other. During the summertime there's not a lot of time for "downtime" but trying to squeeze in a fun event in the middle would go a long way.

    SuiteAmerica2016-02-29
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Relocation Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Relocation Coordinator in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SuiteAmerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None...here are the five required words

    Cons

    About 5 percent of the SA employees answer the constant incoming phone calls while the remaining (favoritized) employees simply ignore it. As the relo-coordinators who actually answer it chase their tails all day finding apartments for the random people that call in (it is rarely fruitful), the other employees will reap the benefits of booking high volumes of apartments with the clients that are handed to them on a... silver platter. There is also no rationale for those who are favoritized to be given such special treatment. To be frank, several of them lack the customer service skills and finesse that others employees do who are given the bottom of the barrel.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    SuiteAmerica2016-03-03

    SuiteAmerica Response

    March 4, 2016Inside Sales Manager

    I am sorry to hear you were unhappy in your position with SuiteAmerica. We value employee feedback and have made many changes to our processes over the past year as a result of listening to them. Incoming sales leads, for example, are responded to differently now than what you cite ...

    Show More
Found 35 reviews